We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Wellington Inn

The Wellington Inn
Ranked #10 of 96 Restaurants in Great Malvern
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Tel: 01684 540269
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

We were staying at Eastnor which is just down the road from The Wellington. Great food, beautifully served in great surroundings. The staff are also lovely. Doesn't get better than this!
Sorry my mistake we visited in July not April. This was a return visit to the area, a return visit to a couple of local restaurants was disappointing. The Wellington made up for it. We visited twice during our week's stay. Very much hope to come back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    72
    24
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent food, friendly atmsophere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

My wife and I have been here a few times, for lunch and dinner and we have enjoyed truly wonderful food on every visit. And although the food is the main attraction, the friendliness of the staff and the warm, relaxed atmosphere really help to make this place feel special.
Not only that, but the beer is always great too!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Angus551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food country atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Have never had a bad experience here in 4 years. The food is always excellent and the sweets are superb. Everything fresh and cooked by a chef with talent. This is not a place you would automatically go to so enter and see. Eat in the bar or the restaurant. The bar accepts dogs which is a plus for me and the clientele goes from wellies to suits so all welcome. It is a country pub so be prepared to relax. The landlord knows more about wines than most so be warned.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank judynigel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“good food, lovely spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

Good beer, tasty food, a garden with a splendid view on a summer's evening. I don't have a car, and the trek back to Malvern where I was staying was arduous -- but well worth it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank rogerbmoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice local pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Myself and my partner booked a table here on a Saturday night as we were out walking in the Malvern Hills for the weekend and had been recommended it.

On arrival we took a seat in the bar area, ordered a drink, ordered our food and were then taken to our table. The food we ordered was really excellent - my partner had the chicken and chorizo salad and i had the steak burger and they were both delicious, good value for money and well presented! Drinks were very reasonably priced and staff were very helpful and welcoming.

This pub is very traditional - we are a couple in our mid twenties and were definitely the youngest there by about 10-15 years, this place is great for good quality food, but the music and decor were all a bit dated and it felt like we had stepped in a time zone. But that didn't deter our opinion or the great food, it just looked like it could have done with a bit of modernization, but it certainly catered for the main clientele group and suited the area. We probably wouldn't return, but that was only through personal choice, not the quality of the food - we just prefer a more modern and lively place to eat.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ksmithy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wellington Inn also viewed

Great Malvern, Malvern Hills
Great Malvern, Malvern Hills
 
Great Malvern, Malvern Hills
Great Malvern, Malvern Hills
 

Been to The Wellington Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing