We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go on give it a bash!!”

Russell's Fish & Chips
Ranked #5 of 38 Restaurants in Broadway
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $33
Cuisines: Seafood, Fast Food, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Welcome to Russell’s Fish & Chips. The Crew under the watchfull eye of the Fishy Skipper and the The Admiral of the Fleet have been busy dragging in the nets of fish from the deepest seas. We look forward to seeing lots of new faces and a warm welcome awaits you (and maybe a pirate or two!) We are located just off the main High Street in the centre of Broadway Village. We serve only the finest fish. You can eat in or take away, and we are open for Lunch and Dinner. Chips are twice cooked and all the fish is cooked to order. Gluten free batter and Gluten free breadcrumbed items are always available.
Broadway, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Go on give it a bash!!”
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Have eaten here a few times since it opened and have always been impressed with our meal. I've had cod and chips and also fish cakes and chips. Both delicious. Not greasy in the slightest. Yes it's more expensive than your regular fish and chip places but its well worth a visit. From the homemade tartar sauce to the yummy minty mushy peas, you must try it out! The fish cakes were huge and full of lovely poached salmon. The atmosphere and decor are lovely too. Your fish tea is served in a wooden tray on newspaper, which is a nice touch and adds to the atmosphere.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CBS1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    304
    108
    42
    29
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Disappointing”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Had takeaway haddock and chips. Generally below par - some bones in the fish, most of the chips had black bad bits, portion sizes weren't particularly good. Well below the standards of a typical fish and chip shop at higher prices.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paulellis6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Monday 29th April”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Drove into Broadway on our return to Derbyshire, after spending a lovely week-end in the Cotswolds. The Fish and Chips were the best we have ever tasted and the peas and tartare sauce mmmmmmmmmmmmm. A bit prices, yes - but worth it.
If I was a condemned woman I would request Russell's Fish and Chips as my last meal!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Buster22_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rustington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not the best fish and chips I've had”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We visited after reading good write-ups in the visitors book in the cottage where we were staying. The fish and chips didn't quite come up to expectations - the chips were hard and the mushy peas, although tasty, only amounted to a spoonful. Food was also served in a cardboard dish which is fine for a takeaway but if I'm sitting in a restaurant I expect china plates. However, the staff were very friendly, the restaurant was clean, bright and busy and I'm sure it wouldn't take much to up the rating.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Erica J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great meal”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Had whitebait followed by haddock and chips. Nice light batter, fish nicely cooked, good chips.
Clean place, good value, enjoyed the meal

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank oceanpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Russell's Fish & Chips also viewed

 
Broadway, Cotswolds
Broadway, Cotswolds
 

Been to Russell's Fish & Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing