We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Lovely Stay in the Main”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Cotford Hotel and l'Amuse Bouche Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Great Malvern
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We had carefully selected this hotel for a four day autumn break, following the good reports in Trip Advisor. We weren't disappointed. This is a luxurious large town house in fabulous landscaped gardens with lots of atmosphere. Absolutely beautiful lounge and bar with a great deal of thought in the design.

The staff were efficient and friendly and having booked a superior room (noting comments about sizes of standard ones) we were happy with the size and the furnishings. The small bathroom was immaculate and nice toiletries supplied, which were renewed each day as was the tea, coffee and luxury biscuits.

We were a little surprised that there was one standard sized double bed and one small single which meant that the double was rather too small for both of us so we had to revert to using both although the single was really on the small side. This said, both were of reasonable comfort.

The food at dinner in the beautiful restaurant on the 2 nights we dined, was lovely and of excellent quality, and was also good value at £20 for 2 courses....We paid the extra and had puddings which were also superb, plus coffee and petitfours in the lounge...lovely. Expensive but not excessively so, as was the bar bill.

The breakfasts were of acceptable standard apart from on our first morning we found that the chopped fruit salad had gone fizzy and on the turn. This was reported to the waitress who immediately took it away and brought some fresh. Unfortunately on our fourth day, I found once again that the fruit was also well past its' best, soft and fizz yagain. Another strange point about the breakfasts was that when having the bacon and egg option it seemed that the policy was to allocate only half a mushroom on each plate. (They may have been quite large before cooking but not afterwards)

On our third day we found that the flat screened tv on the wall of the bedroom was stuck on BBC 1
I reported this to the waitress in the morning and was told that this would be looked at. Upon returning to the room late afternoon nothing had been done. Luckily after a bit of research and half an hour's trouble, we were able to fix it ourselves.


We very much enjoyed our stay and obviously these were only minor points. In our 4 days we did not actually meet with either of the owners who may of course have been very busy, but have found that in similarly small family run hotels both in UK and abroad, the owners and/or chef, have made the effort to at least have a couple of minutes hospitable chat with guests staying for a few days. Hector the dog was absolutely lovely and made up for this in part.!!

Room Tip: Ask for a king size double bed or two moderately sized singles to ensure good sleep quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank woodcreations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cotfordhotel, Owner at The Cotford Hotel and l'Amuse Bouche Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Thank you for your in-depth comments, we're obvously pleased that in-the-main your stay was enjoyable. Its just a shame that it was marred with a couple of areas that didnt meet your expectations. Please accect our apologies for "let-downs" during your stay, We are very proud of our hotel and its offerings and are very concerned when things aren't just-so!.
We'd love to welcome you back to our hotel when you're passing or looking to stay in the area again if only to show that what you experienced are highly unusual occurancies.
Kind regards
Chris , Barbara and Hector

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (569)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

402 - 408 of 569 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2012

It is extremely rare to get absolutely everything in a hotel but the Cotford has it all. The lounge is quiet and relaxing and is well stocked with papers and magazines whereas the newly refurbished cocktail bar is buzzy , bang on trend and a lovely contrast. The gardens are a delight and a joy to wander around. Our room was comfortable, stylish with a beautiful view and had the added distinction of being where Roger Moore had stayed the week before! The food in the Amuse Bouche was second to none with wonderful fresh local ingredients which were cooked to perfection. Our hosts, Barbara and Chris are the ultimate in friendliness and warmth.
Thank you for a really memorable stay - we will be back!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janeybleep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Had a great stay at the hotel. Food was amazing and very tastey ! The whole staff could not be more accommodating on any issue. They make every one very welcome with a very personal touch.

The rooms are a little dated and could do with a update. But the rest of hotels food, service & staff make up for this.

Great place to stay and will be back there again soon.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mc2711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cotfordhotel, Owner at The Cotford Hotel and l'Amuse Bouche Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Hi and thank you for your comments. Glad you enjoyed your stay. I'm suprised that you say the rooms are dated as they have all been fully refurbished in the last 18 months with carefully selected furniture and fabrics as well as "boutique style " wall coverings. All 15 of our bedrooms as well as our public rooms have their own individual personality and style, perhaps not to everyones liking. Next time you stay , please mention and we'd love for you to try one of the other rooms if only to experience the differing styles.
Kind regards to you ,
Chris and Barbara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We visited l'Amuse Bouche restaurant this week and were so glad that we did. Walking into The Cotford is like walking into a little piece of Heaven. The beautiful Lounge is so inviting. I sank into the sumptuous sofa with my glass of wine and I didn't want to leave. The Restaurant is also very beautiful and you can tell that the owners have an eye for detail. The food was amazing, I can recommend the Pepper steak which just melted in my mouth. Service was excellent and the price was very reasonable for food of such a high standard. We left for the evening with a lovely warm feeling and will be back very soon.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank highlandtravellers70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cotfordhotel, Owner at The Cotford Hotel and l'Amuse Bouche Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Brilliant, thank you, job done ! what more can I say.....
A lovely way to start the week by reading comments such as these.
Thank you again and kindest regards
Chris and Barbara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Centrally located hotel close to theatre and shops. Friendly welcome and excellent restaurant. Menu was varfied and food outstanding. Staff very attentive and made us feel nothing was too much trouble. Ensured that we had a meal before going to the theatre for an evening's performance. Rooms had all the facilities and very clean. Would stay again. Good parking availability.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We had a very good night at the Cotford and the the restaurant L,amuse was excelent.

My wifes duck was the best she had tasted and she is a butchers daughter.

The lovely owner Barbara Morgan kept the Bishops Room for us ( try and book this room )

If you like dogs meet theirs he is nice

Highly reccomended.
staff as well

Room Tip: ask for the bishops room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank torquayBristolluk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

What can I say!,first class all the way! Loved it will be returning asap, all of the staff were extremely attentive but not overbearing, hector was the main attraction for me. The rooms are well appointed, immaculate and have everything that you could possibly need for a really relaxing break. It is only a five minute walk from the hotel to the town centre.

Room Tip: No11 was gorgeous but I am sure they all are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WalsallShabba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cotfordhotel, Owner at The Cotford Hotel and l'Amuse Bouche Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2012

Our pleasure !!! Glad you enjoyed your stay and got home safely.
Ps... Hector is not for sale!
Sorry, but the dog stays.
Kind regards
Chris , Barbara and of course Hector.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Malvern
2.3 mi away
The Cottage in the Wood
The Cottage in the Wood
#1 of 1 in Malvern Wells
998 reviews
2.7 mi away
Colwall Park - Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
0.4 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#4 of 10 in Great Malvern
1,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mount Pleasant Hotel
Mount Pleasant Hotel
#10 of 10 in Great Malvern
27 reviews
3.8 mi away
Malvern Hills Hotel
Malvern Hills Hotel
#8 of 10 in Great Malvern
478 reviews
4 mi away
Bank House Hotel, Spa & Golf, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cotford Hotel and l'Amuse Bouche Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cotford Hotel and l'Amuse Bouche Restaurant

Address: 51 Graham Road, Great Malvern WR14 2HU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Malvern Hills > Great Malvern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Great Malvern
Price Range: $114 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cotford Hotel and l'Amuse Bouche Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Gothic Victorian hotel of character which has recently achieved the status of Runner-up "Hotel of the Year in Worcestershire 2016 ". The hotel also hosts the popular and inovative L'amuse Bouche Restaurant, an award winning French themed restaurant set on the side of the Malvern hills. Awarded its original 2nd AA rosette for culinary excellence in 2008 it has now been awarded the title of Winner in the Eating Out Category of Restaurants in Worcestershire 2016 and will represent the county in the Visit England Finals. The hotel has just completed a full refurbishment throughout. Original features from the 1850's adorn many areas of the hotel. Family owned and run with 15 individually decorated and furnished rooms. Set in its own secluded grounds and with its award winning gardens (Overall winners of the "Heart of England in Bloom Awards 2010", hotel gardens) overlooking the Severn Valley. A short walk from the theatre and town centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Cotford Hotel and l'Amuse Bouche Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing