We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely unique hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Evesham Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Evesham Hotel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Evesham
Certificate of Excellence
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Lovely unique hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

I feel I must have to write this review because this is one of the most unique hotels we have ever stayed in .
ROOMS : lovely and clean , lovely decor , white fluffy towels and all the little extras you would get in a 5 star hotel let alone a 3 star . Fully equipped with lots of teas , coffees , biscuits , shower caps ,soaps , shower gels etc .A room key with a difference .ours was mellors a full sized teddy named after one of lady chatterleys lovers
MEALS : well was very nicely presented and tasty . The dining room was beautiful and elegant and the full English breakfast the following morning was very filling . All the staff were lovely and waited on you hand and foot .
LOCATION : at the end of the road is the river however Evesham main town was about a 15 minute walk . Beautiful well maintained gardens . However the room was a little noisy due the the bar located within the north wick hotel having a live music event all day and night .
STAFF : all the staff were lovely and accommodating the lady on reception showed us up to our room and told us where the pool was if we wanted to use it costumes provided if you haven't packed your own .The manager does seem a bit wacky reminding me of fawlty towers but this shows his eccentricity in his hotel .please go in the public toilets there were fab
We had a lovely nights stay here . We would recommend and we would stay again . This hotel should be more than the AA 3 stars due to the little extras you get . Well done to the management ,the waiting staff the reception staff and the chef we will be back

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arnoldino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    133
    39
    18
    6
See reviews for
127
214
11
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
staffordshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

We came across this hotel as a late booking via booking.com The hotel is an experience it is themed through out and does appear very cluttered however you can see it is all thought out and not just Radom. The cleanliness of the whole hotel is exceptional which is an achievement and must take a lot of dedication and hard work to maintain. On saying this the dining room is very calm and tastefully decorated making eating at the hotel very pleasant although a little expensive on the drink side. We did have a small blip with one of our meals which had to be replaced however this was done with no fuss and very professional.
The child friendliness of the hotel is very tangible and we will endeavour at some point to go back with our granddaughter. The soul of the 'Evesham' is with out doubt it's owner who you will either like or dislike we liked him and found his personality a honed act that made our visit memorable. One last word The quest Toilets in bar lounge are a must to visit!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Tudor Room which was very comfortable and we viewed a family room that was perfect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bjillbailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

I've been meaning to write a review of a wonderful night's stay at the Evesham hotel,late last month.I and my wife had been very underwhelmed by a "chain type hotel" near Gloucester which was in a terrible location as regards actually finding it..... particularly in the dark!! The place was soul less and despite an expensive re-furbishment,it was sterile and a 4 star let down.Anyway we literally stumbled on the Evesham Hotel after taking a wrong turn whist taking an intended whistlestop look at this town.Now as we had felt unfulfilled by the previous 2 nights accomodation and still quite stressed by it all (despite the delights of visits to the Cotswolds beautiful locations) we decided to enquire as to whether they had a spare room for an extra nights stay.We made the call and we fell lucky,the lady on reception was lovely and friendly...she looked us up and down then announced that she was going to put us in the "safari room"!!,..then proceeded to hand us our door key attached to an ample sized,one eyed teddy bear named Esmerelda ! She then personally showed us to this themed room as we passed an array of teddies and family friendly toys ,books and pictures,not to mention a drinks cabinet with an amazing collection of spirits.The room was delightful and appealed to my own sense of both humour and eccentricity. It had been lovingly designed by the descendants of a soldier who had fought in the "Boar War" and was a lovely tribute to somebody special.Above all the character and curio's,was an immaculate bedroom and bathroom that was a credit to owners and staff with a "good heart". We received a light knock on the door within a few minutes from the receptionist with a fresh carton of "proper milk" to deposit in the discreetly positioned silent refridgerator in order that we could enjoy a proper "brew".The selection of coffee,tea,Cadburys hot chocolate even extended to Columbian coffee beans and a perculator.Little touches that mean so much and are most often ignored.After a fiasco trying to get a table at a local restaurant which i have also reviewed,we rang to see if the hotel could squeeze us in for our evening meal...not a problem and what a fantastic ,fine dining experience in a tasteful and classically appointed dining room.The evening was rounded off by coffee and liquers in the superb gardens and grounds of this wonderful old place and after a great nights sleep, breakfast which was served fresh and piping hot was faultless.... as was everything and everybody at the Evesham..People who make derogatory remarks about places of such character and old style traditional fare with great British tradition are the losers. Hopefully both me and my wife will be back time and again to this children friendly haven......Afterall,we were all children once and some of us are gladly always going to be children at heart !!

Room Tip: The children and parents will love the themed rooms but the whole place was a delightful experience...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bescoby23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

It was my sons wedding on Saturday and a problem with the booked hotel meant we needed to find somewhere at short notice, the Evesham hotel reception staff could not have been more helpful they had five rooms available which is what we needed.

Eccentric at first a bit off putting but this has to be the best hotel I have stayed in, and I have stayed in some of the most amazing ones around the world. This one is right up there with them. We had the tropical room with fish tank below the sink, pictures of fish swimming on the walls around the bed and a ceiling hanging in blue waves above the bed. When I woke in the morning it was like I was scuba diving. Three of the other rooms were also themed Latin/roman, Alice in Wonderland, and Barcelona I will not spoil the surprise for these y will have to visit yourselves. But magic was one word that sprang to mind.

We ate in the restaurant for dinner and the food was brilliant and as already mentioned on other reviews the breakfast was very good and a huge range of cereal. The wine list well you need to ask for it! And see if you can lift them.

During dinner I suddenly realised I had been here before, the teddy bears had not appeared at that time, the main man was still John though, I also managed to work out how long ago it was, 28 years, I really do expect to be back but will not take another 28 years!

If you want a warm, eccentric, sometimes bizzaar welcome this hotel is for you, if not why denigh yourself one of life's experiences.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

First impressions are: teddy bear theme, cheesy humour; this place is so weird. MUCH more importantly the hoteliers have done everything possible to make your stay enjoyable. There are hundreds of books if you want to read, loads of board games, a decent beer, endless cereals at breakfast. The room was comfortable (but duvet next time please!) with lots of choice of tea, coffee, chocolate etc. Dinner had a great menu in a chandeliered dining room though it was a bit nouvelle cuisine with smallish portions for highish prices. Cooked breakfast was great and it was wonderful to watch the single working men, each sitting opposite the teddy bear to which their room keys were attached. Thoroughly enjoyed my one night there. They even have a swimming pool though I did not sample that.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire, England
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

If you want a homogenous, beige hotel like all the others then don't come here!
Firstly, the outside; you approach the hotel from the side and it's pretty unprepossessing, the paint is a bit grubby and there is very little to attract you but it improves once you are in the hotel car park. There is plenty of parking. The entrance is nice enough.( not sure about the dog kennel... Looks quite grubby, but it might be the start of the eccentricity) the reception was friendly and efficient. My husband went to the gents and came back smirking! The public loos have to be seen to be believed, they are an exotic fantasy of weirdness, but spotlessly clean like the rest of the hotel.
We ought to have realised that the hotel was an 'experience' when the receptionist handed us a teddy bear and informed us that he was our room key and was called Oswald, she then took us to our room and just before opening the door informed us that we had one of their themed rooms: a racing theme ( others includeTropical and Roman). The room was a bit of an onslaught to start with with horsey bedspread, curtains, occasional chairs and much to my amusement a saddle pad under the tv. There were horses heads on the bedpost which looked like racing jumps and the lower part of the wall had plaid wallpaper with fake racing rails on top. Sound hideous but was not, it was rather charming. The door from the ensuite was a stable door with a little door at the top, when you opened it there was a horse head behind it!
The theme continued into the bathroom which was immaculately clean, with fluffy towels and shampoo etc and a decent shower in the bath.
I noticed the swimming pool on the way to the room and was immediately told that the were costumes to borrow if I wanted one... Very hospitable.
The gardens are lovely and well maintained. We ordered a cappuccino to drink in the garden. It was indifferent in the extreme and at £3.80 a cup was extortionate...so don't bother
The public rooms are weird, there are books everywhere and it is presided over by a true eccentric who must bemuse, or at worst, offend his clientele. His humour is off the wall which we did not mind because we are used to strange banter. For instance; we went to Evesham for a walk and in our return were greeted with " please come in and spend lots of money!", when we explained that we wanted our room key he asked "who are you sleeping with tonight? The correct answer being "Oswald" not my husband which was my initial reply. Apparently, it is important to know the name of the person you are sleeping with!
We perused the menus and he asked if he was going to get any sense out of us at all! and later asked if we were still illiterate. There are weird notices everywhere which we thought were funny because you don't realise what is hidden until you stand and read them.
The hotel was full but was really quiet at night and the bed was lovely and comfortable.
The breakfast was a really good cooked breakfast on piping hot plates cooked and served individually, none of this kept warm rubbish in big warming trays or food swimming in grease which we have experienced before.
Our only criticism was the drinks prices, the coffee was a rip off and a large glass of wine was almost £7.
Would we go back? Absolutely, we really enjoyed the wackiness of the hotel. The staff have been there years, if the owners were not pleasant the staff turnover would be high and I think that tells you something.
Next time I'd like the Roman room......

Room Tip: Be brave. Ask for a themed room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicole46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

What a warm welcome when we arrived. The hotel is lovely. The lounge & bar areas are comfortable & relaxing. The room we had was large, clean & very comfortable. The fan in the room was great as it was a hot night. Our room overlooked the gardens which were beautiful. We had a walk round them after breakfast & it was very peaceful with plenty of places to sit & relax. The room had an iron & ironing board which was great as everything was creased when i took it out of my overnight bag. The breakfast room was light & airy & we had a seat in the window so were able to look out at the gardens while we ate our breakfast which was excellent with plenty of choice. The lady on reception was great, very friendly & helpful. Loads of teddy bears which were fun to look at. We didn't eat in the restaurant as we went out for the evening but we will certainly make a return visit when next visiting the area & try the restaurant as the menu looked lovely.
Thanks for helping to make our weekend an enjoyable one.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goaligo l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Evesham
2.7 mi away
The Wood Norton Hotel
The Wood Norton Hotel
#2 of 11 in Evesham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Evesham Hotel
5.1 mi away
Dumbleton Hall Hotel
Dumbleton Hall Hotel
#3 of 11 in Evesham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Northwick Hotel
The Northwick Hotel
#5 of 11 in Evesham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#5 of 6 in Broadway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,162 reviews
4.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Salford Hall Hotel
BEST WESTERN Salford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Abbots Salford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Evesham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evesham Hotel

Property: Evesham Hotel
Address: Coopers Lane | Off Waterside, Evesham WR11 1DA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Evesham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Evesham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Evesham Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small, privately run and friendly hotel in the picturesque market town of Evesham. We pride ourselves on offering guests excellent value and service in a relaxed and happy atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Evesham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Evesham Hotel Worcestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing