We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A wonderful break at Farmhouse Cottage”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Farmhouse Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
15 reviews
Twin or King, front
Twin or King, garden view
Double
Single
Shower room - ensuite to two bedrooms
Landing
Garden and patio
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Great Malvern, Malvern Hills, Worcestershire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Bev C
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A wonderful break at Farmhouse Cottage”
Reviewed April 12, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely time with family and friends. Ruth and Lucas were friendly and helpful - nothing was too much bother. We were really lucky with the weather and managed to spend a lot of time outside in the wonderful garden and on the patio area in the evening.
The cottage is spacious and comfortable and was a real find - as there were 6 of us and 3 dogs. Great walks right on the doorstep to.

Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterchal...
Dorking, United Kingdom
1 review
“everything we wanted and more”
Reviewed March 22, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Very clean and tidy, a welcoming homemade loaf was waiting for the first to arrive and filled the air with an aroma of warmth and hospitality. The property was spacious and well presented, set in very large grounds with ducks and rabbits running freely giving a real sense of tranquillity. All the rooms were spotless and quiet. The proprietors, Ruth and Luke were just hand on enough leaving us to explore and enjoy with freedom. This is an excellent holiday place for both families and couples alike.

The cottage had a real sense of peace – a great place to relax and recharge.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: cleanliness
Liked least: shower in bath was poor
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 19, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Strongy68
West Sussex
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect for our needs - extremely welcoming owners”
Reviewed August 24, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We stayed as a group for my brother's (local) wedding; the welcome could not have been better on a steaming hot July day - homemade scones and jam and some milk for a welcome cup of tea..........freshly baked bread followed soon after. We had quite a lot of "demands" - sellotape for wrapping presents, can we use the BBQ? and all were met with speed and "no trouble". The cottage was perfect for our needs - the children played table tennis in the garden for hours and we enjoyed a BBQ on the patio on a balmy summer's evening. Criticisms?? Yes the wifi didn't work very well (but I shouldn't have been logging onto work emails anyway), the shower in the family bathroom could have been more powerful, the dishwasher didn't wash plates very well but these are minor - we felt the comfort and hospitality were first class and we truly felt this was a "home from home" for our Friday to Sunday visit. There's ample parking and a very friendly family dog - all in all, we had a fabulous weekend for a family get together/celebration and the B & B adjacent (where my father stayed and which is part of the owner's house)) had not a word of criticism murmured against it. Top stuff, highly recommended, thank you.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Farmhouse Cottage. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We will look into the wifi situation and see if we can find a solution that is more reliable (it did not seem to be a problem until recently when we switched to superfast broadband!). We are always happy to see guests enjoying the garden as well as the cottage and are glad that you had the weather for doing so.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pvjam
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
“Good in parts”
Reviewed August 11, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We would give 3.5 out of 5 and rate it as good. The owner was friendly and helpful and provided us with a lovely warm loaf of bread on arrival. It is in a lovely location and the children thoroughly enjoyed the outside space and table tennis table they could use. The upstairs has been refurbished very nicely with good bathrooms.

The reason why it gets 3.5 is because the downstairs is a little tired. I would not describe the kitchen as a farmhouse kitchen, although it is perfectly functional, we found washing up by hand was more effective than the dishwasher. The lounge has a lovely fireplace, but is not spacious and does not really have comfortable seating for 6 people. It lacked a few homely touches and had no visitors book, it is always nice to read the suggestions and recommendations of things to do from previous guests. The wifi was intermittent and a weak signal boosted from the owner's property, this was frustrating particularly for our teenage son.

Overall we would still recommend this property for the excellent location and good facilities outside for the children.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Farmhouse Cottage. I am sorry about the wifi issues. It didn't seem to be a problem until recently when we switched to superfast broadband but clearly we need to look into the situation to try to improve the consistency. I will be investigating options asap.Unfortunately there never seems to be a quick and obvious solution to combining high tech with old houses! I am glad that the family enjoyed the outside facilities. As you mentioned the upstairs of the cottage has been very recently renovated and this has heightened the contrast with downstairs. We will be upgrading this in due course but believe it to be comfortable, clean and functional now. Also that the price of the cottage reflects the fact that it is not all newly remodeled. We have taken your comments to heart though and are reconsidering the sitting room furnishings. Sorry that the dishwasher wasn't working well and we will also check this out. I am disappointed to hear about it as it is a Bosch that is only 1 year old and I would have expected more of it (other guests have now made the same comment but it had not been mentioned previously).
Again thank you for your time and we are pleased that despite the issues mentioned you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colin G
Ware, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“weekend away with friends”
Reviewed June 24, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

myself and 4 other long standing friends, rented this house for 3 nights in great Malvern. What a fantastic place. The house was great, plenty of room and all we needed. Lovely big garden, patio, BBQ and fantastic view over the Malvern hills. We made the trip to watch England get knocked out of the world cup again! We did plenty of great walks also, and just a few minutes on train in to Worcester.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the owner was so nice, welcomed us with homemade bread and jam
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 24, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very friendly helpful hosts, beautiful location
Liked least: Would be useful to have more glasses and crockery
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
May 1, 2014
Thank you for your review, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay. I have noted your comment about the limited glasses and crockery and will be increasing the numbers of each straight away. I am so sorry that this wasn't done before your stay and appreciate the feedback. Ruth
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing