We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like home from home”
Review of The Lenchford Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Lenchford Inn
Ranked #5 of 28 Worcester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Midlands UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Like home from home”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Very welcoming staff and regulars, warm bar area with good selection of drinks.

Real coal fire. beautiful views over the River Severn. Very good food for breakfast, carvery lunch and evening meals. Excellent service, made you feel nothing was too much trouble.

Warm comfortable room. Nice balcony overlooking river, shame we went when it was too cold to use it. Only negative is water pressure wasn't brilliant in the shower.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ineedfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    93
    25
    17
    15
See reviews for
55
136
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Bromwich
Level Contributor
37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed her for two nights 11 & 12 January. Lovely place and made to feel at home straight away. Ate ther eon second night. Lovely food and good service for a reasonable price. Will definately return later this year.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank shopgirl_hayles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
212 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Having read all the good reviews on here we were very impressed and we bought a one night Groupon deal at the hotel a couple of months ago and immediately made our reservation and booked a table for dinner on the evening.
The day before we were due to go my wife went down with the norovirus bug that has been sweeping the nation so i called the hotel informing them that we would be unable to stay because of this and before i could ask if we could rearrange our stay i was told that we had lost the booking.
When i asked why i was told that there was a 72 hour cancellation policy on Groupon deal, i explained that had i known 72 hours in advance that my wife was going to be taken ill i would have cancelled as per the deal conditions but as this was a sudden unforseen illness there was no way i could have complied with the conditions.
The staff member i spoke to was extremely unsympathetic to our situation and refused to allow me to change the date of our stay.
I appreciate that conditions are applied to reservations to prevent losses to hotels but we fully intended to honour our stay at a later date as well as spending additional money in the bar and restaurant so it is beyond me as to why the hotel were so unmoving in their approach to our problem. I suppose if im being synical £39 for providing nothing as opposed to providing a room and breakfast was the easier and more profitable option .
All in all after reading all the positive reviews about the hotel we are extremely disappointed with our dealings with them

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank markledo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south west
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We are just back today from a fantastic weekend break at this wonderful Gastro Inn. We were immediately made to feel at home from the moment we walked in the door The setting is beautiful, with all bedrooms overlooking the river and having either a balcony or patio. (The photos on the website are accurate). The food was so good, we ate there both days. Needless to say we have rebooked for later in the year.

Room Tip: With 9 rooms over 3 floors, all with fantastic river views, it is a matter of personal choice which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carsfaddam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stayed this weekend and had a lovely stay, everyone was so welcoming and the room was very clean and comfortable. We had a lovely breakfast. Amazing view from our room. The locals in the bar were also very friendly, I would recommend staying at the lenchford for a wonderful time

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Williams1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Few hotels can have such a beautiful location. The Severn flows alongside it and takes the eye to beautiful woods and low hills. On a sunny day, a drink on the balcony of an upper rear window would be a treat.

The room behind would not be a treat. It might have been once, but its old-fashioned decor and furniture make it feel sub-Travel Lodge by some way. Breakfast was in a similar category, but then some people like their bacon wet. However the food fits the 'good solid' description and many will enjoy it. I did like the bar staff, and the very smiley lady who checked us in.

Room Tip: Upper riverside rooms view give you a beautiful view, if you like a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank johnrnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Me, my two sisters and our partners stayed at the Lenchford inn for two nights over the halloween weekend, we had a brilliant time! The staff were so friendly and food was AMAZING (plus good portions sizes!) and the all our rooms were really clean. we booked the weekend on Groupon over a year ago and even though our voucher was out of date they still found a weekend to squeeze us in. They put on a halloween party and the deco was awesome, for the first time ever I did Kareoke and had a fun time. Our plan was to go into the city to party but had such a good time we ended up just driking there. We are now planning on another weekend when we can go back!
To all the staff there I want to say thank you for being some welcoming and friendly. Thank you Lenchford inn!
ps To the Lenchford Inn owner just got to say your haloween outfit is the best ive ever seen!! haha
pps one tip though...if your planning to go to Worcester dont bother with the ghost walk, its not scary...more borring than anything, dont waste your money!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jess a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Worcester
6.5 mi away
The Granary Hotel and Restaurant
6.3 mi away
Pear Tree Inn and Country Hotel
6.0 mi away
Worcester Whitehouse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor
Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor
#1 of 1 in Stourport on Severn
832 reviews
6.6 mi away
Diglis House Hotel
Diglis House Hotel
#5 of 11 in Worcester
521 reviews
7.5 mi away
Gainsborough House Hotel
Gainsborough House Hotel
#4 of 5 in Kidderminster
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lenchford Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lenchford Inn

Property: The Lenchford Inn
Address: Stourport Road | Shrawley, Worcester WR6 6TB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Worcester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Worcester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lenchford Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lenchford Inn is a Georgian Hotel set in the idyllic countryside on the outskirts of Worcester by the River Severn. A unique, privately owned hotel with ultimate levels of comfort and luxury. The Lenchford is the perfect place away from everyday life, yet easily accessible to major towns and cities. The hotel is within easy access of the M5 and is perfectly placed to visit numerous attractions including Severn Valley Railway, West Midland Safari Park, Black Country Museum, Cheltenham Races, Warwick Castle, and Cadbury World. We are approximately 15 minutes from junction 5 or 6 of the M5 with Birmingham airport only 40 minutes away. There are a number of English Heritage & National Trust sites to visit locally, Witley Court, Berrington Hall, Brockhampton Estate, Croome & Hanbury Hall to name a few, all are within a 30 minute drive. Local walks are plentiful, an ideal way to chill out and take in the beauty of Worcestershire. Whether it's a stroll along the River Severn or a ramble through Shrawley Woods you are sure to enjoy the peace and tranquility. Local walks (Maps) are available on request. Within easy access of Worcester, the inn with its riverside setting in Shrawley is the ideal choice for weddings, parties, private functions and christenings; we also cater for wakes. Group bookings for breakfast are also catered for, ideal for fishermen, race goers and walkers, all are welcome. Please see our menu for details. The Lenchford provides good standard function rooms, professional service and excellent food, making it a suitable venue for any occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Lenchford Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lenchford Hotel Worcester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing