We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ladies Festival”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Wood Norton Hotel
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Evesham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 14, 2014

My husband and I have recently organised a Dinner Dance for a masonic lodge Ladies Festival at the Wood Norton. We booked it before The Orangery was built and we were not disappointed. Naomi the Events Coordinator was brilliant, the staff were superb, the food was scrumptious. The rooms were excellent - all in all a superb event. The views from this Hotel are of the River Avon looking down on the Vale of Evesham - excellent!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Hall - superb room but most of our guests stayed in Pear Tree Mews, equally as good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,071)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

786 - 792 of 1,071 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2014

A delightful, lovingly restored old house with an interesting history. Chic contemporary furnishings and fittings blend effortlessly with impressive original features to create a relaxing ambience. We stayed in the main building and our room (207) had fabulous views over the surrrounding countryside. Also nice to have such a generously proportioned bathroom.
Staff were welcoming and the general manager was on hand to tell us about the history and recent renovation of the building and gardens. There were a few minor teeething issues with the breakfast service in the dining room but these in no way detracted from my overall positive impression of the Wood Norton. The hotel is very well located for many of the local attractions including Cheltenham and Stratford upon Avon.

Room Tip: If you can, choose rooms in the main building on the upper floors with views over the surrounding co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buenasvacaciones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

The Wood Norton is a beautiful building with a lovely mix of traditional and contemporary decor, we liked the modern furnishings and art works in the bar and restaurant areas, they complimented the wood paneled rooms well.

We stayed two nights and had the cream tea on arrival, the gluten-free scones were the best I have tasted. The 5 course meal each evening was well presented and tasty, not large portions but we certainly weren't left hungry. The cooked breakfasts were freshly prepared and hot. Service in the restaurant was friendly and efficient, the staff took great pains with our dietary requirements.

The whole experience made an enjoyable and relaxing half term break. I would definitely recommend The Wood Norton to friends.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

we stayed for one night with the winter sparkling deal. Our room was in the pear tree mews,it was clean and comfortable.(we did find it extremely warm even with the radiators off and the window open)
The evening meal was very good and the service was excellent,we enjoyed after dinner tea and coffee in one of the lounges in front of a roaring fire.
All the staff we met were friendly,helpful and smartly dressed.
The hotel was an impressive building,with lovely wood panelled walls inside.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JFOSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We had a lovely night away at the Hotel with a deal for dinner/ B&B. We were upgraded to the Balcony room which was beautiful. The food, hospitality and atmosphere were great. All in all a very positive experience and would definitely go again.

Room Tip: The Balcony room had great views, huge bed with an on-suite with a walk in shower and roll top bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JNTB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We booked rooms at this hotel, for a reunion of friends, on a Dinner Bed & Breakfast package. We had rooms in the main building (top floor-2nd floor with a lot of stairs and corridors- there was however,a lift). The rooms were large (plenty of room for armchairs etc) and modern with King-sized beds and wonderfully comfortable quilts and pillows. The bathrooms were well planned and maintained. The room was very modern and minimalist in contrast to the sumptuous carving in the rest of the hotel. The public rooms also have an interesting contrast of the modern and the traditional- rather a surprise after the French Chateau feel of the architecture, both indoors and out.

The staff, who appear to be well trained and experienced with a mix of local and European accents, made the stay an enjoyable experience as they willingly and cheerfully did even more than was asked of them (not as common as you would think). Our package included a cream tea, and the ladies are still praising the lightness and quality of the homemade scones.

We had dinner in the restaurant although some guests were dining in the bar and lounge with a little less formality. The three course Dinner menu is a little under £40 a head and the meal is certainly an occasion. The service was, again, excellent and the food imaginative and well presented. One, relatively minor, criticism: several of our party had the Lamb, which carried a £7.50 supplement, and were shocked to find that the portion of, admittedly excellent, lamb fillet was the size of a small kidney; vegetables were extra! It is a shame because the dinner was, otherwise, excellent. The wine list is large and varied, including inexpensive house wines at £20 a bottle and bottles costing more than £100.

Breakfast the next morning was also a little disappointing. I think that the hotel had attendees at the next door BBC Conference Centre staying and we got down to the dining room to find it as noisy as parliament at Question time! My wife, not a cooked breakfast fan, was disappointed with the buffet. Fresh fruit was advertised, but the selection was limited to 2 oranges, 1 apple and 2 small bunches of grapes. No bowls of prepared fruit (melon, Oranges, Prunes, Grapefruit etc that are the normal fare in such establishments). In short, if one didn't want a cooked breakfast the alternative was scarce and unimaginative. On the positive side the cooked breakfast was served on hot plates (not as common as you would think) and composed of freshly cooked and (with the exception of my tough and fatty back bacon) quality ingredients; although they did forget my black pudding - quelle horreur!. The Breakfast Maitre'D kept his eye on things and the and the service was again good, but the cattle market atmosphere and poor buffet was a sad end to an, otherwise, excellent stay.

Room Tip: Our main building rooms were excellent value and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Devon_Laddo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Very very disappointing. After arriving weren't even offered our cream teas. We booked a table for 7.30 but our reservation had got lost so didn't eat until 9.30! The staff seemed stressed , unhappy and not at all organised. It took ages for our drinks to come after waiting for them to take our order. The food was very different and I think portion control was definitely adhered to. Breakfast was okay the only problem being as a group of four not one of us had the same full breakfast and again portion control we weren't allowed to help ourselves to sauces they had to be put on our plates for us! However, the young lady on reception could not have been anymore helpful and she actually smiled. I would suggest you look after her.

Room Tip: Don't waste your money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pennyjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Evesham
2.7 mi away
Evesham Hotel
Evesham Hotel
#1 of 11 in Evesham
606 reviews
7.1 mi away
Dumbleton Hall Hotel
Dumbleton Hall Hotel
#3 of 11 in Evesham
1,120 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Northwick Hotel
The Northwick Hotel
#5 of 11 in Evesham
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Best Western Salford Hall Hotel
7.7 mi away
The Fish Hotel
The Fish Hotel
#4 of 6 in Broadway
773 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pershore
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wood Norton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wood Norton Hotel

Address: Worcester Road, Evesham WR11 4YB, England (Formerly Wood Norton Hall Country House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Evesham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Evesham
Price Range: $116 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wood Norton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wood Norton Hotel & Restaurant , the former home to French Royalty, is a glorious Grade II listed, four star country house hotel. Set in its own grounds the hotel looks over the beautiful Vale of Evesham to the nearby Cotswold Hills.50 rooms and suites with beautiful public areas, large ornate gardens, and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Wood Norton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wood Norton Hall Country House Hotel And Restaurant
Wood Norton Hall Country Hotel
The Wood Norton Hotel Evesham, Worcestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing