We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great break”
Review of The Old Croque

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Old Croque
Ranked #9 of 30 Great Malvern B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We really enjoyed our three days in Malvern at the Old Croque. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel very welcome by Ruth and Ian, almost like a family member. Tea and cake awaited in the lounge with a beautiful view of the area. The accommodation was very spacious and comfortable and beautifully clean. We had three separate bedrooms and all slept extremely well. We really enjoyed coming back every afternoon to the lounge with the lit fire. The breakfast was a daily feast, from the fruit salad to the porridge to the very tasty "made from all local produce" cooked breakfast. We were so full we didn't need to eat a lunch any of the three days we stayed at the Old Croque!! If you are planning to visit the Malverns, I strongly recommend you stay here.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheShenfielders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOldCroque, Owner at The Old Croque, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

3 different generations to look after, it was an absolute pleasure.Also to see the girls all curled up in their pjs in the sitting room in front of the fire blazing, made me think, yes home from home! I do take pride in my breakfasts, no one has been disappointed yet!! Thank you for your lovely comments, I do have a lovely lovely job!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (175)
There are newer reviews for The Old Croque
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 175 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2012

The Old Croque is the ideal B & B for the antiques and cattle fairs at the Malvern showground (only 5 minutes drive away). Ruth was the perfect hostess and welcomed us with afternoon tea and homemade cake in the lounge which has stunning views over the countryside. The two rooms we were in were excellent - large, clean, comfortable and warm. My mum and I had a separate bathroom over the landing which was ours alone ... and huge! Breakfast was everything you could wish for and more, with Ruth proud of her locally sourced produce. Simply the perfect place to stay if you are discovering Worcestershire or wanting to be first down to the antiques fair!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 78Heaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOldCroque, Owner at The Old Croque, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Glad you enjoyed it, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

When my wife and I joined our friends in staying at the 'Old Croque', we had high expectations having read several reviews from previous guests. But even the best of these did not prepare us fully for the experience we had. The views from the lounge windows are stunning; the breakfasts could not be bettered, even coping superbly with some unusual dietary requirements of one of our group, but most of all, Ruth managed to anticipate every requirement we had and everything ran so smoothly!

Her advice on where to eat and where to visit was spot-on, and it was clear that she had been to all of these places personally and was not just quoting from guidebooks.

Our short break left us feeling as if we had had a really relaxing and enjoyable holiday.

Prof. B J Gorham

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOldCroque, Owner at The Old Croque, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

5 nights of joy, you certainly explored the area well, it was such a pleasure having you around, thank you for staying with me.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Karen and I needed a bit of R'n'R after an intense few weeks but we were unprepared for the welcome and the hospitality we received from Ruth on our arrival. The room was fantastic and we immediately felt at home there. Malvern and Ledbury were a delight, coupled with the marvellous weather.
We will have no hesitation in recommending The Old Croque. Thanks are due to Ruth and Ian for allowing us to share their home even for so short a time, we wish it could have been longer.
Dave and Karen Pike

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOldCroque, Owner at The Old Croque, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

It was a pleasure having you stay so glad you enjoyed as I know a rest is just what you both needed. Might see you in New Zealand one day when I can pursuade Ian to go out there!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

The title says it all! Ruth is a bubbling, welcoming host who immediately makes you feel at home. Don't be put off by the Petrol Filling Station opposite - it is no problem and the view from the sitting room at the rear, more than makes up for it.
We stayed 6 days and would have liked longer. Superb breakfasts with locally sourced food and very comfortable room. We hope to visit again.

L & D - Hayling Island, Hampshire

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derek D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOldCroque, Owner at The Old Croque, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Thank you Derek, you were certainly an Extraordinaire, thats why we got on so well! 6 days and still wanting to stay longer, amazing! Well I definitely miss you both and hope to see you again one day! Oh and thank you for the gift absolutely lovely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

My son and I stayed at the Old Croque for 6 nights at the end of August . Usually when you stay at a place for that length of time, you see what is all wrong, especially being a trained hotel manager myself. At the Old Croque it was the opposite. The longer we stayed the less we ever wanted to leave. It was a true home away from home and we so enjoyed the wonderful company of Ruth and her family and had a super room with amazing views. The house is huge and nothing is too much effort for Ruth. She has great recommendations for local restaurants and shops in the area. Ruth helped us with everything and was a delight to chat to. The raving reviews this place has had are completely justified. Don't skip breakfast - home baked bread, locally sources products etc make for quite an experience! Will never stay anywhere else in Malvern.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
Thank sartz71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOldCroque, Owner at The Old Croque, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2012

Thank you for all those lovely comments, 6 nights, they went so quickly, you were such lovely guests and the coffee from your own plantation in Tanzania was such a wonderful gift. Thank you. I very much look forward to seeing you and your family again and spoiling you rotten.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

What can we say, another wonderful stay with Ruth & Ian. It started with a forever smiling Ruth greeting us and the usual Tea & coffee/walnut cake in the lovely sitting room with amazing views. Nothing was too much trouble--not only did Ruth advise on where to have dinner, but she booked it-took us there & Ian collected us after. This was so appreciated which meant we could both partake in the odd glass or two! The breakfast, the bedroom and the welcom make staying at The old Croque memorable-hence our repeated visits there. We look forward to our next visit, it is like staying with old friends . David & Jackie, Sheffield England

Room Tip: We always stay in the yellow room, but all the rooms are spacious and well appointed
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JMB80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOldCroque, Owner at The Old Croque, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2012

Well Jackie you have stayed so many times you have become our friends, I am so glad the Internation TR Show came to Malvern, see you in two years as I think in Harrogate next year mores the pity, it is such a pleasure looking after you both the 3 nights go so quickly!! Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Malvern
0.4 mi away
The Cottage in the Wood
The Cottage in the Wood
#1 of 1 in Malvern Wells
952 reviews
1.1 mi away
Colwall Park - Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
2.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#5 of 10 in Great Malvern
1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Mount Pleasant Hotel
Mount Pleasant Hotel
#9 of 10 in Great Malvern
147 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Cotford Hotel and l'Amuse Bouche Restaurant
2.4 mi away
Cannara Bed and Breakfast
Cannara Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 30 in Great Malvern
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Croque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Croque

Address: 221 Wells Road | Malvern wells, Great Malvern WR14 4HF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Malvern Hills > Great Malvern
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Great Malvern
Price Range: $96 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Victorian Villa with magnificent views overlooking the Severn Valley. Within walking distance of the Three Counties Showground, Abbey College and a short drive away from the theatre, Qinetic, Malvern College, railway station and Malvern town centre. You are welcomed in one of our two guest sitting rooms with a nice cup of tea and homemade piece of cake, in winter the open fire will be blazing making your stay cozy and comfortable. All rooms have a welcome tray, hairdryer and toiletries. Our breakfast room has separate tables making it more intimate and personal. Walkers and Cyclists are very welcome, we have plenty of space to store bikes safely and drying rooms for clothes and boots. You can access the hills directly from here. There is a restaurant within walking distance and a pub within walking distance. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing