We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Use it or lose it!”
Review of The Kings Arms

The Kings Arms
Ranked #27 of 96 Restaurants in Evesham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
99 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Use it or lose it!”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

I visited the Kings Arms yesterday and found something of a dying breed, namely a lovely English country pub.
Whilst only taking the chance to stop for a drink on this occasion, I am most definitely going to return to support the huge efforts of the current owners who are producing great food and drink. This is a dying part of the UK scene, and I urge all travellers to stop by and help us retain a wonderful part of our heritage.
The menu looks great with a big selection of sandwiches and wraps served with home cooked chips. There is a more extensive menu if you want to take something substantial.
Use it or lose it forever!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank leighb2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    18
    8
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alicante, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beef & Ale pie”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

My wife & I are visiting family in the area and popped into The Kings Arms, Cleeve Prior. I had the best ever Beef & Ale pie ever and my wife had fish & chips (what a whopped). We will be going back for certain. The place has plenty of atmosphere and the staff make you feel very welcome.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pete W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Kings Arms Cleeve Prior”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

My wife & I are on holiday from Spain and enjoyed a great meal on Saturday evening. The best ever Beef & Ale pie I have ever had, my wife had fish & chips (what a whopper).

Helpful?
1 Thank Pete W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salford Priors, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Poor Lunch - Saturday 10 August”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We popped in to have a light lunch on a sunny afternoon. The menu offered Cod wrapped in Salmon with salad and my husband chose the Chicken Burger also with salad and chips. The food arrived fairly quickly but was extremely dry and inedible. This was both the fish and the chicken. A freshly prepared dish was then offered but we declined as the same problem affected both dishes we did not trust the next ones that might arrive. Great shame and very disappointing as the venue is so close to home. This was exacerbated by the absence of an apology. Very poor in itself and particularly in comparison to other pubs offering food in the vicinity.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingsarmscleeveprior, Manager at The Kings Arms, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Ruth R

We are very sorry that you did not have an enjoyable experience at our place, please believe that this is not the normal. Sorry we never gave you the correct apology the young girl who weeks lunch times wishes she had got myself to see you before you left and that we did not the chance to correct the food for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Disappointing food”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We had Sunday lunch here. No chicken so all red meat. Hard Yorkshires, poor vegetables. Couldn't be described as good food standard. Nice staff but over stretched.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tiptop150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kings Arms also viewed

Evesham, Worcestershire
Evesham, Worcestershire
 
Evesham, Worcestershire
Evesham, Worcestershire
 
Evesham, Worcestershire
 

Been to The Kings Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing