We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Unique Gem!”
Review of Como House

Como House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Great Malvern
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Como House
Ranked #23 of 33 Great Malvern B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 17, 2012

I spend a wonderful two days in Malvern again three weeks ago at Como House, exploring the hills and the surrounding countryside, both on foot and in the car. It was good to park off road. It felt safe. I was meeting a local friend. The owner, Kevin Austin, was so kind and gave us information and brochures on Malvern and places to visit.

Como House was the perfect place to 'come home to' after our outings. My room had a good quality shower and very comfy beds. It was large enough to sit and read, but I enjoyed relaxing in the sitting room on the ground floor in the evenings after eating out. It's like going back to the 1930s, but with all the mod-cons!

It was wonderful to start to each day breakfasting in the truly lovely dining room, looking out over the idyllic private garden. The food was plentiful and delicious and Kevin was happy to accommodate my food preferences. Waitrose was handy, five minutes' walk around the corner.

It is such an interesting and beautiful house, with a sweeping staircase to the two floors of bedrooms. It certainly offers far more than most B&Bs. I'll be back!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SwanseaJacks13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (61)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 61 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2012

Como House is a fine old house and Great Malvern is a fine old place. If a bustling town with bland modern hotel rooms is required, this is not the place. Como house has character and so have its rooms. The Breakfasts are legendary with a good array of cereals and Full English cooked to order. We have been to Como House many times in the past few years and fully intend to visit again when next touring the UK.
Stayed 4 nights 19 to 22 September 2012

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank guestwithstandards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

What a find and what great value for money. This self catering apartment was much bigger than expected and we spent a fabulous 2 weeks there in July. The two large bedrooms meant that there was plenty of storage space and the view from the french doors was just lovely. The kitchen was well equipped and it was nice to find that all the 'essentials' were in plentiful supply. The living room had fresh flowers and the bottle of wine was much appreciated. Kevin was friendly and helpful. He gave us lots of information about the local area and even allowed me to charge my mobile using his computer. The location of the house is excellent and within a few minutes you are in the town centre with all its attractions and of course, the hills. We made good use of the leisure centre and visited the museum, church and theatre. We explored the hills over several days as well as visiting Worcester, Hereford, Upton and Tewkesbury. A trip to the Morga factory was also interesting. This was a great holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Como house is a great place to stay. Excellent service . Generous and tasty breakfast and very accommodating host- nothing was too much trouble. This ex prep school house was full of character in a central location.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rhidaf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

I stayed at Como House with my parents for four nights in June 2012. We had two rooms, both of which were clean, spacious and beautifully decorated in a way that maintained the old feel of the house. The landlord Kevin was friendly and very helpful with anything we asked. The breakfast was delicious everyday, with so many options anybody would be satisfied. The B&B is in an ideal location to walk to anything in Malvern, including the hills, the train station, the theater and the shops. I would definitely recommend this B&B to family and friends, and if ever in Malvern again we will stay there for sure.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Excellent breakfast, friendly host and a lovely house. good access to train station, city centre and Malvern hills.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Our stay at Como House was a very relaxing.The owner Kevin was very helpful and nothing was to much trouble. The breakfast was tasty and our room was comfortable and clean. I would certainly recommend Como House to my friends

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Great Malvern hotels
2.7 mi away
Colwall Park - Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#4 of 10 in Great Malvern
1,230 reviews
0.2 mi away
Foley Arms Hotel
Foley Arms Hotel
#2 of 10 in Great Malvern
771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Malvern Hotel
Premier Inn Malvern Hotel
#5 of 10 in Great Malvern
412 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mount Pleasant Hotel
Mount Pleasant Hotel
#9 of 10 in Great Malvern
34 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Cotford Hotel and l'Amuse Bouche Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Como House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Como House

Address: Como Road, Great Malvern WR14 2TH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Malvern Hills > Great Malvern
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Great Malvern
Price Range: $80 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing