We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still a great place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Great Malvern
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Marl Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #24 of 35 Great Malvern B&B and Inns
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Still a great place”
Reviewed May 19, 2012

This is the second time we have stayed at Marl Cottage and found it to just as good asd the first time. Peace and tranquilly can always be found in their wonderful garden and pond. The welcome is wonderful and the food fantastic, the rooms are very clean and well appointed. We will definitely go again and have no hesitation in recommending Marl Cottage to anyone who wants a great place to stay in the Malvern area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Penbay2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
17
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 17, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at Marl Cottage for two nights. It is just minutes outside Malvern. It is clean, comfortable and our friendly hosts - Chris and Brian - provided us with extra treats e.g sightings of foxes, badgers, pheasants, squirrel, bats, our first ever woodpecker and the real treat of hearing the cuckoo. An experience not to be missed. If one was not interested in the wildlife aspect, the accommodations itself is perfect and Chris does a very good breakfast. I could recommend Marl Cottage without hesitation.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kandlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowall
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

We stayed at this delightful B&B for 4 days. It is very clean, with lovely tasteful deco, it was very friendly and the food is plentiful. Chris and Brain are two extraordinary people. I can only highly recommend this property.

Room Tip: if you want to relax then this is the right place
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SmilesM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed August 2, 2011

Our booking was for a one night stay to break up a long journey to Cornwall from North Wales and the welcome was a very warm one and from the moment we stepped in we found the room, facilities and service to be second to none. We'd sprung a late request on Mrs Wilkins for an evening meal suitable for one vegetarian and one 'no red meat' eater and she came up trumps with two delicious mains and a dessert finished with After Eights! The breakfast the following day lived up to the evening meal and met all our needs; including soya milk and yoghurt. We really didn't want to leave - why would we? With friendly service, immaculately clean room containing everything you could possibly need and a totally spectacular & unexpected array of wildlife in the beautiful garden Cornwall had a lot to live up to!

Room Tip: Opt for the evening meal which is amazingly good value and very delicious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wendnsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 16, 2011

Having found this cottage somewhat tucked away we experienced a beautiful two days break in an idyllic setting. Our accommodation was clean and tidy and the breakfast was fabulous. All in all a very nice establishment with a very friendly couple. We will be back in 2012.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whitebw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey UK
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2011

We stayed 3 nights and were well looked after by Chris & Brian. Great hosts! Good clean rooms and comfortable beds with en-suite bath and shower. We did find our room slightly small in terms of "housing" our larger than normal cases. This was the only slight drawback. However when you take into consideration the really superb breakfast, the friendliness of our hosts and the beautiful gardens these far outweighed the issue of the cases. Both Brian and Chris are into wild life and have a small lake with ducks plus have recently added a beehive at the rear of the garden. Cameras are also sited on a swallows nest and onto the ground near the lake so that you can watch the garden wildlife from your bedroom t v day and night. A nice touch! No hesitation in recommending Marl Cottage and you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Broadsword23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2011

We spent a wonderful 3 nights here with friends. Christine and Brian were extremely welcoming and made us feel at home in their lovely house. The rooms were spotless, the breakfasts enormous and the location was very quiet. We thoroughly recommend this accommodation for anyone walking or touring in this delightful area of the Malverns.

Bob and Coral

Room Tip: First floor rooms have the best outlook
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobcallard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Malvern
0.6 mi away
Colwall Park - Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
3.2 mi away
Holdfast Cottage Hotel
Holdfast Cottage Hotel
#10 of 10 in Great Malvern
82 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Cottage in the Wood
The Cottage in the Wood
#1 of 1 in Malvern Wells
863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
The Old Rectory - B&B
#25 of 35 in Great Malvern
1 reviews
3.0 mi away
Cannara Bed and Breakfast
Cannara Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 35 in Great Malvern
173 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Wyche Inn
The Wyche Inn
#8 of 35 in Great Malvern
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marl Cottage Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marl Cottage Bed and Breakfast

Property: Marl Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Address: Marl Cottage Old Orchard Lane | Colwall, Great Malvern WR13 6HU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Malvern Hills > Great Malvern
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Great Malvern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marl Cottage is pleasantly situated in a secluded position on the outskirts of Colwall, two miles west of the Malvern Hills, with panoramic views towards the Worcester Beacon and Hereford Beacon (British Camp) and Westwards towards Herefordshire.It offers comfortable accommodation, tastefuly decorated, to provide a home from home friendly atmosphere.Public footpaths pass within 100metres of Marl Cottage giving access to several different walks in and around Colwall and the Malvern Hills. Conveniently situated for Malvern, Ledbury, Eastnor and the Three Counties ShowgroundFast train service to Hereford, Worcester , Birmingham and London Paddington. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing