We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eating at home is such good value”
Review of Anupam

Anupam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $39
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Established in 1987, Anupam is the oldest Indian restaurant in Malvern and a proud member of the Malvern community. Located in the heart of Great Malvern and a stone's throw from the theatre, makes it the perfect place to enjoy a meal with friends and family for all occasions.The first floor restaurant has succeeded for the past 24 years through reputation and recommendation of its' delicious food and exemplary service. We emphasise in producing Indian food of unrivaled quality using prime fresh ingredients to make a menu which has evolved over the years to produce what we believe caters to every taste. As well as new dishes, many signature Anupam dishes have been on the menu since the restaurant first opened in 1987! The knowledgable staff are more than happy to help you choose the right dish for you, the chef can even make a dish specific to your tastes. As for dessert, we are proud to say we produce the majority of our desserts on site. The Anupam also boasts a large wine list made by Robin Jones, which is regularly updated and at an extremely reasonable price. We also have a wide range of beers and soft drinks, including local drinks, "Hereforshire Pale Ale", "Stowford Press", "Clive's Farm juices" and of course Malvern's infamous spring water by "Holywell".The Anupam wishes to extend it's welcome to all those wishing to experience quality food and drink in an atmosphere that encourages them to simply enjoy.
malvern
Level Contributor
95 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Eating at home is such good value”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Its quite a nice place but has little of the subcontinent about it. The air conditioning made it cold , even on a warm night. First course was good. Main course for both of us was so ordinary that neither of us felt it worth finishing. My onions were burned so the whole taste was poor.

A curry can be regarded as a cheap night out but a main course at over £10 with rice or chapati as extra means a meal for two with a beer comes in at £45 . You can have a very nice main course and a glass of wine at a really nice restaurant for this. Or better still eat at home.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank spencer49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiser K, Manager at Anupam, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your meal at Anupam. You say that a curry is regarded as a “cheap night out”. I'm curious as to why you think it is cheaper to cook a curry than it is to cook a pizza or lamb chops with mash potato and root vegetables or any other dish at some of the excellent English restaurants in Malvern? We think they are good value too, more often than not, you have to pay for quality. In any one curry there can be up to 25 ingredients, many of which are exotic! Our prices are similar or less than most of the other top establishments in the area. Yes you can eat three courses at Indian restaurants at McDonald's prices, but does it ever make you wonder how it is possible to produce that and still make a profit? We use very high quality produce and we don't just say we do. The loyalty of our customers over the past 26 years is a testament to that. Prices of everything have escalated; gas, electricity, drinks, tablecloths, chicken, lamb, rice, fish, oil etc. We have absorbed the rise in our costs by keeping our food prices the same over the past few years to reduce the burden on our customers in the tough economic climate everyone is in. We have regular monthly customers from Cardiff, Bristol, Droitwich and Tewkesbury who still find us good value for money.

We are sorry you felt cold in the restaurant. Our thermostat on the air conditioning is at 21 degrees in the summer and 22 degrees in the winter. In the recent hot weather, everyone has been commenting on how nice it feels to come in from the heat.

This is our first “poor” review in two years. One which we feel is largely based on the misconception that Indian food goes hand in hand with a “cheap night out”.


Anupam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    463
    138
    40
    17
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tested by 2 sets of curry virgins!”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I have had the pleasure of eating at Anupam a few times now and each time it has been memorable. I have taken 2 parties there (one from the USA and another from Germany),
On both occasions, the carefully selected dishes were received extremely favourably by all, despite the fact that several had not tried this kind of food and had been scared off in the past due to tales of tongue numbing, eye watering, yes. you get it; fiery furnace coupled with Delhi Belly. What we all received was a feast of immaculately balanced flavours and textures served by knowledgeable and courteous staff. The Cobra was good too!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank g8120651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“What gem - one of the best Indian meals we've ever had!”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We were on holiday in Malvern for the weekend and found this restaurant on Tripadvisor. What a gem! One of the best Indian meals we've ever eaten. I had a delicious marinaded lamb - fantastic blend of spices, accompanied by tarka dhal and an interesting potato and coconut side dish. The naan was the lightest we've ever tasted. Also had a great house white - a light, dry Soave, perfect.
Along with excellent service and reasonable price, this made for a great meal out. We would travel from Wells to Malvern just for another taste of their delicious curry!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KJB69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best Indian restaurant in England”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Delicious and unusual food, on a gourmet level. Very impressed, I wish I lived in Malvern :) this was our second visit as we come to malvern every year. Highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chrissie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“excellent food and service”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

whent on a sat evening with my husband we visited malvern some years ago and ate here then and remembered how good it was.
it didn't disapoint this time either. we had an exceptional Indian meal. many dishes we hadn't seen before so we both tried something new. it was very busy in the restaurant and take away so the dishes were slower than usual in coming out but we didn't mind this it allowed for space between courses.
all in all a great meal and night out.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank easygal30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anupam also viewed

Great Malvern, Malvern Hills
Great Malvern, Malvern Hills
 
Great Malvern, Malvern Hills
Great Malvern, Malvern Hills
 

Been to Anupam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing