We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice Hotel”
Review of The Abbey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Abbey Hotel
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Great Malvern
Certificate of Excellence
Kent, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Nice Hotel”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We have stayed at the Abbey a few times now, it is in a lovely location with beautiful views and very local to the shops and Theatre. Rooms are nice and very clean. Breakfast is excellent, the bar area if very comfortable and the bar and restaurant staff are helpful and friendly, however, the hotel is let down a little by the reception staff who might benefit from a little customer care training and maybe a little lesson on how to smile at customers.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KrisJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarovaHotels, General Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear KrisJC

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and I am very pleased you enjoyed your visit to The Abbey once again and most particularly that you were impressed with the quality of our bedrooms and breakfast and also the service from our staff in the bar and restaurant.

I am disappointed our Reception staff appeared a little less friendly than other team members. However, your comments give us plenty to build upon and I do hope you will return again soon and we can show improvements.

Kind regards,
Duncan Grey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    390
    440
    189
    62
    38
See reviews for
113
595
41
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
aberystwyth
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Grumpy polish receptionist poorly trained and no idea of customer care or respect. Would not recommend it despite lovely building and pleasant surroundings. Hotel clearly trading on this. Breakfast OK .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macaber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarovaHotels, General Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear macaber,

Thank you for your recent review following your stay with us.

Please be assured that customer service is very important to all of us and we regularly review all guest feedback, both good and bad, in order to improve our service for future guests.

Our reception team have all been working with us for a long time and none of them are Polish, so in order to investigate the serious allegation you raised I do need some more information.

Please contact me directly on dgrey@sarova.com so that I may investigate, and then respond in more detail.

Warm regards
Duncan Grey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest of Dean, England
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We have stayed quite a few times at the Abbey Hotel in Malvern - each time it has been nothing short of excellent! Rooms are good and very clean, the bar and lounge are welcoming and the restaurant is of a very high standard. Breakfast is brilliant.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HolsHunters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarovaHotels, General Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear HolsHunters,

Thank you for your lovely review of the Abbey Hotel.
I will ensure all our team see your kind comments and I am sure they will be as delighted as I am.

Warm regards
Duncan Grey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Although Check-in is only 3pm, the receptionist did not bother to offer an alternative given we had nothing to do but wait. Eventually when we asked whether we could leave our luggage somewhere safe it dawned on her to offer to store it safely for us. She also failed to let us know that she was trying to organise an alternative room.
When we returned near 6pm, the room was still not ready and a dusty alternative room was allocated.
Also we asked whether they serve lunch. The receptionist kindly directed us downstairs to the restaurant. When we got there it was empty so we asked a passing by attendant whether they are open to lunch and she responded saying: No only for dinner.
So up we went to inform the receptionist that she had sent us on a wild goose chase and she then changed her mind and said we heard wrong and that it was only the bar that was serving lunch. Ha! In that case, why would she have directed us downstairs to THE RESTAURANT?
Very frustrating and clearly not customer service driven.

Room Tip: Make sure you've planned for a 3pm check-in and ensure room service has actually cleaned it that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mederana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarovaHotels, General Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Mederana C,

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel on TripAdvisor.

Our check in time is 3pm, which we confirm at the time of booking as well as in the booking confirmation sent either by email or post. If the room you were allocated to was ready before 3pm we would of course have checked you in. If any guests arrive prior to 3pm and their room is not ready we offer to store their luggage securely. I am sorry this offer was not forthcoming on this occasion.

With the exception of Sunday Lunch our restaurant is only open for pre-booked lunches. Our lounge serves light bites, as well as main meals for lunch, until 10pm. Please accept my apologies for the mix up at reception.

I am uncertain why your room was not ready when you returned to the hotel at 6pm, as this is long after our housekeeping team finish. Before guests check in, the housekeeping supervisor, or the head housekeeper, checks the room to make sure it’s been thoroughly cleaned. If a room was not occupied the night before, then first thing in the morning the room is re-inspected by a supervisor.

I am sorry that your stay was not as enjoyable as it should have been and I would welcome the opportunity to discuss the issues you raised in more detail. Please contact me directly on dgrey@sarova.com .

Thank you for your feedback, we will learn from it and improve.

Warm regards,
Duncan Grey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twyford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I stayed one Saturday night in a single room in this hotel. Although I arrived early, the room was ready and I could go in. For a room with a single bed it wasn't a bad size - the little lobby area made it seem a bit more spacious, though it would have been useful to have had a coat hook. The furnishings are traditional and good quality though there were a few stains on the chair and nets. The bathroom was marble, had a half bath with a ledge - bit weird - and a shower. Small but fine for my needs. My room was on the first floor right next to the Abbey and during the evening there was some sort of recital going on which was quite nice to listen to. The best thing about the room was the view. Hills to the right, Abbey to the left and in between countryside as far as the eye could see - probably to Wales.
Although the hotel was full and there was a wedding going on, it was fairly quiet - apart from the creaking floors - why do people go walkabout at 2am! Breakfast was brill - lincolnshire sausages, bacon, eggs - well everything for a full English, along with cereals, fresh fruit, pastries - really good. The hotel is very charming and right in the centre of Malvern. There's a large bar and restaurant if you don't fancy venturing outside. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elizashley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarovaHotels, General Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear elspeth34,

Thank you for your positive review of The Abbey Hotel.

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us especially the view from your room and our breakfast.

We look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future.

Warm regards,
Duncan Grey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed at The Abbey Hotel for 1 night as part of a Voyage Prive offer. We had an upgrade from a stand room and stay at the back of the hotel in room 307 which had a fabulous view of the Priory next door. The location of the Abbey is fantastic, if you cross the road and walk up through the park you will come to St Annes Well and from there if you continue up the hill you come to the Beacon which i think is the highest point in the Malvern hills. The views are breathtaking.
As part of our package we had a 3 course evening meal and a bottle of wine both of which were of good quality. There was also a good choice at breakfast, full english or continental. The staff were friendly and helpful. All in all we had a fantastic stay and i would recommend it. We would happily stay again.

Room Tip: 307 had lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MandKadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarovaHotels, General Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear MandKadventures,

Thank you for your lovely review of the Abbey Hotel.

I agree our location is fantastic, being located in the centre of Great Malvern and with the footpath up to the Beacon minutes away.

I am pleased you enjoyed your meals and will pass on your great feedback to our team. We all hope to see you again soon.

Warm regards
Duncan Grey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 3, 2013

booked by phone for the Delicious Sunday Carvery at £12.95 a head, which was confirmed on the phone. Special occasion, my silver wedding anniversary, so decided to take parents out somewhere special for the occasion. Arrived at the hotel, no information, or directions as to where the carvery was being served. No one offered help, and eventually found the correct room, where we were told which table, not even taken over. Told to help ourselves to the meal! Starters included dried up salad and cold meat, or a veg soup, if wanted. The 'delicious' carvery consisted of either beef OR pork,one slice of, dried roast and new potatoes, Yorkshire puddings, and two dishes of mixed vegs, bean, mangetout, carrots, swede and unsure on the other. All veg where obviously frozen, and had been on the hot plate for a good hour, before we had ours. Desserts what a joke, dried up carrot cake, strawberry cake, or watered down fruit salad, all out on the side and not even chilled, obviously just cash and carry desserts. Coffee not bought over had to ask twice, and then was almost thrown on the table at us. Went to pay and over charge by £2.00 per head, as the website had not been update to the new price,not my problem. Would strongly recommend no one goes to this.

Room Tip: don't go
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennifer b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarovaHotels, General Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Jennifer b,

Thank you for your review following your Sunday Carvery meal. The price for a three course carvery meal is £14.95 a head; please accept my apologies for failing to update the price on our website. I agree that the website not being updated is not your problem and pleased that our reception team quickly refunded the £2 per head difference, once you pointed out our mistake.

Our carvery is served in the main hotel restaurant, I am sorry that this was not made clear to you and no one helped you find it.
Our carvery consists of a buffet selection of starters, the carvery itself and a buffet selection of desserts; please accept my assurance that we have not served frozen vegetables with our carvery. As all three courses are served buffet style guests do normally help themselves to what they would like; we should offer assistance if needed and I am sorry that we did not offer to assist your party.

It is clear from your feedback that you did not enjoy your special occasion with us and I would welcome the opportunity to discuss with you the issues you raised in more detail. Please contact me directly on dgrey@sarova.co.uk.


Warm regards
Duncan Grey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Malvern
0.1 mi away
Mount Pleasant Hotel
Mount Pleasant Hotel
#9 of 10 in Great Malvern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
2.4 mi away
Colwall Park - Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
0.4 mi away
The Cotford Hotel and l'Amuse Bouche Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Malvern Hills Hotel
Malvern Hills Hotel
#8 of 10 in Great Malvern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Cottage in the Wood
The Cottage in the Wood
#1 of 1 in Malvern Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
0.1 mi away
Great Malvern Hotel
Great Malvern Hotel
#7 of 10 in Great Malvern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Abbey Hotel

Property: The Abbey Hotel
Address: Abbey Road, Great Malvern WR14 3ET, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Malvern Hills > Great Malvern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Great Malvern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Abbey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your The Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Hotel Malvern

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing