We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Flacon Bar”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Northwick Hotel
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Evesham
Worcestershire
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“The Flacon Bar”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Every single time we go to the Flacon's Bar, the bar staff are out the back either having their dinner or having a ciggie. Why can't you put a bell on the bar? On Thursday this week we stood there again for more than 5 minutes, waiting for someone to come and serve us - there was a few people waiting by the time the bar staff came through, then both ales were off. We were give a shrug so we left again. Very poor service yet again - it was the first warm night for ages and the garden was busy. What is the point in spending all that money on refurbishing the hotel when the staff are not trained or the bar is not manned!! How is Evesham supposed to attract more trade when we are subjected to poor service.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VickyA7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    72
    43
    14
    14
See reviews for
28
95
15
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 1, 2013

I'm local to the area so have never stayed in the hotel. But the new bar is very nice and open, although it doesn't have the same atmosphere it once did. The place also seems to have new members of staff every other week, so making this a regular place to visit the staff you might get friendly with isnt an option. Also found that the guy who calls himself the GM is a bit full of himself sometimes.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank mikeyS77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

After a very nice welcome from the receptionist, I went to my room 14, large ish room very small bathroom. Bed clean and looked comfortable. The room itself was tired old carpet and decor and dreadful pictures on the wall.
The Restaurant was where the problems began, a charming young lady who first off all apologized as the chef was under pressure and the meal may take a while we agreed . As well as the chef being under pressure the waitress was on her own, trying to do table service drinks, the reception and take the orders and serve the food, we later found out that the Hotel was full that evening and the restaurant was also quite full, where by the waitress did her best it was very poor management to allow this to happen, as they knew the Hotel was busy and to let this young lady struggle all evening is very poor.
The food was mediocre and did not live up to the Menu.
The bed was very comfortable, the restaurant decor was some bodies idea of a joke, but then who ever designed it mustn't have a conscience.The flashing light of Elvis in the Restaurant was dreadful we went and turned it off it gives you an awful headache.
The staff at this Hotel are very good and hard working with nice smiles, But are let down by very poor management.

Room Tip: If you like a bathroom with a little space not 14
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

This is a 'quirky' hotel. A few things are different about it.
It is both modern and traditional, the decor is clean, fresh and nice to look at. We had a lovely room (number 9, the Avon suite) with a four poster bed, which was very comfortable to sleep on.
The bathroom was nice and roomy and clean with a great shower. We ate in the restuarant too... the food was very good here, and really nice staff and service, especially the young blonde guy in the restuarant.
I would gladly come here again, people here seem happy to see you, which is very welcoming. Well done Northwick.

Room Tip: number 9 was a lovely big room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neeka L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stayed at the Northwick Hotel for 2 nights 24th-26th April in rooms overlooking the river. The twin rooms which we had were very clean & of a good size, with ample supplies of tea & coffee. One of the bathrooms was a little pushed for space & didn't have a hand rail to enable you to get out of the bath easily, which my elderly mother commented on.
The full English breakfasts were delicious of a morning & there were several restaurants close by for evening meals.
We enjoyed our mid-week break at this hotel & would certainly return in the future. It made an ideal base for touring the Cotswolds.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heyjude2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

My wife, Lindsay Ann, and I have just returned from a short trip to Evesham. Not really knowing the area, we were keen to find a good hotel and searched the internet. We found the Northwick Hotel and a brief conversation with "Kate", their receptionist, led us to book for three nights. What a refreshingly different hotel it was, compared with the big chains. The Northwick Hotel was scrupulously clean in all areas, from reception to the bedroom and including the restaurant. All the staff were very friendly and helpful from the owner downwards. In particular, the General Manager, Richard, was very keen to give us whatever information and assistance we required. The food served was of a high quality and the only observation we would make is that they should vary the dinner menu more frequently, even on an alternating daily basis. There is a "on site" brasserie, but not everyone wants to access that even though it is just over the drive. We would highly recommend this hotel, which is very handily placed in Evesham.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brian_sellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed at The Northwick along with 2 friends to attend a reunion held in the function room. From our arrival through to several complicated room changes and all our many requests in between the staff were friendly, kind, smiling and accomadating. My room was large, bright and spotless with a walk in shower, bath, comfy beds and a view over the courtyard. Breakfast was very good and I would not hesitate to recommend the Northwick.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KellyGreenteam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Evesham
0.1 mi away
Evesham Hotel
Evesham Hotel
#1 of 11 in Evesham
546 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Wood Norton Hotel
The Wood Norton Hotel
#2 of 11 in Evesham
1,005 reviews
5.2 mi away
Dumbleton Hall Hotel
Dumbleton Hall Hotel
#3 of 11 in Evesham
1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pershore
593 reviews
4.4 mi away
Best Western Salford Hall Hotel
5.1 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#6 of 6 in Broadway
2,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Northwick Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Northwick Hotel

Property: The Northwick Hotel
Address: Waterside, Evesham WR11 1BT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Evesham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Evesham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Northwick Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HRS so you can book your The Northwick Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Northwick Hotel Evesham
Best Western Evesham
Evesham Best Western
The Northwick Hotel Evesham, Worcestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing