We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dreadful!...am I missing something?!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Crown and Trumpet Inn
Ranked #9 of 30 Broadway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We researched the crown and trumpet as a place to stop for lunch after a walk around Broadway- we have a dog and a 11 month old, so finding a pub or restaurant that caters for both can be difficult! We arrived early afternoon into the main pub- a dismal space lacking any kind of atmosphere. Imagine an old man's pub with stained carpets, sticky tables, poor lighting and is in desperate need of some TLC! It was a real disappointment as the reviews are so positive- I still think we are missing something, but sadly the answer is no! A very bizarre arrangement of bar stools and tables in the main bar area resulted in there being no chance of manoeuvring our pushchair let alone us anywhere! The barman stood and watched us struggle- no greeting or offer of help..just frosty stares. We settled in the tacky, stained stools at the front and decided on some hot drinks- on requesting these drinks at the bar we were informed that hot drinks weren't to be sold until quarter to six in the evening- WHAT??! What kind of place has a hot drinks menu and decides to serve tea and hot chocolate at that a ridiculous time?!- I can only conclude that the kitchen staff owning the single brain cell responsible for switching on a kettle didn't start his shift until then. It was obvious we were not welcome in the bar and the barman had made his views very clear. After giving the place the benefit of the doubt we walked out feeling very angered and disappointed about the whole experience. As a family, we have NEVER experienced a service so frosty and unhelpful as this pub- the barman went out of his way to make us feel unwelcome. If you are visiting this area with children, do yourself a favour and go elsewhere- you really are not missing anything at this God awful place!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank lcs094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewBroadway, Owner at Crown and Trumpet Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

When investigating this it was not mentioned that when you came in it was very busy. You requested some hot drinks and my college (who is mentioned many times for his friendliness) asked if you would not mind waiting a short time as a fellow college was coming on duty earlier to help him. Your response to this reasonable request was then to be be offensive and malign my members of staff and also on this medium of trip advisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (486)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

234 - 240 of 486 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2013

Just had our first stay at the Crown and Trumpet. Very friendly welcome by both landlord and staff. Couldn't do enough for us. Spotlessly clean. Food and beer excellent. Planning our next trip already. Thank you very much for a lovely weekend. Paul and Jackie Gardner

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewBroadway, Owner at Crown and Trumpet Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Thank you Paul and Jackie all of are are so pleased that you so enjoyed your first stay with us. We will gladly help you when you next come to visit our wonderful area of The Cotswolds in the Spring

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

very friendly, clean pub. Food was excellent and the staff were wonderful. Really enjoyed our stay will be back. Wonderful entertainment saturday night and the beer was excellent to.
Broadway a nice place to stay

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewBroadway, Owner at Crown and Trumpet Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Thank you Johanne for taking the trouble and for your kind comments. Our winter beers and winter menu have been a great success and hope to welcome you both back later in the year

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Sorry, Andrew, for the delay in submitting a review for our stay in December. Needless to say it's a "thumbs up" again. This was our third stay at the Crown & Trumpet and was every much as good as the previous two. Broadway is a wonderful village and the same can be said about the Crown & Trumpet. The fact that we returned for a third time tells its own story. Very comfortable room with 19th century antique furnishings. Excellent breakfasts and a good selection of winter ales available at the bar. Never stayed here to be able to sample the summer ales so I guess that's an excuse to book a fourth visit. Thanks to Andrew and his team for welcoming us to their pub and ensuring that our stay was a satisfying and comfortable one. Until the next time...

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevenwendyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewBroadway, Owner at Crown and Trumpet Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Thank you Steve and Wendy for your very kind comments and I will certainly pass them on to the rest of the team. We are all also looking forward to welcoming you again to the Inn for the fourth time !!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

I have been coming to the Crown and Trumpet for many years. It is a lovely pub with superb atmosphere. They pride themselves in maintaining at least four real ales, sourced mainly from local, independent breweries. The ales are exceptionally well kept. I went in with my father last weekend and we had the homemade lasagne, it was well prepared and absolutely delicious. They have a good choice of dishes, all of which use locally sourced ingredients. The inn is very close to the centre of Broadway and is well worth exploring, you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nickciob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewBroadway, Owner at Crown and Trumpet Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind comments about our homemade dishes. Our Winter and Christmas beer range has been so well received. Hope to welcome you both back again to try our Spring Summer range.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed with Andrew and his wonderful team of staff at the Crown & Inn over the New Year break. After trawling the internet for literally hours (yes, I am very fussy!!) this seemed the ideal place for my Fiance and I to escape to for a very rare romantic break away.........a very traditional, quiet part of England that offered real log fires, a warm welcome, hot toddies, home cooked food & we weren't dissappointed! The New Years Eve evening was a real treat with beautiful home cooked (and sourced) food and everyone there had a real good time. It was definately a night to remember & a place we will return to again - a delight.
One negative however (although if this is pointed out beforehand it gives the customer the knowledge to know what to expect & will save any future disappointments/complaints) is that our room (room 6) had a locked door in the bathroon which we found out to our detriment, was the cleaning room of the whole pub. Usually in the summer we would be out & about exploring after breakfast but, given the rain of Dec (and fact this was our first break away without the kids in over a year) we decided to spend a 'romantic' rainy morning in our room after breakfast, but we were interrupted by the cleaners knocking & coming through our room with loads of washing, sheets, towels etc...and then putting the washing machines on (this was the room behind the door in our bathroom), so we ended up having to go out as we felt 'in the way' and didn't want to come between them & their work. If only a staircase could be built on the outside of the house to allow access for the cleaners via an additional external doorway, this would give guests in room 6 privacy much needed.
This however does not distract us from staying at this beautiful Inn again, Andrew was delightful, the staff friendly, attentive and helpful (the local cat so cute!!) and the warm, cosy, quaint atmosphere Andy has captured in adundance here! We would definately recommend this place, its a hidden gem in middle England & one not to be missed (but think twice before you book room 6 if you're wanting some 'romantic' time together.....)

Room Tip: Avoid room 6 if you are looking for a romantic break away with some 'TOGETHER' time after br...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Carol E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Our 2nd visit for a week-end lunch at this friendly, welcoming pub. Try the lovely home-made pies. A great place to sit and relax in and enjoy lunch. The staff really make an effort and provide a great service with a smile!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarneyBanbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewBroadway, Owner at Crown and Trumpet Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

We are all delighted that you and your family returned as we were able to make sure everything went very well. Thank you for your wonderful comments and I will certainly pass them on to our team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadway
0.1 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#6 of 6 in Broadway
62 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Fish Hotel
The Fish Hotel
#4 of 6 in Broadway
773 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Broadway Hotel
The Broadway Hotel
#5 of 6 in Broadway
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Dormy House Hotel
Dormy House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Broadway
1,434 reviews
3.7 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,077 reviews
7.5 mi away
White Hart Royal Hotel
White Hart Royal Hotel
#1 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crown and Trumpet Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown and Trumpet Inn

Address: 14 Church Street | Worcestershire, Broadway WR12 7AE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Broadway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Broadway
Price Range: $65 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just behind the village green of Broadway this traditional 17th-century inn, built in Cotswold stone, with four rooms for midweek and weekend breaks. Free wireless internet connection. Serving Lunch and Dinners all through the week using locally produced ingredients to make seasonally cooked homemade dishes actually cooked on the premises. Open Fire. Jazz and Blues nights. Just off the Cotswold Way, centrally located for touring Shakespeare's Country and the Cotswold and Malvern Hills. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Crown And Trumpet Hotel Broadway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing