We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good ”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Lygon Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Lygon Arms
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Broadway
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very good ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

I would start by saying that this is a very very good hotel the service is first class the room is first class and most of the food is first class the breakfast was fantastic and i can't fault the room it has a good car park and it also has a great sense of history especially the cromwell room. I heard you to visit that room if you have any sort of liking for history it is something special. Just a very small point and it is very small i don't think the pudding i had was very nice but do not let that detract you from the rest of the review as i would certainly recommend this to any discerning person wonderful

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dave44444444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LygonArms, Front Office Manager at The Lygon Arms, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Guest, Thankyou for your kind words it is always great to hear we are getting it right. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Regards Rebecca Peniket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,004
    625
    287
    158
    91
See reviews for
238
1,368
18
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (502)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

I recently went to the Lygon Arms for lunch and the food was fantastic. We all opted for the 3 course meal for £24.95 which was great value and each course exceeded the next. The staff were very attentive and the location was lovely!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sylvie f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LygonArms, Front Office Manager at The Lygon Arms, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your compliments, I will share your comments with the entire team and they will be delighted, it is always a pleasure to hear we are getting it right. Regards Rebecca Peniket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

Whilst we found the staff at the Lygon Arms to be universally friendly and accommodating if a little inexperienced in the restaurant. We spent two days of our mini-moon here and were treated to a free glass of champagne on arrival - it was a lovely gesture and much appreciated. The food was average, we ate in the Great Hall on our first night where we felt the service didn't match the standard we had experienced checking in and on our frequent trips to the bar. The spa was below average, how difficult is it to fix a steam room? Broadway is a beautiful town and perhaps the hotel has become a little assuming and dependent on town's beauty without focusing on differentiating through service and quality.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LygonArms, Front Office Manager at The Lygon Arms, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Guest, thank you for your comments I am sorry that you encountered problems in the Spa area I can assure you we are currently working very hard to get this right. I have shared your comments with the food and beverage team to ensure we get it right in future. Best Regards Rebecca Peniket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourport on Severn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

This hotel has always seemed to be something special over the years that I have seen it from the roadside. A wonderful looking 16th Century Manor Hotel. It certainly asks the price of the illusion that it creates - £314.95 for a double room with a 3 Course Meal - so when a deal from Amazon came up for £169 - although it was expensive to me - I took the opportunity for a special celebration for my wife and I.
The illusion ended when we reached our room (No 76), it was 'modern' and I've stayed in better maintained Travelodge bedrooms.
In the bathroom, the bath and basin had been re-coated and this was peeling off. The tiling finish was amateur and one large tile had a big chunk missing. The 'Caution - Hot Towel Rail' sign was hidden almost out of sight, the bathroom extractor fan didn't work.
In the bedroom the TV only had 2 ITV channels and a Racing channel (none other), the flexi bedside reading lamps didn't work - one had it's switch missing, the head of the other hung loose with its wires exposed. They both hung from the wall 'floppily'. The bed was good and comfortable but the other furniture was 'tired'. The ventilation was poor because the main window had a very restricted opening and the night (even at the beginning of April) was too stuffy.
All of these faults are unnecessary and easily remedied if the owners could be bothered.
On the plus side - all of the the staff that we encountered were wonderful. They were friendly and attentive. The food was excellent.
On balance, our deal would have been good value if the bedroom had been several centuries old and in keeping (I would not have expected it to be perfect then) - otherwise, even at £170, I think that the Lygon Arms is charging on the perception it gives and not the value.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LygonArms, Front Office Manager at The Lygon Arms, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Guest, Thankyou for taking the time to write this review, i am sorry the room you was allocated had so many issues. We do have an ongoing refurbishment program in the hotel however clearly this room needs immediate attention i will share your comments with the senior management team. In the meantime i am happy to discuss this with you further if you would like to. Thank you for your kind words regarding the food and staff in the hotel. Best Regards Rebecca Peniket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

We have just enjoyed an excellent 2 night stay at this renowned Broadway hotel. Our room was in the older part of the building and successfully combined a very large comfortable bedroom with an ultra modern superb bathroom. The many small public rooms were very comfortable, though because they were mostly out of sight of the hotel staff, we occasionally got the impression that we had been forgotten.

The lovely dining room was matched by high quality and interesting cuisine, and the service levels throughout were also very friendly and good.

WiFi was free, though it did not operate throughout the hotel, and certainly not in our room. The spa looked very good, though we did not use it on this occasion.

This is a top quality hotel, in a beautiful Cotswold village.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LygonArms, Front Office Manager at The Lygon Arms, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your compliments and feedback we appreciate it. I am pleased you enjoyed your recent visit with us. Regards Rebecca Peniket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manningtree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

We have just held our annual event here for 75 guests, over 3 days. I simply cannot fault the hotel. From the very first contact with the team, to the event itself, it was totally fantastic. Thank you!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank FlossyBlossom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LygonArms, Front Office Manager at The Lygon Arms, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your compliments, I will share your comments with the entire team and they will be delighted, it is always a pleasure to hear we are getting it right. We look forward to seeing you next year! Regards Rebecca Peniket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

The Lygon Arms is a wonderful old hotel built in Cotswold stone that must be 400 years old. It has lots of interesting features. It is located in the middle of Broadway a particularly beautiful village.

We had our wedding here in November 2013 and were delighted. The small Cromwell room was our reception/wedding room and catered up to 12. The food, wine, service and organisational support were excellent. Minor changes requested of the room were organised with no fuss. A bottle of complimentary champagne and chocolates was a nice touch really appreciated!

Breakfast was of a very good standard and served in a large striking room with curved vaulted ceiling. Not just buffet but proper service for cooked food requirements.

We had the honeymoon suite, four poster bed, massive bathroom and large lounge. We loved it.

Pictures of the Spa looked very impressive but we didn't have time.

We particularly liked Broadway when the tourists had gone home. There are many great places to eat and drink.

Highly recommended, (though I would choose to be in the old part of the hotel) and for those from say the US looking for a bit of history in England this would be a great choice.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank schnorb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LygonArms, Front Office Manager at The Lygon Arms, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Guest, Your wonderful review really captures the essence of what we all try to achieve at The Lygon Arms for our guests. We are all delighted to hear your lovely compliments. Congratulations on your recent marriage. Best Regards Rebecca Peniket
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadway
1.3 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
1.5 mi away
Dormy House Hotel
Dormy House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Broadway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,290 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Broadway Hotel
The Broadway Hotel
#4 of 6 in Broadway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,000 reviews
10.8 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,234 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Fish Hotel
The Fish Hotel
#3 of 6 in Broadway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lygon Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lygon Arms

Property: The Lygon Arms
Address: High Street, Broadway WR12 7DU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Broadway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Broadway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lygon Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine a hotel where roaring log-burning open fireplaces hint at its roots dating from the 1300's. Picture a Great Hall Restaurant with a vaulted ceiling and original wood panelling built in the seventeenth century. Visit a hotel that has been coloured by the characters of history. At The Lygon Arms, with its 78 rooms you can stay in the suite that King Charles I once stayed in the night before the Battles of Worcester in 1651. See the carvings of John Travis' name on the arch of the front door, etched into the hotel's history in 1620. An historic hotel in the heart of Broadway with a typically Cotswolds history. Dine in The Great Hall, Barringtons our typical all day dining brasserie or have lunch, a coffee or a Cotswold Gin and Tonic in one of our many lounges. A spa , swimming pool and The Lygon Gardens await you but most importantly the team look forward to welcoming you. . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotel.de, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lygon Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo The Lygon Arms Hotel Broadway
Barcelo Lygon Arms
Barcelo Hotel Lygon Arms
Lygon Arms Broadway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing