We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, very comfy bed”
Review of Foley Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Foley Arms Hotel
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Great Malvern
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 29, 2008

I know Malvern well and picked the Foley for the very central location and good parking. It used to be AA rated and with a rosette for the restaurant - it appears to no longer have either. The public rooms are lovely, my bedroom was well equipped and nicely decorated but the bathroom was very tired: pink gloss and flowery tiles belong to the 1970s.
I got a good rate via Lastminute.com - couldn't find any discounted rates for this hotel anywhere else.
One recommendation - rooms without a view are on the side of the road which is noisy. If you are a light sleeper - even with such a comfy bed - take ear plugs or pay extra for the view.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank JulieJ63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (753)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

747 - 753 of 753 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2008

I stayed at the hotel to be close to my father who was very ill and died after a few days of my arrival.

During my whole stay - and subsequent return for the funeral - the staff were friendly and very very helpful at all times.

The rooms are a pleasure after having spent time in so many "same same" business hotels and the views were amazing.

The food as well was excellent and a good selection of beers and wines ensures there are some "locals" in the bar always ready to have a chat most evenings.

As I left I was asked "Will you come back and see us again?"

Oh yes !

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ExpatM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2007

Like a favourite pair of gloves this lovely old English town hotel is familiar and comfortable. Professionally run by the same team for many years the hotel has a deeply satisfying atmosphere and is always a relaxing place to stay (this was my third visit over the last ten years). The restaurant is quaint and the food solidly "nouveau English". Breakfasts are good except for the fruit juice which was obviously cheap. Very good and innovative winelist - well priced as well. Lovely beers in the modern, welcoming Foley Bar which offers occasional live (but tasteful) live music. Rooms are re-assuringly well furnished and everything seems to work as it should. Regular weddings etc can make this a busy spot but don't let that put you off this is a classic.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank housered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2005

I recently stayed at this hotel and I have to say it was pretty awful. The room I was in was quite large with a huge bed and gorgeous views over the hills, however I don't think it has had any refurbishment for about 50 years, the curtains were faded, the carpet had some dodgy stains on it and the bathroom was a horrid aquamarine with strange marble effect wall tiles. I ate in the restaurant on the first night and the food was very good, however there were only three of us in there and the atmosphere was very strange. This hotel could be so much better as the location and views are great, they also have some excellent, friendly and efficient staff who are willing to help with anything. Basically, it needs a complete facelift, I thought it was quite expensive too but my company were paying so that wasn't so annoying to me. i certainly won't be staying there again.

  • Stayed: November 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank LisaMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Solihull England
14
Reviewed May 31, 2005

I stayed at this hotel on the night of Saturday May 28th 2005 in Room 11. The room was dingy and smelled unpleasant. The reason was found to be that there was the lack of ventilation in the room, there was no air conditioning and the bedroom window did not open. Guests were instructed on a notice stuck to the window that they were not to open the window. The bathroom had no window and the extraction system did not appear to be working. The room was therefore very hot and foul to sleep in and could not possibly have ben aired between guests.

I was with a party of appariximately 12 people who were booked in follwoing my daughter's wedding. My daughter had problems in obtaining confimation of our booking and finally her future husband was forced to make a personal visit to try and clarify the booking arrangements. The rest of the wedding party also found the accommodation very poor.

Breakfast was adequate, but the order was incorrect and even after requesting toast none was brought.

For this poor night following a delightful wedding (not at the Foley Arms!) we paid the princely sum of £100.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2005

Run down, over priced , cramped rooms, dirty carpets,uncomfortable beds, tiny bathrooms which were in need of modernisation. A hotel trading on the fact it over looks the malvern hills but the windows in most rooms are so small it is wasted. Stay well away from this one if you like your hotels clean, comfortable with friendly staff because this it hasn't got !!!

  • Stayed: July 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank dorsetgirl_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, traveled solo
Thank Nana_K_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma H, Jenny - Hotel Manager at Foley Arms Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Malvern
0.1 mi away
Mount Pleasant Hotel
Mount Pleasant Hotel
#10 of 10 in Great Malvern
27 reviews
0.1 mi away
Great Malvern Hotel
Great Malvern Hotel
#7 of 10 in Great Malvern
268 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#4 of 10 in Great Malvern
1,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Colwall Park - Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
0.2 mi away
The Cotford Hotel and l'Amuse Bouche Restaurant
2.1 mi away
The Cottage in the Wood
The Cottage in the Wood
#1 of 1 in Malvern Wells
998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foley Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foley Arms Hotel

Address: 14 Worcester Road, Great Malvern WR14 4QS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Malvern Hills > Great Malvern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Great Malvern
Price Range: $51 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Foley Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Foley Arms Hotel is set in a wonderful location from which to explore the stunning Malvern countryside, the Midlands and the Welsh Marches areas. The stunning Georgian architecture of this old coaching inn has been a feature of the Victorian spa town of Malvern for over 200 years. The area has a wide range of stately homes, beautiful gardens, lively farm parks and award-winning museums for you to explore, along with a host of modern-day attractions for all the family such as the Morgan's Visitors centre. It is also perfect for those visiting the Three Counties Showground and Worcester and Hereford races. Situated right in the heart of the town, we have 23 individual bedrooms, many of which have wonderful views across the Severn Plain. All of our rooms are en suite and include tea- and coffee-making facilities, a hair dryer and TV. FREE Wi-Fi is available in the bar area and in our rooms, however signal can sometimes be lost due to the style of the building. *** Please note WE DO NOT HAVE A CAR PARK! *** The long stay car park that we recommend is on Victoria Rd, postcode WR14 2TD and it costs £3 for 24 hours. Street parking is available after 4:30pm until 09:30am the next morning and all day Sunday. We recommend stopping in the lay by outside the hotel, bring your luggage up and ask reception for the directions to the long stay car park that we recommend. Due to being a Grade II listed building, we DO NOT HAVE A LIFT to our rooms and we are located on the first and second floor of our building, up a few flights of stairs. If you require a room on the first floor, please notify us when booking. Our hotel is situated above our lovely, busy pub where food is served from 7am to 11pm and the bar is open till midnight, 7 days a week. Large tables may be pre-booked, so if you are celebrating an event, please give us a call in advance so we can make sure we will have a table available for you. Please be advised we are a very busy pub so some noise from our terrace may carry to some of the rooms, especially at weekends during the warm seasons. We do monitor customers and do try to keep disruptions to a minimum but it is useful to bear this in mind when booking. Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you soon! The Foley Arms Hotel Team ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Foley Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Worcester
Worcester Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing