We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, quirky and most intriguing!”
Review of Evesham Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Evesham Hotel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Evesham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 2, 2013

The Evesham Hotel is a must, for anyone visiting this part of the country. The people here are the most friendly I have ever met. This hotel's owner is the main attraction I would say. Great character with a good sense of humour and very much like Basil Fawlty, completely harmless fun and should be taken so. Those without a sense of humour should go somewhere far more serious! The next attraction are the loo's followed by the hallways full of old teddies and toys. Despite the cluttered feel in some places it is immaculate everywhere and our room was delightful! We didn't get to see the themed rooms, but perhaps one day we will. The food was great and service was excellent.

Room Tip: Room 29, a double room, nice garden views, very comfortable and well stocked with tea, biscuits and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GaleSurrey_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (611)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

476 - 482 of 611 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2013

This hotel has an individuality that sets it apart. The setting is attractive, the service first class and the meals excellent. Our Easter Sunday lunch was thoroughly pleasant and meeting the owner added to the appeal of the day. A visit to the loo is an experience in itself! Recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben1008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

You know how Basil Fawlty keeps trying to be funny but ends up being rude, how he's just not made to be convivial... Well meet the owner of this hotel. Fortunately we'd read other reviews before we arrived (after we booked, unfortunately) so we were prepared for his rudeness (he thinks it's funny but my patience was certainly stretched with 'have you always been a cantankerous old bat' ha ha, where's your sense of humour...). As for the pink furry monkey he wears round his neck for dinner, or the Denis the Menace jumper, well I guess it must appeal to someone. Wacky with a capital W!

Apart from the eccentricity, the hotel itself is distinctly average. The best I have to say is that our room was spacious, clean and comfortable. Food & decor stuck in the 80s - I'm guessing the owner doesn't get out often. Even breakfast was just acceptable (don't offer kidneys if you don't know you need to core them!).

He makes a huge thing about the bar offer, but when I asked what they'd recommend for an aperitif - complete blank. Asked for an interesting alternative to bourbon for post-dinner, was recommended a bourbon. So like everything about this place, it's just to give it some 'novelty'.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fionawLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel from the 11th to 13th March 2013 and have thoroughly enjoyed my time here. The whole venue is rather cooky and full of games, teddy bears and wine lists !. The staff are extremely friendly and warm. I admire the fact that they are unashamed about bringing the child out in the adult clientele. Life is way too serious and this is just a slice of acceptable irreverence.

Keep it going and don't change. In this world of sterile hotels it is a relief to find the Briitish eccentricity thriving

Will come again

Steve from London

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve_G_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Whilst the hotel itself is situated in beautiful grounds, it is in dire need of renovation. The decor is very tired, stale smelling and in some areas scruffy (especially carpet area in self serving breakfast area, etc).
We found the 'quirky' teddy theme again scriffy, cluttered and extremely unhygienic. The thought of all the adults and children that would have handled the soft toys, & teddy key rings, & gobbed all over them (seeing as most young children put toys straight in their mouth) was quite disgusting, and made us glad that we had not brought our children to this hotel.
If the owners cleaned up their act & redecorated with new, tasteful decor (that this hotel deserves), undoubedly there is great future potential. However, until this happens we will not be returning!
It gives us no pleasure in posting a negative review, but the contents of this review are entirely truthful.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Red R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

What a fabulous place and the team are as individual as the rooms..and they are amazing:-) we had a wonderful stay at the Evesham hotel or as we call it Teddy Towers..the food was totally amazing and the wine list..phew!! This is my 2nd visit with my disabled employer and we will be back again soon, great big thank you to you all,and see you all again soon

Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Jamesypie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

I have never stayed anywhere quite like this.... I felt like I had stepped into an Enid Blyton novel and was waiting for someone to arrive with lashings of ginger beer or a tuck box.... From the moment we were greeted on arrival by John with a stuffed Denace the Menace round his neck, I knew we were in for something different. Please bring your sense of humour (the recent French guest obviously didn't!) My husband and I found this place hilarious. The service is excellent but the rooms are dated. The pool area is great and our 18 month old enjoyed it immensely. I would love to bring a five to nine year old as I think it would really capture their imagination. Don't come here looking for stylish luxury but do come here if you are looking for something truly unique and very special.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Evesham
2.7 mi away
The Wood Norton Hotel
The Wood Norton Hotel
#2 of 11 in Evesham
1,101 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Northwick Hotel
The Northwick Hotel
#5 of 11 in Evesham
227 reviews
5.1 mi away
Dumbleton Hall Hotel
Dumbleton Hall Hotel
#3 of 11 in Evesham
1,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,098 reviews
10 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,071 reviews
5 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#6 of 6 in Broadway
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Evesham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evesham Hotel

Address: Coopers Lane | Off Waterside, Evesham WR11 1DA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Evesham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Evesham
Price Range: $114 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Evesham Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small, privately run and friendly hotel in the picturesque market town of Evesham. We pride ourselves on offering guests excellent value and service in a relaxed and happy atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Evesham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Evesham Hotel Worcestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing