We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First impressions don't do this justice”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Malvern

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Malvern
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Great Malvern
Certificate of Excellence
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“First impressions don't do this justice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

My husband booked a 1 night spa break for us at The Malvern Spa as a relaxing treat after managing to persuade our parents to have our children for the weekend! First impressions I have to say were not the greatest. Set to the back of a retail and business park was not my idea of tranquil settings, however, upon entering reception,which was immaculately clean and well presented, my initial fears soon went away. Reception staff were polite and very helpful in explaining to us where to find all the facilities and our room for the night, which was lovely! It was very clean, beautifully and tastefully decorated and we liked the option of having a choice of pillows to ensure a pleasant nights sleep. Nice touch!
We had decided not to book any treatments as we felt the facilities would be more than adequately relaxing and we were right. The outdoor pool was great with all the different heated jacuzzi/whirlpool areas, indoor heated pool was lovely and we enjoyed the various steam rooms, salt rooms and saunas that were available.
We had booked for an evening meal at the restaurant but upon seating and looking at the menu we realised that the choices were somewhat limited, although what was on offer sounded lovely Id like to add but not to our more simple tastes -certainly no reflection on the menu or the chef as we saw some dishes being brought out that looked and smelt fab, just not for us. We did look at the lunchtime menu but decided to leave and eat elsewhere. The staff were very helpful and did offer us choices so can not fault them at all.
After a good nights sleep, we ventured down to breakfast and were more than pleased with the selections on offer. Fresh juices, fruits and yoghurts, alongside cereals, croissants, pastries and toast. Then a wide selection of cooked breakfasts from the traditional to smoked salmon and scrambled eggs and porridge. We left feeling more than satisfied, to rest for a little while before grabbing our last hour or so using the facilities before leaving for home. As we didn't eat the night before we were refunded £50 which was a nice touch and although we had to wait a while to check out, the staff were pleasant, polite and apologetic for our wait.
I'd recommend The Malvern and would return again, maybe with the girls this time and sample the treatments on offer! Definitely don't be put off by the location or look of the place, once inside you would never know it wasn't situated at the foot of the Malverns!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MalvernMalvern, Manager at The Malvern, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Hi Dawn

Thank you for your lovely review.

It is clear you both had a fabulous time and I am so pleased you experienced not only all of our lovely facilities but the great customer service upon which we pride ourselves.

Please do book in again with 'the girls' when I am sure you will have an equally great stay.

Lynsey Kettlewell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

945 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    457
    304
    113
    50
    21
See reviews for
113
437
40
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Towcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

Great Spa hotel with a great Spa with an indoor and outdoor pool which are connected and feature 7 different types of whirlpool/jacuzzi. There is various tykes of saunas, salt rooms, steam rooms, showers and a large gym.
The restaurant is of a high standard and breakfast is freshly cooked and not of a buffet style.
Overall a good experience unfortunately let down by the lack of soundproofing between the floors. There are only 2 floors of rooms and I was on the 1st floor, unfortunately the "herd of elephants " who seemed to go for a 4 mile walk every night and early each morning on the room above me spoilt an otherwise pleasant stay. This was not just an observation by me, my colleague in a seperate room also noticed the level of noise from " thump, thump thump" as people walked their rooms above.

Room Tip: Have a room on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnandMandy9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MalvernMalvern, Manager at The Malvern, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Hello

Thank you for your review and feedback.

I am delighted that overall you had a great stay with us and enjoyed using all of our facilities.

It is a shame you were disturbed by noise from guests on the floor above. This is not something we have had concerns about before but I can appreciate how frustrating this must have been. We will monitor this situation going forward.

I hope you will visit us again soon.

Lynsey Kettlewell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

I booked an overnight spa stay to celebrate my birthday with a friend.

The package included use of the facilities, dinner, bed and breakfast and one 60min treatment.

On arrival, the exterior of the building and the location surprised me for some reason, I wasn't expecting a business park but, once inside, the decor was beautiful and calming.

We checked in easily and were pleased with our room. Clean modern and comfortable, couldn't have asked for more.

The facilities were smaller than I'd imagined but lovely. The water is so warm and the outdoor pool was fab. I would love to go back in winter to feel the contrasting cool air.

My treatment was amazing. Really tailored to my needs and I didn't want it to end.

We ordered drinks while using the facilities which was easy as charged to the room so didn't need to bother with money.

Dinner was delicious. The a la carte menu was quite fancy and staff allowed us to choose off the brasserie menu as well. £25pp allowance was generous. We shared some of the tapas selection and then had Caesar salads with chicken. The salad was a little overdressed. The twice fried chunky chips and homemade ketchup were to die for!

Breakfast was generous too. There were cereals, juice, fruit, toast and pastries to choose from and then we ordered cooked breakfasts too.

Excellent time overall, well worth the money-will go again :)

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JennzB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MalvernMalvern, Manager at The Malvern, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Hi there

Thank you for your lovely review.

I am delighted you both had such a great stay with us and enjoyed all of our facilities. The outdoor pool is amazing in the winter months and I am sure you would have another wonderful experience with us.

I look forward to welcoming you to The Malvern again soon.

Lynsey Kettlewell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hereford
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014

From the outside the hotel is a disappointment, in the midst of a retail park the hotel looks more like a block of offices. There is building works/paving being carried out right in front of the hotel at present with railings all round. Not the best impression. The outside could be made more of, nice pots/plants etc.
When we entered the hotel we had a pleasant welcome. W
As part of our deal we had dinner included, as we were stopping for two nights we were asked what night we would like it and we stated the following the night. We were not told to book! Unfortunately when we turned up to dine the following eve there was not a table available and were offered a table until the waitress realised a table had been vacated so we were tols to sit and wait until the table was laid. The food was very good albeit expensive. Cheese board was huge. Plenty to share.
The spa was fabulous and so were the treatments. Very impressed. The hotel room was clean, modern and comfortable. Lovely weekend of doing nothing but relaxing. Would recommend to make more of the outside space including around the pool the front and outside dining area.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cspanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MalvernMalvern, Manager at The Malvern, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Thank you for your review and feedback.

I am delighted you had a lovely relaxing weekend with us and enjoyed all of our facilities including the restaurant and spa treatments.

It is most unusual for the reception team to not book you in for dinner, especially as they asked which day you preferred your meal. I am sorry for the inconvenience caused due to this.

I look forward to you visiting us again.

Lynsey Kettlewell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Bosworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
225 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

We had rooms 113 and 115, the views were not what you would call scenic over the building roof and onto the surrounding buildings. 115 had a bath with a shower over and 113 a walk in shower, so if you are bothered do request what you want when you book.

Coffees were good from the brassiere and we had a lovely lunch in there and spoilt for choice as to what to have. The staff were really helpful and offered to keep our bottle of prosecco for us in the fridge for later (that all vanished before dinner). The Malvern Club sandwiches were lovely!

Booked a table for dinner and based on our lunch experience were really looking forward to it, went down for a drink before dinner and had the choice of sitting in the grand salon, in a little seating area in the restaurant or in a little area outside. We chose outside as it was a lovely evening, sadly it was very small looked out over the car park onto industrial buildings what a shame.

The menu came and to be honest we were really disappointed, no starters appealed and we are normally starter fans over desert. We both struggled to find a main we liked the look of what we had was very nice but after the huge lunch options a big surprise. We saw other diners clearly thinking the same, one actually looked at the lunch menu as well before leaving and not eating...

We chose the cheese board for desert a choice of 5 out of 10 cheeses and they were all good, dinner was included up to £25pp so two courses fitted in that which worked well. The staff were just wonderful again nothing was too much trouble.

Slept well the beds were comfortable and there was a pillow menu - always a nice touch.

Have written a fuller review under the Spa entry

Room Tip: We had rooms 113 and 115, the views were not what you would call scenic over the building roof and o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma_N68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MalvernMalvern, Manager at The Malvern, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Hi Emma

Thank you for your review and feedback.

I am sorry you were disappointed with our restaurant as we receive many favourable comments about our menus.

It is good to hear you still had a great time though and we hope to see you again soon.
Lynsey Kettlewell General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

This is the second time that my daughter and I have stayed at the Malvern. We had such a relaxing pleasant stay, all the staff were friendly and were very willing to help with any requests.
Yes the Spa is on an estate but once in the building you could be anywhere as the interior is
very tastefully decorated. The bedrooms are very clean and furnished to a good standard.
We ate in the restaurant and the meal was excellent, we could not find fault with anything and
found our overnight stay with full use of the pool area plus an evening meal to be very good value. We looked at other spa s but could not get such good value for the price we paid.
We have promised ourselves at least one spa chill out each year, and we will definitely be coming back to the Malvern Spa.

Room Tip: We were in an even numbered room which was overlooking the car park ,this did not bother us as we d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MalvernMalvern, Manager at The Malvern, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Hello Joy

It is great to hear you and your daughter had such a relaxing stay with us and were able to enjoy all of our facilities including the restaurant.

We pride ourselves on offering fantastic service, wonderful facilities and ensuring everyone has a relaxing time- it is clear we achieved this on your stay and very much look forward to you both visiting us again soon.

Lynsey Kettlewell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

I found the weekend most pleasant, the room was nice , the food was very good and service good , The spa was excellent and treatment was of a high standard , the staff really were of a very high standard , in particular Sophie on reception and personal trainer Sam Johnstone could not have been more polite and helpful

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MalvernMalvern, Manager at The Malvern, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Hi Glenn

Thank you for your review with lovely feedback- I will ensure it is shared with Sophie and Sam.

I am delighted you had such an enjoyable stay and very much look forward to welcoming you back at The Malvern soon.

Lynsey Kettlewell, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Malvern
1.8 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 10 in Great Malvern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,099 reviews
2.9 mi away
Bank House Hotel, Spa & Golf, BW Premier Collection
4.1 mi away
Colwall Park - Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Cotford Hotel and l'Amuse Bouche Restaurant
1.8 mi away
Mount Pleasant Hotel
Mount Pleasant Hotel
#8 of 10 in Great Malvern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Malvern Hotel
Premier Inn Malvern Hotel
#2 of 10 in Great Malvern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Malvern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Malvern

Property: The Malvern
Address: Grovewood Road, Great Malvern WR14 1GD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Malvern Hills > Great Malvern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Great Malvern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Malvern 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Malvern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malvern Hotel Malvern

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing