We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Have booked again!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Great Malvern Hotel
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Great Malvern
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 14, 2014

This hotel is ideally situated: it is clean, homely and well run: the staff are personable, thoughtful and very helpful… the breakfast is full of variety and the English Full Breakfast is a treat, prepared in kitchens that are clean and tidy. There is a bar which is full of atmosphere, serving hot meals…so, all in all, a hotel which I highly recommend a stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tony J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (280)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 281 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2014

RUDE, Obnoxious manager, Dirty hotel. Advice to stay away.
Its only got 2 stars for a reason. Would never visit again. Not made to feel welcome. My advice would be to employ staff that know what they are doing or at least invest in staff training.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sabrina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

We only visited for a couple of drinks as the bar was in the Camra good beer guide. The selection of beer from 2 local microbreweries pleased my husband but unfortunately my white wine was undrinkable as it was too warm. We didn't feel welcome as we couldn't get near the bar because of the people who were sat there. In all honesty I can't recommend this as a place to drink

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Anne1237511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Do not be put off by the 2 star rating as this hotel is as good as many 3 star hotels and better than
some of them. Staff are all very friendly and welcoming. I just stayed accompanied by my dog to attend the antique fair at the nearby showground. Quite often I would get a small single room,sometimes with no windows but here I got a large airy double. The hotel is spotlessly clean and the bar food was tasty and nicely presented. The dog was allowed in the bar during the evening and on Saturday night there was live music which was nice. Good selection of cask beers. The freshly cooked breakfast was lovely and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

3 couples stayed at the hotel Saturday night. The rooms are very comfortable and clean, entertainment with a live band. Excellent breakfast, not hurried in any way. A real pleasant stay with friends will be returning in the very near future.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

Checked in yesterday - excellent greeting and welcomed by name - room a bit dated but clean and comfortable. Haven't tried the bar and food yet - that's planned for tonight. Only issue so far has been car parking - which is strictly limited at the rear of the building.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
Thank mikethegreek2968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Have visited several times, always for business, a week at a time. Friendly and accomodating staff, and excellent food make this a great place to stay. A variety of English Ales make the pub one of the best in the area with live music several nights a week, but not so loud that I had trouble sleeping. One of more reasonably priced hotels in Malvern serving both traditional English Pub Food, as well as other creative dishes. Is nice to return several times a year to such a friendly environment where the staff and some of the local people remember who I am. The GMH will always be my first choice as place to stay when visiting the Malvern area.

Room Tip: I was a little nervous about the noise from the pub especially on live music nights, but I asked for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick_D11223344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Great Malvern hotels
0.1 mi away
Mount Pleasant Hotel
Mount Pleasant Hotel
#8 of 10 in Great Malvern
51 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#3 of 10 in Great Malvern
1,248 reviews
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Malvern Hotel
Premier Inn Malvern Hotel
#5 of 10 in Great Malvern
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Cotford Hotel and l'Amuse Bouche Restaurant
2.5 mi away
Colwall Park - Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
3.6 mi away
Malvern Hills Hotel
Malvern Hills Hotel
#9 of 10 in Great Malvern
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Malvern Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Malvern Hotel

Address: Graham Road, Great Malvern WR14 2HN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Malvern Hills > Great Malvern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Great Malvern
Price Range: $104 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Great Malvern Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Great Malvern Hotel is perfectly situated in the heart of Great Malvern. We are a friendly, family run business offering comfortable accommodation, great food, and good, old fashioned hospitality and service. Built in 1842 the hotel has been updated whilst still retaining many of it's historical features. The Sutton Family bought The Great Malvern Hotel in 1999, with the intention of running a small town centre hotel which had been an ambition of Jeremy. Rani, his wife, his children and parents have a day to day influence in the hotel and are supported by long standing members of staff. Good accommodation, good food and fine CAMRA cask ales. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Great Malvern Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing