We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday bash !!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Cotford Hotel and l'Amuse Bouche Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Great Malvern
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We attended a friends birthday diner party, so cannot comment on value !
Food absolutely lovely - well presented, tasty and not over pretentious.
I imagine they may be up for a Michelin - if so stick to what you do well !!
Decided we shall return with family for a night and stay over/
Unfortunately the hotel was full so had to stay nearby

Well done to all !

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank surveyor22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cotfordhotel, Owner at The Cotford Hotel and l'Amuse Bouche Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

Thank you for writing and so happy you enjoyed our hospitality.
Its what we love doing.
Kind regards
Chris and Barbara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (564)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

381 - 387 of 564 reviews

Reviewed February 13, 2013

We were invited to take part in a weekend birthday celebration at The Cotford Hotel and arrived at the hotel in the lashing rain. Dripping wet we entered the hotel to be greeted with warmth and smiles from the owner, Barbara, and were ushered into the lounge to warm by the huge fire. After being shown to our room, which was full of character and just what we wanted, we again went to the lounge where we were served with the best ham sandwiches we have ever eaten. This was the first indication of the great food to come. Before dinner we went to the bar and were served with a very impressive array of delicious canapés (I devoured far too many!) by absolutely charming staff members. We were then ushered into the restaurant. As was becoming very obvious, this was a going to be a most enjoyable dinner and the food was again of extremely high standard. The chef/owner, Chris, has great talent and it is clear that this is a serious restaurant. The menu was well balanced, beautifully presented, perfectly cooked and delicious. In all aspects - the food and the service - it was of the highest merit. Finally retiring to bed after what was a pretty wine filled and hugely enjoyable evening we slept likes logs. Very comfortable bed and cosy snug room. At breakfast, which we all seemed to make, it was the smiles from the staff that helped open eyes. Breakfast menu again very good with everything one could want on the menu. I regard myself as an obsessional egg person - judging a hotel by how well my morning egg is cooked. Many hotels just do not have a clue but the poached egg I ordered at The Cotford was cooked to absolute perfection. Wow. In my book that says everything. If that can be achieved during a manic breakfast service then anything is possible. This is a small and charming hotel with a great restaurant and a first class chef. Barbara and Chris have got it so right - and the smiles said it all. We all finally, and reluctantly, left having had a great time and just in time before the Sunday lunch crowd started to arrive. No doubt they were in for a treat. Many thanks.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pringle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Brilliantly appointed, excellent decor, wonderful food and hugely welcoming staff, if your staying in the area stay at the Cotford Hotel. Very homely and accommodating, with bags of character and bespoke charm.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cotfordhotel, Owner at The Cotford Hotel and l'Amuse Bouche Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

Wow and thank you. So glad you enjoyed your stay.
kind regards
Chris, Barbara and Hector

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We have stayed and eaten at The Cotford on a number of occasions and have always had a wonderful so we took the Hotel over to celebrate my 60th birthday with 35 friends.

We drifted in during the afternoon to be met by the ever smiling Barbara and staff who made sure that everyone had what they wanted;

Before dinner we had some delicious canapes and then a fabulous dinner, beautifully presented and served by a really good team of waitresses,

We stayed up much too late but all made it down for an excellent breakfast and we were all very sad to leave but we will be back!

If you want to have a party for friends and family I cannot think of a better place. The service and food is outstanding and Chris and Barbara deserve every credit that comes their way.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Stayed one night for business. Room was good, very comfortable bed, clean and everything worked. Bathroom clean. Service was good, friendly and attentive but not too much. Breakfast was also a good one. Only niggle was that the wifi signal in the room wasn't great and to get wifi I had to move to the downstairs lounge. Overall good, and would use the hotel again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andy0870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We love going to the theatre at Malvern & over the years have been to different hotels in the area, but we are so happy to have found 'The Cotford' it is such a welcoming & friendly place to stay, The building its self is very impressive, with outstanding gardens, and once inside you just know that you are in for a treat! The rooms are to the highest quality with everything you need, and the staff are very friendly and helpfull nothing is to much trouble.
We have found 'our hotel' as we now call it.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent, room 6 is a favorite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lelsey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cotfordhotel, Owner at The Cotford Hotel and l'Amuse Bouche Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Our pleasure, Its lovely to meet returning customers who appreciate the hotel for all its merits and faults (though not too many we hope). As you are aware we constantly strive to "do right by our customers" but will never please everyone.
Fond wishes and kindest regards
Chris, Barbara and Hector.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We had read all the good reviews on this hotel and expected it to be much better than it was!

We stayed on a Friday evening after a trip to theatre as a treat for my husband's birthday. We were not given a particularly warm welcome and rather left to our own resources to find room etc.

We were right at the top of the hotel up numerous stairs and long corridors. For any person who is not able you need to ask to be on a lower floor.

The room was lovely and large, clean and well decorated. The settee is positioned right under the T.V. so you would have to sit on the bed to watch it if you wanted to, which seems to defeat the object of having a settee.

We were freezing cold all night, only to find in the morning an instruction book behind the curtains telling us the time of breakfast and we found a duvet in the wardrobe but there was no indication either from staff or in the manual that there was one there and we did not use the wardrobe as only staying over night.

Worse than the cold was the noisy toilet system which carried on filling up for hours, presumably until every other guest was in bed. The shower had very little pressure and consequently left you feeling cold.There was one tiny shampoo and conditioner between the two of us, I think one each would not be too much to expect!

The breakfast was adequate but nothing special, the coffee pot was ridiculously small and we had to keep asking for it to be refilled.

My husband had also ordered a morning paper and was actually charged double its price which has never happened to us in any hotel we have stayed in. He had the "I" which costs 30 pence and he was charged 65 pence for it!

This could be a super hotel if there was a little more attention paid to guests who were not eating in the restaurant and only staying over night.

I think this could be a really lovely hotel to stay in

Room Tip: Avoid room17 if you want to get any sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank littleliz999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cotfordhotel, Owner at The Cotford Hotel and l'Amuse Bouche Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

So sorry you weren't over-impressed. We strive to offer a personal touch and warm welcome to every one who visits us, however, if you had just made a small mention of any of your observations to us we would have indeed offered you a very sympathetic ear and all of your critique could and would have been addressed, however, when you elect to publicly aire your grievences, then, sadly we can do little about it other than to say thank you for your comments and we will attend to them where we can.
Thank you for staying and regards
Chris and Barbara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Malvern
2.3 mi away
The Cottage in the Wood
The Cottage in the Wood
#1 of 1 in Malvern Wells
989 reviews
2.7 mi away
Colwall Park - Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Mount Pleasant Hotel
Mount Pleasant Hotel
#10 of 10 in Great Malvern
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#4 of 10 in Great Malvern
1,200 reviews
3.8 mi away
Malvern Hills Hotel
Malvern Hills Hotel
#7 of 10 in Great Malvern
477 reviews
4.0 mi away
Bank House Hotel, Spa & Golf, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cotford Hotel and l'Amuse Bouche Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cotford Hotel and l'Amuse Bouche Restaurant

Address: 51 Graham Road, Great Malvern WR14 2HU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Malvern Hills > Great Malvern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Great Malvern
Price Range: $112 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cotford Hotel and l'Amuse Bouche Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Gothic Victorian hotel of character which has recently achieved the status of Runner-up "Hotel of the Year in Worcestershire 2016 ". The hotel also hosts the popular and inovative L'amuse Bouche Restaurant, an award winning French themed restaurant set on the side of the Malvern hills. Awarded its original 2nd AA rosette for culinary excellence in 2008 it has now been awarded the title of Winner in the Eating Out Category of Restaurants in Worcestershire 2016 and will represent the county in the Visit England Finals. The hotel has just completed a full refurbishment throughout. Original features from the 1850's adorn many areas of the hotel. Family owned and run with 15 individually decorated and furnished rooms. Set in its own secluded grounds and with its award winning gardens (Overall winners of the "Heart of England in Bloom Awards 2010", hotel gardens) overlooking the Severn Valley. A short walk from the theatre and town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Cotford Hotel and l'Amuse Bouche Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing