We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Wellington Inn”
Review of The Wellington Inn

The Wellington Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Tel: 01684 540269
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The Wellington Inn”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Good friendly pub with a really good range of beer and cider. We had Sunday roast which came with a good selection of veg and the beef was full of flavour. Its just a shame it was cooked all the way through. All the staff were really friendly and only too happy to help.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank redneil69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goodhew, Owner at The Wellington Inn, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you so much for writing a review and I am glad you enjoyed you meal!! I am assuming you visited the Wellington last Sunday when we had a large christening party in our dining room. Ordinarily we cook the Beef very rare but on this occasion it was cooked more specifically for the party. Please accept my apologies as I should have said how the beef was cooked.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    231
    74
    25
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Colwall, null, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quality food”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Good quality local ingredients. The staff are ver friendly and nothing is too much trouble. The menu offers good value for money and the dishes are delicious. As a vegetarian I find the dishes at the Wellington are excellent and far above the usual bland fare. I especially like the twice baked cheese souffle, and there is a really good red thai cashew nut curry at the moment.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
207 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“So much more than just pub grub- at reasonable prices”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Returned here with a group in December: the food is always first rate and really good value. The staff were very friendly and most accomodating. Will be back, and looking forward to it too.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank finedinewine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food, friendly pub!”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We came to try the food because the reviews were so good and we weren't disappointed! After a long walk on the hills, we came in for a fantastic Sunday Lunch - the beef is to die for. We agreed that it was the best beef we've had for a long time and great value too. The fire was lovely to warm us up after our walk and the staff were very friendly and helpful. We wish we lived near this pub and we will definitely eat here again when we come back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank claires817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant !”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Exceptional ! A fine Sunday lunch and fitting end to our trip to the UK. Great value and I was kicking myself that I could not squeeze in dessert!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fourlambs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wellington Inn also viewed

Great Malvern, Malvern Hills
Great Malvern, Malvern Hills
 
Great Malvern, Malvern Hills
Great Malvern, Malvern Hills
 
Great Malvern, Malvern Hills
Great Malvern, Malvern Hills
 

Been to The Wellington Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing