We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Possibly the best family-friendly hotel in Britain, with a distinctly Fawlty Towers-esque twist...”
Review of Evesham Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Evesham Hotel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Evesham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 1, 2012

This is an amazing hotel. Where else do you find a tropical fish tank under the bathroom sink, flippers and snorkel in a very nice pool area with table tennis and more, a working Sinclair c5, and owners who will happily lend you a car, if you are wanting to go out for dinner?

But the meals in house are amazing anyway, and breakfast has a selection of FIFTY brands of cereal!

There are trampolines and giant bowhead whale jawbones in the spacious grounds, and little touches like hand washing fluid in all bathrooms. Frankly, I think the place deserves a fourth AA star.

The one thing that niggled slightly was something about the free and otherwise good quality wifi, which meant you have to repeatedly click to accept its terms and conditions, every few hours. But I would think this is something the somewhat Fawlty Towers-esque owners John and his wife will fix when they read this, as it'd be a simple settings change, as they seem able to accommodate pretty much any request.

Basil Fawlty is perhaps a slightly unfair description of John, but the chances are some visitors may be put off by his sense of humour. Expect to be delicately insulted every time you see him, with a stuffed Dennis the Menace or monkey hanging round his neck.

But John manages to make up for it with an incredibly extensive wine list, with hundreds of different varietals. They were the even first people outside of the Chilean embassy, to bring Chilean wine to the UK's win lovers. Overall highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonnyf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (606)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

500 - 506 of 606 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2012

Stayed recently for work and was overwhelmed at how good this hotel is.
Rooms are great and spacious, I stayed in the Egyption room which was great,
The staff are very friendly and helpfull.
And as for the breakfast, well, words dont do it justice! AMAZING!

Room Tip: Try and stay in a themed room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobLeeDavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Just returned from a three day break and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We had the tropical room so could lie in the bath and watch the fish swimming around. Great food and excellent service. Staff are very friendly and efficient and always have time to chat. A previous reviewer said that he thought it bizarre that he couldn't use his mobile phone in the restaurant; we think it bizarre that anyone would think that is normal practice, it isn't, it's just downright rude and arrogant. If a call is really important then go outside and use your phone. And why would a middle aged woman want to film her husband eating breakfast using her Blackberry as happened yesterday morning (Sunday) in the restaurant? And while I'm moaning why is it middle aged and old men think it alright to wear faded jeans, T shirt and trainers in a restaurant on a Saturday evening. Whatever happened to manners and a sense of decorum; if the ladies can make an effort to look good why can't the men? In conclusion a brilliant hotel but I suppose some people might not appreciate John's sense of humour. If you want a good laugh and want to enjoy yourselves then go for it. If you want peace and quiet and are generally anti-social then it might not be for you.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cambrian31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

I stayed at the Evesham hotel many moons ago on a business trip and was unable to enjoy the many facilities it provided at the time. I was determined to return one day and have now done so. It is more than just a ‘base’ as the beautiful garden, swimming pool, bar and many distracting features and facilities should all be enjoyed like one would a holiday cottage. The breakfast provision were superb, staff were all friendly, helpful and accommodating. I think you may read the word ‘quirky’ in regard to this hotel. It is definitely different and in a good way and ‘quirky’ makes it sound strange rather than enjoyable and pleasant. Providing a fridge just to ensure that fresh milk is provided for the tea making facilities – quirky or that touch of added creature comforts? Feature rooms (I had the horsey room), the many books, games and facts of information all add to the experience and enjoyment. Do suspend your expectations from the Formica, formulaic and functioning facilities you may be used to and you will enjoy your stay but you will benefit more it you are on a holiday rather than just a business trip.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

This is a quirky hotel which gives a good feeling welcoming families, couples and singles. The toys in the corridor show a tolerance for the younger guests, the ban on mobile phones in public areas shows consideration for all and not those who think it is their right to use them wherever.
We have just been for husband's 70th after an absence of about 6 years and would still recommend it. Don't change a thing especially the wine list!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sheila P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

This is a very nice, well maintained and nicely appointed hotel. The room was spacious and very comfortable and all staff were friendly and very helpful. The hotel is a short walk from the town centre and has a large, free car park.
Breakfast was of a very high standard and there was plenty of choice.( I recommend the 'Evesham blend' coffee). The only criticism was that the service was rather slow as, initially, the restaurant was quite busy and there appeared to be only one person waiting tables.
Nevertheless, this did not detract from a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adam497
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed overnight on Saturday. The room was spacious and well equipped with everything you could need. The gardens were beautifully kept and the staff were all wonderful. The food in the restaurant was top quality, and the presentation couldn't be faulted
The only thing we were disappointed with was that John wasn't there (I suppose they need holidays too!!).......But we will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulieandWally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Evesham
2.7 mi away
The Wood Norton Hotel
The Wood Norton Hotel
#2 of 11 in Evesham
1,071 reviews
5.1 mi away
Dumbleton Hall Hotel
Dumbleton Hall Hotel
#3 of 11 in Evesham
1,120 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Northwick Hotel
The Northwick Hotel
#5 of 11 in Evesham
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
The Fish Hotel
The Fish Hotel
#4 of 6 in Broadway
773 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pershore
623 reviews
4.5 mi away
Best Western Salford Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Evesham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Evesham Hotel

Address: Coopers Lane | Off Waterside, Evesham WR11 1DA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Evesham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Evesham
Price Range: $112 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Evesham Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small, privately run and friendly hotel in the picturesque market town of Evesham. We pride ourselves on offering guests excellent value and service in a relaxed and happy atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Evesham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Evesham Hotel Worcestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing