We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I could become addicted to home made lavender ice cream!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Cotford Hotel and l'Amuse Bouche Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Great Malvern
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“I could become addicted to home made lavender ice cream!”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

This hotel was recommended by friends and more than lived up to its reputation. We were lucky enough to be in the Garden Room, with two private patios! The room was large, well furnished
and spotless, as was the bathroom. A very thoughtful selection of teas, coffees, chocolate and biscuits.
The restaurant is small and the staff are very attentive but not in that annoying way of some restaurants. The food was superb - we ate there both nights. I could become addicted to the wonderful home made lavender ice cream! I can thoroughly recommend the bream and the scallops.

Room Tip: If you stay during the summer, choose the Garden Room so that you can access the garden on sunny day...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    424
    73
    20
    10
    3
See reviews for
96
243
22
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I hade to attend meetings in Malvern and my usual accommodation was fully booked, so I made a reservation here. A great location for access to the town, this hotel is comfortable and well appointed. The restaurant, L'amuse Bouche, was fully booked, however, it was a short pleasant stroll to a number of restaurants of various cuisines.
The room was clean and comfortable; the bathroom being spotless!
The highlight for me was the breakfast. Locally sourced ingredients (the sausages were the best I've tasted) were cooked to perfection. Well done!

Room Tip: I was in the Coach House, which is right at the top of the hotel; it may prove to be a little strenu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank g8120651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cotfordhotel, Owner at The Cotford Hotel and l'Amuse Bouche Restaurant, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you for staying and showing your appreciation on this site. Hopefully we'll see you again soon,
kind regards
Chris and Barbara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buntingford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

When we eventually arrived (the sat nat sent us to any alley at the back of the hotel),the stature of the hotel was obvious. The hallway/reception was a bit snug, but the receptionist was there immediatley to book us in. The room (the attic at the very top of the stairs) was light, airy, clean and modern. One small complaint would be that the TV is in the wrong position to watch comfortably. The restaurant is small but comfortable. The evening food was wonderful, served quickly, and very enjoyable. Even though the waitresses had to deal with a big party of 20, they were extremely well organised, and still attentive to our needs. Breakfast was ok'ish - the menu states that if you want croissants you will have to wait for 10 minutes. I think that my croissants had 20 minutes as they were burnt black. The owners are very friendly and make time to have a chat.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

My wife and I were looking for a hotel in Malvern for a couple of days whilst our car was being worked on at the Morgan factory. We spent some time researching the area and found most hotels in the area were quite tired and generic. Then we discovered The Cotford hotel. Rather than wax lyrical I will list our reasons for highly recommending this hotel;
1. Presentation both inside and outside is top draw. The Morgans who own and run the hotel have spared no expense furnishing the hotel. A real aire of quality flows throughout.
2. Staff all go the extra mile to look after the guests and they are all happy in their work - a rareity in our experience. The same can be said of the owners.
3. Restaurant - The quality of the dishes is something you would have to travel far and wide throughout the land to equal. My wife and I have been lucky enough to have dined in a number of Michelin star grade restaurants and L'amuse Bouche, the hotel restaurant, is right up there with them.
4. Location is within walking distance of the town centre, walks into the Malvern hills and the Morgan Motor Company. The hotel is situated on an affluent road and it is surrounded by the well kept and well stocked hotel gardens.
5. Hector - the Morgans dog!!! He's an extremely friendly and well behaved dog.
6. Our room was spotlessly clean and very comfortable with tea and coffee making facilities.

We look forward to returning and will certainly use this hotel as our base in Malvern.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joy-RobGoneWalkAbout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We went for valentines day and again since...what can I say amazing food and fantastic staff.
There is a lovely cocktail bar if you fancy a drink before your meal and a very sumptuous lounge with open fire to take your coffee. Fantastic we will be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helen o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We enjoyed a wonderful lunch for 40 people and were extremely well looked after here after my father's funeral. The hotel has been beautifully and tastefully refurbished in recent years with a stunning bar as well as the more traditional décor of lounge and dining room. We would highly recommend - I challenge anyone to find a more stylish and welcoming place in Malvern!

Room Tip: We didn't stay in the hotel so cannot help here
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sianfeedback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

What a lovely hotel to stay at on business. Owners and staff always extremely friendly and attentive. Rooms lovely and very homely, leading to a really great night's sleep. A perfectly cooked breakfast in the morning sets me up for the day. I always enjoy my visits.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnp468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Malvern
0.4 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#5 of 10 in Great Malvern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
2.7 mi away
Colwall Park - Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
2.3 mi away
The Cottage in the Wood
The Cottage in the Wood
#1 of 1 in Malvern Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mount Pleasant Hotel
Mount Pleasant Hotel
#9 of 10 in Great Malvern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
3.8 mi away
Malvern Hills Hotel
Malvern Hills Hotel
#7 of 10 in Great Malvern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Malvern Hotel
Premier Inn Malvern Hotel
#6 of 10 in Great Malvern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cotford Hotel and l'Amuse Bouche Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cotford Hotel and l'Amuse Bouche Restaurant

Property: The Cotford Hotel and l'Amuse Bouche Restaurant
Address: 51 Graham Road, Great Malvern WR14 2HU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Malvern Hills > Great Malvern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Great Malvern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cotford Hotel and l'Amuse Bouche Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Gothic Victorian hotel of character which has recently achieved the status of Runner-up "Hotel of the Year in Worcestershire 2016 ". The hotel also hosts the popular and inovative L'amuse Bouche Restaurant, an award winning French themed restaurant set on the side of the Malvern hills. Awarded its original 2nd AA rosette for culinary excellence in 2008 it has now been awarded the title of Winner in the Eating Out Category of Restaurants in Worcestershire 2016 and will represent the county in the Visit England Finals. The hotel has just completed a full refurbishment throughout. Original features from the 1850's adorn many areas of the hotel. Family owned and run with 15 individually decorated and furnished rooms. Set in its own secluded grounds and with its award winning gardens (Overall winners of the "Heart of England in Bloom Awards 2010", hotel gardens) overlooking the Severn Valley. A short walk from the theatre and town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, LateRooms, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your The Cotford Hotel and l'Amuse Bouche Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing