We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont even think about staying”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Evesham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riverside Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Evesham
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Rooms not very clean - seem to have an abundance of spiders and cobwebs. Rooms not finished off well - odd holes in wall, wiring on outside of wall. Tried to charge me more than quoted when booking - had to pay in advance (not a good sign). Public areas very shabby and dirty. Run by teenagers who dont have a clue. Evening meal foul with poor sevice - cook and waiter seemed to have stand up row in full earshot of guests. Loud music from bar/restaurant stopped me sleeping. Didn't even bother with breakfast.
Good location and views completely spoiled by poor management and service and grubby appearance. Could do with complete refurb and new management - until then avoid like the plague.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank FRreddy_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (327)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 327 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2013

Definitely worth a visit by Hotel and Health Inspector. Do not stay at this hotel. Run down, room dirty, floor filthy, toilet non functional - flushed by filling rubbish bin in room with water! Tea & coffee facilities for the room were outside the room near hotel entrance -filthy - area filthy, packets empty, old tea bags - days old not cleared away. Chef not available, for evening meal; apprentice walked out while preparing our desert. Sheeting on bed and pillow slips probably pre used and not changed. All tiles on bathroom floor cracked and not attached to flooring (move when walked on) - gaps with dirt between tiles. Cracked hand basin. Water temp in bath dangerously hot - no tempering valve. Beautiful setting with great view of river and river traffic, great sunset.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank ROSS F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed in this Hotel for one hour! it was filthy, disgusting, run by spotty teenagers with no training, stained mattresses and pillows with hairs thrown in! we were in the attic, had to walk stooped over, part of the room was used as storage, skirting boards full of dust and hairs, cobwebs everywhere. The whole hotel is a run down disgusting mess.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Jacqueline F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

...because if they waited until check out, you would simply refuse to pay the bill. Deeply disappointed by the hotel and the service, which I booked through another website which rates the place highly. Only wish I read the tripadvisor reviews first, because judging by the reviews on here and comments of other guests staying at the Riverside Hotel, our experience is the norm rather than the exception.
Booked a double room opening onto a patio with breakfast served in the room, so was quite confused when we were shown to a small, shabby room on the first floor. Bathroom was dirty, although there was plenty of hot water. The bed was very uncomfortable and the hotel was extremely noisy - so don't expect to get a good night's sleep. There were no glasses in the room so unable to even get a glass of water.
The breakfast was absolutely appalling. They did not have several items on their limited menu available and what they did have was poor quality. The 'full English' consisted of a mutilated egg, two cherry tomatoes, a small sausage and half a rasher of bacon. It was cold. As was the eggs benedict which turned out to be a single poached egg sandwiched in a muffin with a spoonful of cold hollandaise from a jar. We left most of our food...as did the 6 other guests eating breakfast that morning. None of us were asked if there were any problems, or is we were satisfied with our meal.
The car park, although free to use is very steep and slippery - do not try to walk on it in heels or if you are unsteady on your feet!
The entire hotel seems completely disorganised. The sad thing is that with stunning views and a reasonably large building, the Riverside Hotel has a lot of potential. Unfortunately, the reality is poor. I wouldn't stay here again and I wouldn't recommend it to anyone. Complete rip off - don't waste your money!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank 89minnie89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Don’t judge a book by its cover!


Idyllic location – shambolic service.

This hotel has enormous potential but has clearly known better days.

The situation is magnificent overlooking the River Avon. When we stayed the weather was glorious, an armada of ducks paraded past on the river, a lone swan flew downstream and the terrace looked inviting.

So much for the cover.

OK, maybe we got it at a particularly bad weekend but inside we experienced service so woeful it was (almost) comical.

The hotel had a record of one of our room bookings but not the other, even though we had received emailed confirmation from Laterooms. It took half-an-hour for this to get sorted out.

Our room, the penthouse, was excellent. Well, it wasn’t just a room, more a serviced apartment or in this case a not-very-serviced apartment: dining area, kitchen (a good self-catering option), two balconies plus outside seating area, all looking out over the river. Jacuzzi bath, shower.

However (and there were lots of howevers), there were no hangers for clothes, the rubbish bag in the kitchen had not been cleared since the previous occupants left, and there was no toilet paper in the bathroom. Astonishingly, the lack of toilet paper was widespread. The occupants of the other room we booked and at least one other set of guests reported the same problem.

The balcony furniture was rickety, the balcony rails badly needed painting and cobwebs festooned a chair on the outdoor seating area.

Service at breakfast was so bad it bordered on the farcical.

The staff were predominantly youngsters on work experience. Cooked food orders were taking not much less than an hour to be served, and then we were advised the kitchen had run out of bacon. No menus were visible, and there was no sign of jams, marmalades or preserves. A few large cereal packets and a couple of fruit juice pitchers stood on the central stand. That was it - All very incongruous amid the array of AA Rosette plates on the wall in a restaurant laid out with white linen (but tiny paper napkins).

The Riverside may again become one of the best places to stay and eat in this beautiful part of England once a lot of work has been done on its fabric and staffing (construction work outside indicated that plans are indeed in the offing). But I suggest that for the time being it’s better avoided if you want even half decent service to accompany the sumptuous scenery.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BaselinerGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Firstly i would like to point out that the hotels website was when it was managed properly. It has become run down and mis-managed. This could truly be a great hotel again. Rooms sub standards, cob webs, things broken like doors hinges and lights. No shower / bath / hand wash. Tea making facilities were missing over half what should have been there. No one to check us in and food was not as shown on the website. Very run down and sad to see what was a great hotel go bad. Please do not visit as it will not live up to the websites description and expectations. Fodd was very bad and looked rushed. Please look else where for your stay. You have been warned.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank K2729PFPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Had one night here with my two sisters. So disappointing to see a place with such potential fail so dismally. Shabby hotel and shabby service. We expected to be able to wander in the deer park - what deer park!! Looks as if the management don't really care as nothing has improved despite so many critical reviews. So many of the faults can be put right instantly - eg marmalade and butter provided with the toast, bowls with the cereal boxes, jugs of milk and juice replenished, enquiring if we were enjoying our meal, asking if we'd like coffee after our dinners, providing bedside lights to both sides of the double bed.
Being asked to pay on arrival, no room key available and a mix-up over rooms sent out warning signals that this is a failing business. How slack and thoughtless to have no-one on Reception in the morning when several guests, including us, were waiting to check out. We had to tell the young waiter what we owed (for an evening meal and a bottle of wine) as he had no idea and we even had to lend him a pen to write it all down, make up the cost of the wine and add it all up!!
And no tea/coffee facilities in the room (despite what it says on their website) until we asked for them. A safety hazard, we were told - so, electric cables snaking along the floor just inside our door are perfectly safe?!! There were tea/coffee facilities in the corridor, yes - but no cups and saucers!! It's a long time since I've seen a hotel bathroom without a shower. I could go on and on.. It's one place we definitely will never recommend. Oh and whoever heard of a 3star hotel with only enough gin for one g&t ?!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank margaret_bellwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Evesham
1.1 mi away
Evesham Hotel
Evesham Hotel
#1 of 11 in Evesham
605 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Northwick Hotel
The Northwick Hotel
#5 of 11 in Evesham
221 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Wood Norton Hotel
The Wood Norton Hotel
#2 of 11 in Evesham
1,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Dumbleton Hall Hotel
Dumbleton Hall Hotel
#3 of 11 in Evesham
1,120 reviews
13.4 mi away
The Southcrest Manor Hotel
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Evesham Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Offenham Road | The Parks, Evesham WR11 8DX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Evesham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Evesham
Price Range: $131 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverside Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Riverside Hotel And Restaurant
Riverside Hotel Evesham
Riverside Hotel & Restaurant Evesham, Worcestershire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing