We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable feasting”
Review of Rubys

Rubys
Ranked #133 of 349 Restaurants in Worcester
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Affordable feasting”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

This is a very slick operation in terms of service. To be honest, the place doesn't look very stylish, but that doesn't detract from a very welcoming atmosphere. You can order from the menu, but I suspect most people come here for the at-table buffet. Unlike the usual "all you can eat" deals, you make your selections from the menu, and your waiter will bring suitable portions based on the number at your table. The food is freshly cooked and brought promptly to your table. Then you can order some more!
So long as you don't get carried away, you will find something for everyone's taste and the food is really very good. It is certainly of a much better standard than most buffets.
The real pleasure though is when the bill arrives. As it is a fixed price dinner, there are no nasty surprises so long as you have been careful with the drinks or paid for those as you go.
The waiting staff are efficient, friendly and really great at judging portions.
If you have a family or friends dinner planned, then this is very suitable. Not quite so good for a romantic dinner for two, but I wouldn't rule it out if you both love Chinese food.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank budgetstayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    50
    20
    19
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Worcester
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic All You Can Eat Chinese!”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We've eaten at Ruby's quite a few times over the last year or so as we live fairly close by and we can't believe we had not discovered it before. They do a fantastic all you can eat deal but unlike other buffet restaurants you order your selections from a menu and they are cooked freshly for you. The food is delicious and arrives at your table very quickly. Although the menu states a specific number of each course that you are allowed the staff happily let you order more than this providing you're not wasteful. Pretty much everything we've ever tried from here was yummy - particular favourites are the Yuk Sung and spicy ribs/chicken wing starters, as well as main courses like lamb with leeks and garlic and chicken & cashew nuts. Will definitely be returning again in future - many times hopefully!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rebs1007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcesterhsire
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“If you LOVE Chinese food and plenty of it then GO!”
Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

Chinese food is my favourite and this restaurant is heaven! It's all you can eat but with a difference - you don't have to go up and serve yourself from a buffet...you just keep ordering as much as you want from the menu...and as long as you don't waste a load then you can keep ordering and ordering! The food is delicious and good value. The service is quick but they are not particularly friendly. Overall would definitely recommend!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pippa2uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worcestershire
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great Night Out”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

My Husband and I went to Rubys for the Chinese New Year, what a fantastic night we had, the food was lovely the staff very friendly the entertainment was first class. We will certainly return to Rubys again in the near future.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DennyWorcestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“A Happy visit with family”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We visited Ruby with our family on the 29th December, the food was very good and much enjoyed by our two grandsons. The staff were very pleasant and really aimed to please. We will visit again
when we visit family in Worcester
Margaret Salkeld Abingdon on Thames

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank margaret-oxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rubys also viewed

Worcester, Worcestershire
 
Worcester, Worcestershire
 

Been to Rubys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing