We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Great Malvern
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,595)
Filter reviews
1,597 results
Traveler rating
612
607
251
80
47
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
612
607
251
80
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviews buffet breakfast malvern hills older part executive room car park lovely hotel old building public areas course dinner lovely town beautiful building malvern theatre lovely view room was large centre of town both nights plenty of parking
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 1,597 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

First family trip to GM, stayed at The Abbey. We arrived a little early for check in but this was no problem, our room was ready and had the travel cot already set up. Every member of staff we encountered was super friendly and helpful, the food in the restaurant was excellent and the breakfast chef made a lovely bowl of porridge with a smiley face made out of fruit for our daughter which was a lovely touch. Would highly recommend.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank rydo15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel was easy to find perched on its hilltop location. You can’t miss the priory next door. Both quite magnificent buildings.
The hotel staff were friendly and professional and the room was reasonable and had some charm to it.
The restaurant......
I’m sure the crab in the crab cakes wasn’t fresh - very vinegary. Perhaps tinned ?
This is okay normally but not at the prices they charge . The whole restaurant set up suggested that my Sea Bass would be prepared to good standard. I can make soggy sea bass at home for a fraction of the price..... worth noting - I can’t cook for toffee.
Generally a nice breakfast , I was there early though so I can’t comment on others findings .
I would stay again but eat out in the town.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank philbrooker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

In pondering where to go for a New Year's Eve we opted for a second visit to this hotel as we thought that that it had the style and Elegance that we were looking for that night

We were fortunate enough to get a suite on the second floor allbeit it is a third floor and we're not disappointed as it had the old world charm we were expecting and an upgraded updated bathroom that would not have been out of place in some of the better foreign hotels.

We had booked a 2-night package therefore had the dinner which was very modest and of limited choice due to the amount of guests there and one would suppose the price involved. Breakfast the following morning was somewhat busy but it had a good buffet and proper English food kept well served by the kitchen staff and no one who has any experience of English breakfast at foreign hotels could not fail to be satisfied.

The gala dinner in the the function room, which was beautifully dressed for the occasion, had a reception with champagne and canapes and dinner that was no better or worse than expected. There is no point in boring the reader with what was served and what was not served as that has been extensively related adnauseam elsewhere.

It was a mature crowd in general but a lively crowd who danced well to the the Disco but the band was a terrible failure playing nothing that could be danced to and featuring a very unsexy singer trying to be sexy and singing badly ..... fortunately they did not last long and the disco returned for everyone to crowd on the floor (a situation which was perhaps not unnoticed by the staff).

Breakfast the following morning followed the same pattern and even with the crowd it was expertly dealt with replacement dishes arriving. The Checkout was quick and easy and the bill simply showing the cost of those who had extras with wines drinks and food as the package had been previously paid for upfront.

Malvern is an amusing town even though it is very much up and down and there was sufficient to do to cover the 2-day package with many other places easily accessed by car.

New Year's Eve is always fraught but there could be a little complaint here and if it follows the style ambiance and class with some tweaks here and there there could be no reason why anyone would not want to return and of course use it for any other reason throughout the year.

As usual you takes your choice and pays accordingly.

C'est la vie

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank WorcestershireJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2020

This is a superb building located close to the centre of the town and has an extremely large car park to the side and rear of the property. This may result in a short walk with luggage from the car park to the entrance via automatically operated doors after managing the short flight of steps. This may make it unsuitable for disabled persons with a mobility issue and the hotel should be contacted prior to any reservation to determine whether there are other more suitable entrances.once inside the lift enables access to all floors.
The reception process was smooth and without exception all the staff appeared to be foreign and really, really helpful and efficient. Our reservation was anticipated and the checking process went smoothly, even to the offer of bringing our luggage to our room. This was a little strange, as the 4-- room was located on the second floor.
The interior of the building matched the magnificence of the external facade and everything was spotlessly clean and in a good state of repair.
The room consisted of a large bed and thick duvet, two armchairs tall cupboard with ironing board, iron and hangers.The large TV and dresser (with safe) had a suitable height mirror and chair and when the curtains were drawn, obliterated all external light. The separate bathroom had a combined bath/shower, all toiletries, heated towel rail and ample fluffy towels. The only issue was the inability to reduce the heating in the room, which became distinctly uncomfortable despite openable windows (very limited).
Breakfast was buffet style with a variety of cold foods for the self service continental followed by the standard hot foods of sausages, scrambled and fried eggs, baked beans, tomatoes etc and white and brown bread. The dining area is on a lower level to the accommodation and was clean and tidy although some chairs were stained.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jamesdean25745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2020

Stayed at this hotel prior to New Year and had an enjoyable time whilst there. The Staff were very courteous and kind. It was obviously a very busy time due to the celebration owing to the season and they all worked very hard.

Date of stay: December 2019
1  Thank Stewart D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews