We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wood Norton would go again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Wood Norton Hotel
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Evesham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 9, 2013

It was Mrs Ys birthday treat and we have been to Fishmore a couple of times, but that's gone off the boil now so I plumped for Wood Norton just outside Evesham which has recently been re-opened. And a check on google maps showed there was a decent 5 mile walk we could do in the afternoon to work up an appetite.
I emailed late in the week and negociated a decent rate for a Feature Hall Double DBB.
The entrance is impressive and strange with the roadside showing that it's shared land with the BBC and the Hotel is further up the hill, we parked in the customer car park which looked a bit scruffy but we put that down to on going improvements and signage was lacking for reception. we made our way down so steep steps and then admired the outside of a very grand looking building as we entered the double doors a small conceirge style desk was manned by a single person who was dealing with a wedding enquiry that gave us chance to look arround the ground floor and see if that was reception.
We were booked in efficiently and made our way up to room 104 up a lovely oak stair case, with oak paneling all round and the room was similar oak panelled roof and walls. With a fantastic view out over the lawn (in need of of some TLC) and the gardens that were prepared for winter and the river beyond. The bathroom was massive with a roll top bath (brownie points there for me) and a double shower, in fact it was probably as big as some bedrooms we've stayed in ! After a quick change of shoes it was out for a walk along the road and up a bridleway as dusk gave way to night we took a wrong turn and ended up at Tesco's a quick coffee and a taxi ride back and we were back at the hotel preparing for Dinner.
As Susan Y commented the lighting was 'atmospheric' and the plug for the table lamp was on the otherside of the room, even a visit from the porter couldn't solve that one. The heating as well was a little tempremental blowing quite hot or even with a minor adjustment cold air. Plus again backing up Susan Y - the plug socket for the hairdryer was no where near a mirror Mrs Y's observation the room had been fitted out by a man !
Pre Dinner we attempted to play snooker soon realising we had lost whatever skill we used to have but an attentive waiter noticed we were there and brought canapes and menus to us as we chased balls round the table. Then we went into the bar, a long stainless steel affair manned by a bar staff who was a bit rushed (forgot to give us a wine list) a couple of slurps of excellent bottled beer and a white wine and we were in the dining room.
Lemon Sole Risotto and Pork Belly starters were delicious followed by an excellently cooked piece of Beef and Lamb. With a bottle of Montepuliciano d'Abruzzo from France !? This was followed by Scotty's Trio and Cheeses. And another bottle of the Italian fruity number. The one bugbear - food quality, taste and service was great the meal was £35 per head but an extra £2 for belly pork, £4.50 for the beef, £3 for the lamb and £2.95 for the cheese. Yes we could have had Hake or poached Chicken for no supplement but why not make dinner £40 and be done with it ?
We retired to the bar for some people watching and attempt to finish the wine which ended up being slurped back in the bedroom. A good nights sleep saw us up and raring to have breakfast at 9.30, back in the dining room again with a choice of seats but no view on the tables left unless you wanted to be centre of attraction in the middle of the room. A good choice of juices, cereals and pastries was backed up by a delicious cooked full English (no black pudding) with freshly cooked scrambled eggs. Plenty of coffee and toast sated our appetites until tea time.
Would we go back - yes an enjoyable one night experience. Just not very much to do apart from sit and read or wander round the gardens. We did have a stroll round Evesham Sunday AM and it was sadly a town in decline a lot of shops to let with poundland and bargain booze doing a roaring trade.

Room Tip: Contact the hotel direct and get a deal on a room
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yorkie-EarlsdonRFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver C, General Manager at The Wood Norton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Thank you so much for yoiur review.
I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and as I hope is clear from other correspondants, we are working hard to address the issues you have raised, such as the lighting and power at the desk for hair dryer etc.
I hope we shall see you in Worcestershire again before too long!
Oliver Cooke
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,039)
There are newer reviews for The Wood Norton Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

999 - 1,005 of 1,039 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2013

Your hotel was the venue for my nephew's 21st birthday party,
Although I have some niggling complaints, I accept that this is a project in progress and I hope my criticisms will be viewed as constructive.
We stayed in room 106. A lovely room, but insufficient lighting. There was nowhere for me to use a hairdryer within reach of a mirror and makeup was difficult to put on because of the the subdued lighting in the bathroom. With the help of your excellent staff, I was able to use another room to dry my hair, but not an ideal situation. No biscuits on the tea tray....something expected in far less salubrious accommodation..No full length mirrors...a must for women and could be attached to the inside of the wardrobe taking into account the preservation of the magnificent wood panelling.
On a general note, reception is not clearly marked. The ladies toilets are not marked at all.
That said, your staff are amazing. Nothing was too much trouble. I would certainly stay again with the hope that all your teethng problems have been solved.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver C, Manager at The Wood Norton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Thank you so much for finding the time to review The Wood Norton.
As a team we thrive on feeback and I share it all with the entire team; as is probably clear from other correspontants on these pages, the items you mention are already on our radar, and now the the holidays are behind us, the lighting, signage and mirrors will al be sorted over the next few weeks.
I am pleased all the celebrations for your nephews 21st were well received.
All good wishes for 2013, and I hope we shall see you in Worcestershire again before too long.
Oliver Cooke
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We spent three nights at the Wood Norten, and celebrated the arrival of 2013 there too with a spectacular dinner and a fun-filled evening! The staff is absolutely terrifc, friendly and helpful, always making sure that we had all that we needed. The place itself is enchanting and beautifully restored. Thank you very much for a wonderful 3 days!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Federica T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver C, Manager at The Wood Norton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

What a lovely start to 2013!
Thank you so much for your kind words following yiour stay at The Wood Norton over New Year, I do share all feedback with the entire team, and they will be very happy reading all their hard work is reaping rewards.
We shall look forward to seeing you back at the hotel before too long.
With all good wishes for 2013
Oliver Cooke
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed for 1 night at The Wood Norton , we had booked a special rate through Great Little Breaks. The Hotel has just re opened after renovation & some things are still not finished, but we had a very enjoyable stay. Our room was very comfortable & very clean , everything is very new, the beds were very comfortable, only one complaint the room was very hot, even when all the radiators were turned off. We had a very good dinner, the dining room had a lovely relaxed atmosphere, the food was very good & the staff were very friendly. After dinner there are plenty of different small lounges to relax in with a drink. Overall a very good break & we would definitely return.

Room Tip: Pear tree mews rooms very quiet & spacious.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver C, Manager at The Wood Norton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Thank you so much for finding the time to review The Wood Norton.
I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and as you may realise from other correspondants we did have a problem with the heating in Pear Tree over New Year, thankfully that has now been rectified.
A very happy New NYear and we shall hope to see you back in Worcestershire before too long!
Oliver Cooke
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Spent New Year weekend here and were very impressed. the hotel has recently re-opened following a major refurbishment. Beautiful oak panelled public rooms, fabulous food and attentive staff. Just make sure that you open your room windows and turn down the radiators as the room can be extremely hot!! Which I suppose is better than freezing.

Room Tip: We stayed in Pear Tree Mews which is separate from the main building. I may be prudent, particularl...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank nathan41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver C, Manager at The Wood Norton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Thank you so much for your very kind review following your stay at The Wood Norton over New Year.
I am sorry your room was so hot; as you may have noticed from other contributants we did have an issue with the heating in Pear Tree over New Year, I am happy to say it has been rectified.
I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay, a very Happy New Year form all of us and we shall look forward to seeing you back in Worcestershire before too long.
With all good wishes,
Oliver Cooke
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We booked in new years eve for their New years eve gala and wow did they deliver ! 7 courses of beautifully cooked and presented food, tables decorated to a very high standard , 4 piece band providing the music and the wonderful staff that worked their socks off to make the occasion perfect - well done !
We stayed in the Pear Tree Mews, a few yards away from the main building, recently renovated to a very good standard, the bed was so wide you crossed a time - zone getting out the other side. The only slight niggle was the temperature in the room, too high and the radiators were not turned on.
The main part of the hotel has been beautifully and sympathetically restored to a very good standard, the gardens are still being created and will be stunning by the summer with wonderful views to be had.
The hotel is ideally situated to travel the short distance to Broadway, Bourton on the Water etc or Stratford upon Avon and Evesham. Try it, read about its interesting history and enjoy.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver C, Manager at The Wood Norton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Wow, what a start to the New Year!
Thank you so much for your extremly kind comments, and as I have said to other contributants, I share all feedback with my entire team - and it is ahuge boost to thier morale to know they are getting the recognition they deserve.
The glitch with our overheating rooms in Pear Tree has been fixed; I am sorry if it made for an uncomfortable night.
A Happy New Year from all of us at The Wood Norton, and we shall loook forward to seeing you back in Worcestershirere before too long.
With all good wishes,
Oliver Cooke
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We have just returned from an overnight stay at The Wood Norton Hotel, what an experience,
the staff were first class, room excellent even if a little warm and the food was fabulous.

We have stayed in many hotels and this was the best from start to finish, On New Years Eve it doesn't do to expect too much but what a night. our compliments to everyone involved, can't wait to come again.

Kind Regards Peter and Pat Pollard

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peter p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver C, Manager at The Wood Norton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind comments following your stay with us over the New Year.
I share all forms of feedback with my entire team, and after all their hard work over the holiday period I am sure they would join me in thanking your for taking the trouble to write.
A very Happy New Year from all of us at The Wood Norton, and we shall look forward to seeing you again before too long.
With all good wishes,
Oliver Cooke
General Manager
PS The issue of the overheating bedrooms has been rectified; I am sorry if it caused you discomfort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Evesham
2.7 mi away
Evesham Hotel
Evesham Hotel
#1 of 11 in Evesham
581 reviews
7.1 mi away
Dumbleton Hall Hotel
Dumbleton Hall Hotel
#3 of 11 in Evesham
1,096 reviews
9.6 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,030 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Northwick Hotel
The Northwick Hotel
#5 of 11 in Evesham
210 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#6 of 6 in Broadway
2,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wood Norton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wood Norton Hotel

Address: Worcester Road, Evesham WR11 4YB, England (Formerly Wood Norton Hall Country House Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Evesham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Evesham
Price Range: $140 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wood Norton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wood Norton Hotel & Restaurant , the former home to French Royalty, is a glorious Grade II listed, four star country house hotel. Set in its own grounds the hotel looks over the beautiful Vale of Evesham to the nearby Cotswold Hills.50 rooms and suites with beautiful public areas, large ornate gardens, and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Wood Norton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wood Norton Hall Country House Hotel And Restaurant
Wood Norton Hall Country Hotel
The Wood Norton Hotel Evesham, Worcestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing