We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and passionate staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Cotford Hotel and l'Amuse Bouche Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Great Malvern
Certificate of Excellence
Cave Creek, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Beautiful and passionate staff”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Arriving late at night from the USA and having traveled the world, Barbara, owner was a delightful introduction to a beautiful updated 1800's home. The staff were so helpful, happy and attentive all the time as we explored a couple days before business started on Monday. They recommended a couple restaurants, all within 5-8 minute walk and always asked about our experiences for the day. On the 3rd night we ate at the hotel and it was fabulous - presentation was brilliant; each food had incredible flavors and Chris, owner/chef was so informative and kind. Beautiful area with homes to marvel at with their design, keeping the old English and wondering what design was around the next corner. Everyone that we spoke with, either staying there or not, who came to dinner explained they had to wait weeks to get a reservation. Absolutely 5 star service with 5 star passion and attitude - delightful and brilliant and everyone was so helpful! OH - and the cost for value was unexpected and refreshing. We will stay there when we return again.

Room Tip: We had a garden room with all the amenities you need to be comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank casmkt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    440
    73
    20
    10
    3
See reviews for
103
251
23
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor and Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
273 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We read the good reviews and so we went and it was good. Good food, good room and good service too. Apparently the normally attentive owners had gone away for their holidays and we didn't notice until I asked as we checked out! So congratulations on a well run place.
For us to go away Great Malvern made a great weekend break - the country, a show ( the theatre is a few minutes walk ) Worcester ( the bus stop 2 minutes away ). So good to go away.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TJA44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

This was our second stay and again the accommodation and service was excellent. This is a fairly small boutique hotel, but it is centrally located and perfect if you are visiting Malvern. The rooms are small but well equipped, very clean and beautifully decorated. The whole hotel has a warm friendly, relaxed feel, which is reflected by the service and attention of the staff. What makes this hotel special is the superb restaurant (excellent breakfast) and bar. The decor of both these stylish rooms and the lounge shows a lot of imagination and attention to detail. I would recommend this quality hotel for any short stay in Malvern but remember to book the restaurant for your evening meal in advance, it's very popular and often fully booked. But as it's so good it would be a shame to not to get the opportunity to eat at this splendid hotel. For a small boutique hotel it punches well above its weight.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Brendan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We hadn't been for awhile and our previous meal was excellent but this time the service and the meal was not to the same standard. My starters of scallops was lovely but many of our party had it for their main course and all they got was an extra scallop and vegetables . I don't think it was value for money as a main course. All the other starters were very good.

I had venison and it was very disappointing not as tender as it should have been
The menu is small and doesn't change very much so not somewhere you would go regularly.
The wine was just left on the table and not served.

Parking is very tight as well and not a lot of space for turning around.ŷ

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dinglepoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cotfordhotel, Owner at The Cotford Hotel and l'Amuse Bouche Restaurant, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for your comments. With your critique of us, I'm surprised you've opted to visit us rather than use the other pubs/value-for-money options in the area. Its not all about " how much can I get on my plate" when eating out, which your comments both on our restaurant and others you have singled out appear to echo. Its a shame really because we operate a fine dining venue with the menu changing 6/7 times a year, making full use of the seasons and sourcing ingredients carefully and we are passionately proud of what we do , as commented on by the recent visits of both the AA hotel inspector and the Michelin guide inspector. Hence the need to book ahead for a table at peak times. As for parking, we offer 12 ample spaces which is more than some and how that reflects on the hotel and deserves a negative comment I'm not quite sure.
I hope this goes someway to offering an understanding from our side as to how we perceive our business. We endeavour to please all of our customers all of the time but alas, none of us are perfect!
Regards
Chris and Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banwell, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 30, 2013

This hotel is amazing. Right in the centre of Great Malvern, the decor is superb, the staff are exceptionally friendly and efficient and the food is to die for. I'm longing to go back but I also want to save it for a special treat. It is very convenient for local shops, theatre and the Malvern Hills.
As a bonus I got to shake Robert Vaughan's hand, in a local shop, and stroke Hector, the owner's dog.

Con, North Somerset

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank conmahoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cotfordhotel, Owner at The Cotford Hotel and l'Amuse Bouche Restaurant, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
So glad you loved your stay. We've been here since 2007 and absolutely adore Malvern and all that it offers.
Kindest regards
Chris, Barbara and Hector
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Stayed here mid week on business again and continuously impressive . The hosts/owners, Chris and Barbara obviously have a passion for their industry and never fail to impress with their staff, the fabulous rooms and gardens and of course the sublime food.. Thoroughly recommendable.

Room Tip: Ask for a superior ... extra space, but all the rooms seem to be well looked after.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blackcatjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cotfordhotel, Owner at The Cotford Hotel and l'Amuse Bouche Restaurant, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
What a lovely letter.. thank you so much. To be told that we hitting the right notes is lovely... We do try :-)
kind regards
Chris and Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a lovely 3 day break staying at this beautiful hotel. It was a holiday for my mum who celebrated her 89th birthday while we were there. The staff were wonderful and mum felt thoroughly spoilt having a birthday cake and a chorus of "Happy Birthday" sung to her by the staff. The food was amazing and the rooms beautiful. A great hotel in a lovely part of the world.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank lovinggreecealways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Malvern
2.3 mi away
The Cottage in the Wood
The Cottage in the Wood
#1 of 1 in Malvern Wells
927 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#5 of 10 in Great Malvern
1,163 reviews
2.7 mi away
Colwall Park - Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mount Pleasant Hotel
Mount Pleasant Hotel
#9 of 10 in Great Malvern
129 reviews
4.2 mi away
Stanbrook Abbey Hotel
Stanbrook Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Callow End
903 reviews
4.0 mi away
Bank House Hotel, Spa & Golf, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cotford Hotel and l'Amuse Bouche Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cotford Hotel and l'Amuse Bouche Restaurant

Property: The Cotford Hotel and l'Amuse Bouche Restaurant
Address: 51 Graham Road, Great Malvern WR14 2HU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Malvern Hills > Great Malvern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Great Malvern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cotford Hotel and l'Amuse Bouche Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Gothic Victorian hotel of character which has recently achieved the status of Runner-up "Hotel of the Year in Worcestershire 2016 ". The hotel also hosts the popular and inovative L'amuse Bouche Restaurant, an award winning French themed restaurant set on the side of the Malvern hills. Awarded its original 2nd AA rosette for culinary excellence in 2008 it has now been awarded the title of Winner in the Eating Out Category of Restaurants in Worcestershire 2016 and will represent the county in the Visit England Finals. The hotel has just completed a full refurbishment throughout. Original features from the 1850's adorn many areas of the hotel. Family owned and run with 15 individually decorated and furnished rooms. Set in its own secluded grounds and with its award winning gardens (Overall winners of the "Heart of England in Bloom Awards 2010", hotel gardens) overlooking the Severn Valley. A short walk from the theatre and town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Cotford Hotel and l'Amuse Bouche Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing