We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Great Malvern
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Poplar Cottage Guest Accommodation
Ranked #8 of 34 Great Malvern B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

A very clean B&B run by a lovely couple, this was more akin to staying with your favourite aunt and uncle than in a guest house. We were collected from the station and dropped into town on both mornings.
The breakfast was good and gave us the energy to go walking around the hills (that were covered in mist). Very comfy beds and great selection of tea/coffee etc in the rooms. Everything was clean.
The best thing about the place is definitely the owners.
Stay here if you want to be made feel welcome.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    2
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
65
11
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

A beautifully clean and comfortable stay in a extremely well cared for property. Lynn & John were fantastically accommodating hosts who really could not have been more helpful. Our family bedroom was very well appointed - we had extremely comfortable beds, a flatscreen TV, plenty of storage, a stocked fridge, a selection of tea/coffee/treats/fresh fruit, torches and very sweet smelling toiletries - they really did think of everything! Plus they treated our 2 year old son and puppy as if they were part of their own family.

It is crystal clear why Poplar Cottage gets such high reviews and especially for their top notch service and extremely tasty breakfast (lots of local fresh local produce and home made cereal/yoghurts/jam/break etc. etc.)

Excellent and peaceful rural location near to charming traditional pub (who served us all up a great meal in a relaxed environment).

Will definitely return on our next visit to the area.

Room Tip: We had a fantastic view of the Malvern Hills from the family room at the front of house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NK1_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

Lovely B&B with views of the Malvern Hills. Lynn and John were really helpful when some of our party could not arrive until nearly midnight. Lovely rooms with all creature comforts. Excellent breakfast with massive choice. We would strongly recommend Poplar Cottage.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penelope K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Lovely, well located cottage with views of Malvern Hills. Lynn and John are excellent hosts and really could not have done more for us. The breakfasts have won awards and you can see why, lots of choice, homemade breads, homemade yoghurt. All super delicious. Lovely clean rooms, very comfy beds. One of the best b&bs we've stayed in. Even the dog got the star treatment!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anna_kirki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHROPSHIRE
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed whilst dressing for black tie dinner for Burns Night locally. Upon arrival Lynn received us with a very warm welcome and showed us to our spacious and well decorated room which turned out to have all that we expected and then some! Breakfast was worth the wait (Rob ate two!) It was evident that care and thought about the small details had been put into the rooms by Lynn and John leaving us with nothing to worry about during our stay - even down too providing torches for our return walk home - thank you.

Gabi Chester

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GABI1980SHROPSHIRE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Poplar cottage last night and cannot fault it in anyway. John and Lyn couldn't have been any more hospitable. I work nearby and with the forecast for snow predicted decided to stay in the area rather than travel home to Bristol.My shift didn't finish until half past midnight but John allowed me to drop off my bag and collect the key on my way to work.
The hill view room is large and tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean. They provide all the usual tea and coffee making facilities with fresh milk in a mini fridge but in addition there are biscuits, sweets and a bowl of fresh fruit to tempt you.
You have a lovely shower room en suite which once again is spotlessly clean. The shower gel and shampoo are of good quality and they provide fluffy white bathrobes for your comfort.
We filled in our breakfast request form and left it out for John as we came in.
What a treat breakfast at Poplar cottage is. A huge array of cereals or fruit, croissants, homemade soda bread and toast. We opted for the cooked breakfast and were not disappointed. Cooked to perfection with locally sourced produce, John even went out in the snow to get streaky bacon when I requested crispy bacon. ( sorry John)
To top off this already perfect night away from home, John once again braved the snow and gave my husband a lift to Malvern link station so I could get a bit more sleep before my next shift starts.
I highly recommend Poplar Cottage and the hospitality provided by John and Lyn, I will most certainly be back.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank annadash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynette J, Owner at Poplar Cottage Guest Accommodation, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Thank you Anna & Greg for your kind words about Poplar Cottage, we hope that you got home safely after your stay with us and that we will see you both again sometime. Lyn & John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

I stayed at Poplars Cottage for 3 nights whilst walking in the nearby Malvern Hills. Lyn and John are the couple who run this excellent bed and breakfast. They were genuinely friendly and helpful with advice about local walking and getting around Malvern. The food is fantastic, the rooms warm and comfortable. I would thoroughly recommend this b&b to anyone walking in the local area. Thanks John for the lifts into Malvern. I will definitely be returning as this is the best b&b I have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harry_Bloggs56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Malvern
2.4 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 10 in Great Malvern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,102 reviews
4.8 mi away
Colwall Park - Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
4.3 mi away
The Cottage in the Wood
The Cottage in the Wood
#1 of 1 in Malvern Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Malvern Hotel
Premier Inn Malvern Hotel
#2 of 10 in Great Malvern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
2.2 mi away
Cannara Bed and Breakfast
Cannara Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 34 in Great Malvern
5.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Malvern
The Malvern
#4 of 10 in Great Malvern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poplar Cottage Guest Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poplar Cottage Guest Accommodation

Property: Poplar Cottage Guest Accommodation
Address: Poplar Cottage Worcester Road | Newland, Great Malvern WR13 5AY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Malvern Hills > Great Malvern
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Great Malvern
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
change Primary photo from ownerphoto edit ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing