We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly suprised :)”
Review of The Abbey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Abbey Hotel
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Great Malvern
Certificate of Excellence
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Pleasantly suprised :)”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Superior room lovely!very large comfy bed. Spacious room and bathroom. To be picky the bathroom could do with a bit of updating. Nice seating area around tv in room.Good selection at buffet breakfast which served till half ten. The bar area downstairs modern and relaxing. Central location to the town which took 1-2mins to walk.If in the area would definatly stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gtjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    408
    451
    202
    63
    39
See reviews for
122
612
44
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Large room, immense bed (180cm wide), good shower although over the bath. The problem is that this hotel is overheated. My room was a furnace and they don’t stop or even lower the heat at night. I put my radiator dial on zero but it didn’t stop anything. I couldn’t sleep, even with both my windows wide open and was disturbed all night by a loud ventilation coming from below (perhaps the kitchen?). The next morning, I asked them to send someone to look at my radiator but when back in the evening the room was still stifling. They kindly moved me to the bridal suite, one floor up, very large suite with great views, lots of air and 3 radiators that could be lowered and even stopped if needed. Big bathroom with a power shower apart from the bath. A fridge in the room.
The food was good and the service perfect.
In the rooms, on the television choice: no Radio 3, no BBC Four, no BBC News, no BBC World but the rest (the 5 channels, CNN, Sky, Radio 4...) is available.
The problem with this hotel is the very weak WiFi almost everywhere. The hotel is completely wired but what is the point these days of tablets and smartphones?

Room Tip: Avoid absolutely room 330. Too hot and loud ventilation below (see review). I recommend the bridal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cham0is
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wetherby
Level 6 Contributor
276 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Stayed 2 nights at a weekend in circumstances that I suspected were perfect to highlight all the short comings of a medium to large hotel: 130 + people wanting a buffet dinner one evening, a traditional gala dinner the other, with breakfasts both mornings at an all-in value package rate.
The Abbey Hotel did a really good job. Rooms were clean, beds comfortable, in room toiletries high quality. Food was good- tasty, enough choice, and, for both buffet dinner and traditional gala dinner well cooked, hot and well presented. Waiting staff were friendly and went the extra mile when asked for anything non standard. The bar even had real ale which was well kept.
Almost an outstanding- but the bar did run out of real beer first night, and the price for a packed lunch for our day excursion was too high.
Would definitely want to return to this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephcart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria, UK
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I stayed here for the AGM of a national walking organisation along with 130 or so others. The hotel is located close to the centre of Malvern and is also convenient for a quick walk up the Beacon - a shame it was covered in cloud! The hotel has been ingeniously extended over the years which made it ideal for an event such as ours, but it has resulted in some convoluted routes to reach function rooms.

My room was fine, with adequate if not over-generous space, nice materials and furnishings and scrupulously clean. No one expects gourmet meals when 100 plus people are fed together, but the Abbey's offerings were certainly at the top end of expectations.

What set the Abbey apart from many hotels was the helpfulness and friendliness of the staff. From the initial booking to final checkout nothing seemed to ruffle them and the sort of organisational issues which occur on an event such as ours were resolved smoothly before small problems became big ones.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FellwalkerCumbria_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Went here for a Mothers Day afternoon tea. For £7.95 you can have a generous selection of sandwiches, a large pot of tea, a scone with jam and cream and some cake. It was beautifully presented, the surroundings were lovely - lots of cosy alcoves with comfy armchairs and the staff were very pleasant. My only bad point was that the cake with the first few teas was a delicious dark chocolate home made cake. With the last few teas we were given what seemed to be a frozen raspberry cheesecake with fake cream. It looked bad and it tasted average. That was a shame but the rest of the experience was great.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyHelenJenkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wantage, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We stayed here on a dance break. The ballroom and dance floor were excellent. Our room in the new block was warm and comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful but many seemed to be untrained. The restaurant was disappointing, no atmosphere and just like a works canteen. Do not go to this hotel if you enjoy good food. Overall we enjoyed our stay but wonder how it obtained an AA 4 star status.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Didn't really see much of the hotel...difficult enough to find your way around which of course could also be viewed as "exciting". staff were really nice, food (had a buffet as was part of a conference) was really good, beer was good, breakfast was good, rooms were fine, batheroom was a littel cold (cold night anyway). had good free wifi.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank early30_irish_male
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Malvern
0.1 mi away
Mount Pleasant Hotel
Mount Pleasant Hotel
#9 of 10 in Great Malvern
129 reviews
2.4 mi away
Colwall Park - Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
2.0 mi away
The Cottage in the Wood
The Cottage in the Wood
#1 of 1 in Malvern Wells
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Cotford Hotel and l'Amuse Bouche Restaurant
4.5 mi away
Stanbrook Abbey Hotel
Stanbrook Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Callow End
903 reviews
4.4 mi away
Bank House Hotel, Spa & Golf, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Abbey Hotel

Property: The Abbey Hotel
Address: Abbey Road, Great Malvern WR14 3ET, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Malvern Hills > Great Malvern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Great Malvern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Abbey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your The Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Hotel Malvern

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing