We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Nights Out”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Malvern Theatres

Malvern Theatres
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Nestling at the foot of the Malvern Hills, Malvern Theatres is a major centre for the arts in the West Midlands. Home of the famous Malvern Festivals, founded by Bernard Shaw and Barry Jackson in 1929, the theatre underwent a lottery-funded refurbishment in 1997. Hailed both locally and nationally as a model of artistic and architectural excellence, Malvern Theatres boasts one of the most diverse selection of plays, music, comedy, dance, film and education work to be found under a single roof anywhere in the country.
Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful Nights Out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014

Malvern Theatres are a treasure house of Arts delights: drama, dance, music, film - all are available and at the highest quality. The stage is big enough to attract West End shows and so you get city theatre in a leafy, scenic, country town.

OK it's not a Victorian Theatre, for that you go to the Everyman in Cheltenham, but we rather like the light and airy building with its views out over the park. Whenever we go there we see people smiling and laughing - it's a happy place to be.

Parking can be tricky on nights when all three theatres are in action, but the side streets usually have space so just allow a few extra minutes to walk to the theatre.

There are several good restaurants near the theatre that cater for those attending a show. Book ahead on popular show nights.

Above all, give yourself time to soak up the atmosphere - and to marvel at the wonderful water clock on the first floor.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    114
    16
    9
    12
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ancona, Italy
Level Contributor
1,335 reviews
831 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,664 helpful votes
“Functional”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

I was a bit disappointed to find that, instead of the glamorous Victorian building I'd been expecting, what I was going into was actually more like a modern multi-screen cinema. Functional, though, which I suppose is the main thing. It's easy to combine it with a visit to the priory, only two or three hundred yards away.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ELear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Evita May 2014”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

The show was excellent and the sound quality amazing. Pity the food in the establishment across the road from it was not the same - it was awful.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank michael_c7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Wonderful theatre”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

When we retired 5 years ago we had to decide where to move to and spent a long time shortening our list. Eventually it was Malvern Theatres which made us choose Malvern and we are delighted that we did.

We get wonderful production, pre and post West End and also wonderful audiences. Usually we find ourselves chatting to others while we have a drink before the show and find Malvern people very friendly.

Our first year we took out bronze membership but then skipped silver and have had gold every since.

We love the variety of shows from classical music, dance, plays, comedies to musicals, nearly all well worth seeing.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank alisonholder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely theatre”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

We visited to listen to a concert given by the Chandos Orchestra, the concert was in the smaller theatre but the whole complex was really nice, with good facilities. There is a small eating place a separate bar/cafe and good toilets.
Overall a really nice place ?

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank skier6277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Malvern Theatres also viewed

Great Malvern, Malvern Hills
Colwall, Great Malvern
 
Great Malvern, Malvern Hills
 

Been to Malvern Theatres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing