We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“From start to finish we was just amazed. Perfection.”

L'amuse Bouche Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 102 Restaurants in Great Malvern
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: The restaurant has now been judged as Worcestershire's number One Dining Venue for 2016 and will represent the county in the All England Finals for Culinary Excellence . The restaurant in aimed primarily at classical dining with an emphasis towards locally sourced products where possible and then artistically composed within the menu by a professional team of chefs to offer a theatrical dining experience! Service is just as important as is the ambiance and attention is applied across the board to ensure that your experience of dining here is a pleasant one. The restaurant is set within the Gothic Victorian Cotford Hotel and has been recently refurbished to bring it up to date , yet retaining a quaint touch of the Victorian era. Having been awarded and maintained its 2nd AA rosette for culinary excellence in 2008 it has now developed an enviable reputation within the county for affordable quality and consistency.The future is to continue along the theme of sourcing and re-sourcing new and exciting dishes to make our customers smile.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Once we arrived to when we left everything was perfect. Once we arrived, We was offered a seat in the lounge for pre-dinner drinks and nibbles. The menu looked terrific. Me and my husband wanted one of everything. But once we finally made our minds up, we never regretted our decision. I went for the scallops and lamb shank. Which was gorgeous. The scallops was the right size and not to much for a starter. My husband had the tiger prawns and the beef. Which just melted in your mouth. (I had to try) everything was well presented and looked to good to eat. The staff was efficient, very polite and more then happy to help. We couldn't say no to dessert and we are glad we never. The Creme Brulee and Pear Mousse was just superb. We was debating having a cheese board for after, but sadly we was just to full. We had coffee and petit four in the lounge afterwards, which was the perfect ending to a brilliant night. We will definitely be back to try more of the menu. We won't wait for our anniversary next time though.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lhorrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cotfordhotel, Owner at L'amuse Bouche Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely comments. So glad you enjoyed your visit.
Kindest regards
Chris Barbara and Hector

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (344)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

275 - 279 of 344 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2013

I don’t like the way they try to manipulate TripAdvisor with notices saying publish on Trip if you enjoyed it, but talk to staff if you didn’t. Probably explains why they show at #3 in Malvern, which in my opinion is much too high.
Well I didn’t talk to staff, but I found the Sunday lunch to be poor value for money at £20 for 2 courses with limited choice and not particularly good beef & pork – they even had sausages & mash on the Sunday menu!!!
I think there are much better value restaurants nearby and ones that don’t push TripAdvisor down your throat.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Diana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cotfordhotel, Owner at L'amuse Bouche Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

What a shame you didn't enjoy your visit to our restaurant. As other guests and anyone viewing our menus will see, we go to great lengths to source the finest local and regional produce for our menus and then it is put together by a talented and dedicated team of chefs thus culminating in an extremely buoyant restaurant operation. Sundays are traditionally British by design , whereas the rest of the operation is of a French style origin .Tripadvisor comments are very much a personal area but in general , have encouraged the industry to move forward with constructive comments offered by guests , equally they are often seen as a reward in sorts to the staff for some of the lovely comments received.
On a final note, we are somewhat surprised by your comments and your choice to visit us in the first instance as your only good review on this site is for your local pub and their pizzas and tapas and all scripted on the same day that you wrote this report.
I am to assume that your report was written in good faith and not with a hidden agenda.
Our full attention at all times
Chris and Barbara Morgan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Took my fiancé here for a meal and was told by friends it wouldn't be forgettable!
They were right...
The restaurant is stunning and the food is exquisite.
We were both more than impressed and can not wait to return.
Must go and try as you will not be disappointed.

Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cotfordhotel, Owner at L'amuse Bouche Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Thank you for your lovely comments. Its always nice to know when someone has been recommended and that they were able to have a memorable and special experience.
Look forward to seeing you both again.
kindest regards
Chris and Barbara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This was the second time that we had visited the restaurant, and this time it was at the weekend. We were slightly worried that the service and ambience might not be as good as during the week but we need not have worried. The service was just as good - the staff are attentive but not intrusive, and the food was as good as we remembered. We would not hesitate to recommend this restaurant to anyone.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank John and Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cotfordhotel, Owner at L'amuse Bouche Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Thank you for your lovely comments and so glad you enjoyed your return visit.
kindest regards
Chris and Barbara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

We went here for my husbands birthday having chosen it based on reviews on here! It was a very lovely evening with friendly and attentive staff and excellent food. There were however a few small and maybe pedantic things which stop it getting a five star review in our opinion. Firstly on arrival we were given spicy nuts in the lounge area. These were lovely but tainted my palette a bit ahead of the delicate food to come. Maybe olives or something else more subtle in flavour would have been better. Next I was surprised that there was no champagnes or sparkling wines available by the glass nor did they seem to offer cocktails, which I would expect in a modern and up market hotel. When the amuse bouche arrived the waitress did not tell us anything about it and we had to play guess the flavour and ask afterwards! Finally a small mix up with the starter order possibly in the kitchen or possibly by the waiting staff meant only my starter arrived initially. When we queried where my husbands was they apologised and said it would be two minutes but did not offer to take mine away and re serve us together. I had to ask for that to happen. Overall a lovely evening at a very good price for the high quality of cooking. But small details took the edge off it achieving a perfect score!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LisaAndy79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cotfordhotel, Owner at L'amuse Bouche Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Thank you for your comments and observations and thank you for dining with us, sorry it wasn't the perfect evening. Just to cover your areas of critique, we offer nibbles to all on arrival , as we do an amuse bouche and it varies every day, so , sorry that it didnt appeal to you. When you initially ordered, only 1 starter was ordered , and that was very quickly rectified at the time.As for the bar, 1er Cru Champagne by 1/4 bottle was offered but you opted for the Prosecco.This option of your own bottle would always be better than a glass from a pre-opened bottle.As for cocktails , it is an area of discussion but yet to be implemented.
Hopefully this hasn't detered you from dining with us in the future.
regards
Chris and Barbara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'amuse Bouche Restaurant also viewed

Great Malvern, Malvern Hills
Great Malvern, Malvern Hills
 
Great Malvern, Malvern Hills
Ombersley, Worcestershire
 
Worcester, Worcestershire
Great Malvern, Malvern Hills
 

Been to L'amuse Bouche Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing