We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite stay in the Cotswolds”
Review of Russell's

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Russell's
Ranked #7 of 29 Broadway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Russell's of Broadway bills itself as “a restaurant with rooms.” Indeed, it is, and in the most convenient fashion. The hotel/restaurant staff was attentive and friendly, our room was spacious and comfortable and the bathroom was perfect: large, modern and with a single faucet in the sink to mix the hot and cold prior to delivery (oddly infrequent in England!), just the way this fussy American woman likes it. Add to this a bar downstairs, tables outside to enjoy the sun, dinner if you like, close to other restaurants if you prefer, and an excellent breakfast. Oh, and Broadway is a charming village. Russell's was our favorite stay in our three week trip.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ojerio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (300)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 300 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2013

Me and my girlfriend stayed here for two nights (returned today, 15th Nov 13) and we really did enjoy ourselves.
We have stayed at some top places around the world and have eaten at very good michelin restaurants (Blancs, Ramseys, etc) and I was impressed with Russells.
Andrew (owner/manager) was great throughout our stay and I must mention the very nice Swedish lady who works there (sorry, I can't remember her name!) she was very nice.
Overall, our stay was very good, the rooms were spacious, well equipped, well furnished, clean and just what you need for a good stay in Broadway.
We ate in the restaurant on the first evening and the food was fantastic. The mackerel (three ways) was superb! Goats cheese was wonderful - Sea Bass for main was brill and the steak was okay, tasty, but it was described as aged but it did not seem it but maybe it was me?! But I'm not complaining! The chocolate fondant was perfect, hard on the outside and running in the middle!
It was very good food and worthy of a michelin star for sure. The atmosphere was vibrant and it was busy, a busy restaurant is always a good place to eat!
The staff were professional but most importantly, friendly.
My parents also eat here occasionally (last week most recently) and said the food was very good also.
Thanks to the Russell team for our nice break away from the kids and we will be staying here again in the future.

Richard

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richardwilliams88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

We booked Russells for a special dinner party for 11 of us. They gave us the small dinning room with seats 12 and we had the most amazing time.we all chose our foodfrom the main menu and we didn't need to pre book anything. This made it even better as non of us would know. What we fancy in advance. The food was cooked to perfection and the service could not be faulted. We did not realise the time and staggered out of the restaurant well after 1am. Nothing was rushed and this was a great venue and suited us well.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 190802Charlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We had Sunday lunch at Russell's to celebrate a family birthday and had a wonderful time. They were so accommodating with the 2 two-year olds and the food was delicious. Also no problem with us providing a cake for the occasion. Nothing was too much trouble, our waiter even handwashed the toddler's fork! We will be back!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

We felt like a weekend away - not for any reason other than we felt we deserved it ! Russell's was our reward to ourselves and it certainly hit the spot!
We were given a friendly welcome and helped with car parking. Our room was upstairs, just past the courtesy bar / lounge area which was a really nice touch. I guess if you visit with others it would make a good place to meet up/sit/drink.
Bedroom was comfortable, lovely bed and window seat looking over the main street. Bathroom was spotless and all to hand, towels, robes etc. Though to be honest, for me the best part was the underfloor heating in the bathroom - toasty!
Luckily I had pre-booked a table for dinner, the food was delicious, well cooked and presented. Friendly helpful service made for a delightful evening.
Breakfast the next morning was individually prepared, lovely fresh cooked eggs, tasty bacon and a huge mushroom. Yum.
I would recommend the following. Stay here. Book a table to eat. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Treetime4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

I stayed here for a girl's weekend and wasn't disappointed. Very friendly greeting on arrival. very happy with our room (number 3), plenty of room, nicely decorated. Nice bathroom with big fluffy towels and dressing gowns, good toiletries. My only quibble would be that the shower was above the bath and the ceiling very low, plus the temperature of the shower was quite variable.
I loved the honesty bar area outside the room, with very reasonable priced drinks, a nespresso machine and an ice machine
It is just a great spot to chill out. There is an onsite restaurant, which is excellent or there are plenty of other options in Broadway. I would advise booking a restaurant before you arrive, as even on a Saturday night at the end of September we struggled to get a table.
My only other small quibble would be breakfast. For the room rate of £195, I felt the breakfast could have been better. The buffet selection is quite poor and in particular the fruit, but the cooked options are excellent and the coffee top notch. Service can also be a bit hit and miss and is definitely disorganised.
However, my small grumbles wouldn't stop me choosing this as a relaxing venue for my next Cotswold getaway

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lisasplaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Russel's of Broadway is located on the High Street in Broadway, on the northern edge of the Cotswolds. It is a classically beautiful yellow-stone Cotswold's town and Russel's fits in perfectly.
There are only six rooms, three of which require walking outside of the building to access, but all are well-appointed with comfortable beds and luxurious bathrooms.
The food at the restaurant is exceptional and reasonably priced. The breakfasts are of the same standard.
Parking is easy; the staff is excellent; the location is perfect.

Room Tip: The windows of the two ground floor rooms open to a courtyard and passageway. Shades need to be kept...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chas58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadway
0.1 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#4 of 6 in Broadway
165 reviews
1.3 mi away
Buckland Manor
Buckland Manor
#2 of 6 in Broadway
492 reviews
0 mi away
The Broadway Hotel
The Broadway Hotel
#6 of 6 in Broadway
920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Dormy House Hotel
Dormy House Hotel
#3 of 6 in Broadway
1,485 reviews
3.6 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,117 reviews
0.1 mi away
Abbots Grange
Abbots Grange
#3 of 29 in Broadway
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Russell's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Russell's

Address: 20 High Street, Broadway WR12 7DT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Broadway
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Broadway
Price Range: $226 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Russell's 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Russell's, a restaurant with rooms, is situated in the centre of the beautiful village of Broadway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Russell's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Russell`s Hotel Broadway
Russells Hotel Broadway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing