We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wake up”
Review of The Abbey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Abbey Hotel
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Great Malvern
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 14, 2011

Abbey Hotel Malvern , well its in a good position OK BUT ! the images isnt all that you see
the main image is the front of old part of hotel but there is an addition of 2 blocks that look like cheap flats (this is the main hotel accomadation) as the original hotel is the restaurant and bar reception etc with few rooms above
We had a room in the old part on request , it was clean but old metal windows that did not close so the cold came in all night and being mid november pretty cold as the hotel heating was not on.
The bed wa a large double BUT you needed to hold on to rhe side as you slip to middle of bed really worn out
In the morning as we were in old part of hotel above restaurant the cooking smells forced you to wake up and the noise all night keep you awake , especially at 6.30 7 am when the trucks come to the front to deliver or collect rubbish
The arrival reception was pretty basic just doing my job style no big smiles and explanations of area what there is to do etc in fact we did ask and we were shown the leaflet stand
We were asked at our check in 4pm would we wish to book a table for dinner we said yes 7.30 we were told there was a tabl;e at 7 45 which we booked
The restaurant on arrival was a very old fashioned 70's snack bar restaurant cold feeling
empty apart from two people , we were seated next to the others and then two more people came who were seated next to us thats it all night
the food was really bad mostly frozen reheated style Pork belly was like brick belly starters deserts like a cafe style with dribbled chocklate on plate to look fancy
The wines were all basic £4-5 supermarket wines min 13 ish and up we ghad £20 wine that I would not buy in a shop for £4
The experience waiters were foreign and had no real training of service imagine this small table two big plates wine bucket water jug side plates 3 glasses each yet the restaurant bigger tables for 4 were empty
All the waiters were at one end talking and 4 dinners at the other waiting
Breakfast was a joke again 6-8 people eating food was cheapest of cheap sausages , frozen produce reheated mushrooms can you believe they ran out of fried eggs we had to wait not a prob the auto toaster needed to be loaded 3 times for toast to brown fruit juices were not sure but I would suggest may be they get fresh juices and fresh fruit not tined manderins . the french pastries were 2 inch squares again so poor
Have just come back from a 4 star hotel in austria whchi cost similar money compares to this hotel and service I would say 9 for auctria and -99 for this
Really Poor
Not worth the prices this hotel charges go to a B & B its cheaper for this quality
do a google streetview wish i did that wouild have told me not to book as what you see is not what you get

Room Tip: Must be old part of hotel but check the hjeating and noice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank travelukmyway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,247)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,067 - 1,073 of 1,247 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2011

firstly - no problem in recommending the Abbey Hotel - especially if you can find a good room price / deal. Great central location, parking not a problem.
Stayed for three nights in the new(er) part of the hotel and could have been just about anywhere - clean, comfortable but just not particularly inspiring - in contrast to publicity photos of ivy-covered traditional stone building. Room noise / thin walls are a possible issue if you are a light sleeper. I was left wondering if there are really quaint or more interesting rooms elsewhere in the hotel.
Breakfast self service with good range of hot and continental dishes - but yet again functional and not really inspiring (though staff were very pleasant and engaging).

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antiblackberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

The hotel was very comfortable and food delicious. Staff friendly and helpful. When we come to the Morgan factory again we will be choosing this hotel.

Room Tip: South side is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 705Barbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2011

Have been coming here for some years now on a dinner b and b deal. It has proven to be a great deal. Hotel is somewhat maze'ish . Long corridors ,small rooms,squicky floors are the negatives. Positive is breakfast is good ,serve yourself deal ,coffee is superior to some posh places,dinner is also good with the usual choices some turning out to be very tasty. Once I ordered the duck didn't like it. No fuss they changed it straight away. Staff very friendly. Tea tray in room. Tea service in lounge very good value compared to what's available outside. All in all very good value for money. Highly recommend.Hotel is great location for the obligatory malvern walks.

Room Tip: Back of the hotel overlooking garden are more pleasant .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GezenBey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

Had a lovely saty at the Abbey: Comfortable beds, breakfast was nice and there was plenty of it. The evening meal was absolutely fine. All in all for £45 per night in a superior room breakfast and dinner, I couldn't fault it. The staff were pleasant and attentive, the place in very clean. We will be going back.

Room Tip: The Malvern Theatre is a 2 minute walk, book yourself a show while you are there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Major49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

I sent my parents here for their birthdays. They walked to the theatre in minutes, great location. They enjoyed the food and my dad was particularly pleased with the cheese and biscuits on return from the theatre. Very pleased.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Devilgate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2011

My wife and I stayed at The Abbey for one night on Sunday the 23rd of October in order to break our journey on the way to a Welsh holiday and see the Brecon Beacons..
This was a "body and sole" special deal night and was of excellent value.
£99 per couple included bed , breakfast and evening three course meal and a bottle of wine . White towelling robes, slippers and body care products were also provided.
Slippers being part of the "sole" contribution.
The evening meal was particularly good and the locally sourced steak was very tasty. The Cabernet Sauvignon was particularly fine.
Service was very good.
Because this meal was so good we had high hopes about the breakfast next morning but it proved to be just the usual average breakfast , ( nothing to complain about )
The room was commodious and good and the only slight downside ( easily put right ) was the less than welcoming reception experience..One member of staff would not take her eyes off the computer screen long enough to give us her attention but just called a colleague from a back room " deal with this will you "..I guess Facebook can be compelling!
This made a poor first front of house impression which I'm sure the INSET team at Abbey will be able to correct without a problem..Overall a good experience and good value.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back offer the best views over the valley. Afterr turning into the car park th recepti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulDilks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Malvern
0.1 mi away
Mount Pleasant Hotel
Mount Pleasant Hotel
#8 of 10 in Great Malvern
51 reviews
2 mi away
The Cottage in the Wood
The Cottage in the Wood
#1 of 1 in Malvern Wells
1,024 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Cotford Hotel and l'Amuse Bouche Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Malvern Hotel
Premier Inn Malvern Hotel
#5 of 10 in Great Malvern
425 reviews
2.4 mi away
Colwall Park - Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
3.4 mi away
Malvern Hills Hotel
Malvern Hills Hotel
#9 of 10 in Great Malvern
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Abbey Hotel

Address: Abbey Road, Great Malvern WR14 3ET, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Malvern Hills > Great Malvern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Great Malvern
Price Range: $116 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Abbey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Hotel Malvern

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing