We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay - shame about the weather!”
Review of The Lygon Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Lygon Arms
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Broadway
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great stay - shame about the weather!”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We (2 adults, 2 4-year olds and a toddler) stayed at the Lygon arms last weeked. The rooms were next door to each other so we could close the outer door and the kids could run around.

The staff were excellent, very helpful - even letting us store the baby's milk in the staff friday behind reception. A slight shame that breakfast is served relatively late for a family full of early-risers, but other than that we had no complaints (apart from the storm outside!). Swimming pool facilities were excellent too.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank rlake2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,017
    635
    288
    160
    91
See reviews for
241
1,386
18
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (506)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
coventry
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

My wife and I booked a two day midweek break with Amazon Offers, paying £335 for a premium room. We had a lovely stay in a smallish room in the old part of the hotel, and would happily return.
I originally tried to upgrade my room with Puma Hotels, but they said nothing was available. I phoned the hotel direct and efficient Tomas at reception fixed me up immediately.
For a premium room we did think our room was a little compact, but we adapted and it was fine for two nights. I think the only advantage in the upgrade was bathrobes and bottled water! The bathroom was a good size with an excellent shower (in the bath). The washbasin plug was of the spring loaded type, which took us 24 hours to figure out, but that was our fault.
The hotel itself is fantastic and so unlike modern purpose built hotels. The bar/lounge area was made up of lots of little spaces with old beams and proper oil paintings on the walls. I liked particularly, on the first floor landing, the brass bell from HMS Broadway, with details of her wartime service.
Our deal gave us breakfast, dinner with wine, and a superb cream tea on our second day. All meals were lovely, with excellent service from the headwaiter and all waiting staff. Food helpings at dinner were not huge, but the food itself was tasty and well presented, and our complements to the chef.
The gardens behind the hotel were vast and well deserved a wander round. There are two spacious car parks also behind the hotel. The larger of the two had lots of muddy puddles after recent rains. I went to get my car before checking out and in gracefully leaping over a puddle, I slipped over. No harm was done, apart from to my dignity, but I had to scrape cotswold mud from my trousers with my car ice scraper. This has nothing whatsoever to do with the dear Lygon Arms. I am just after a spot of global sympathy via the good offices of Tripadvisor.

Room Tip: Room 27 was fine, in the original building. It overlooked a pretty inner courtyard. Probably on anot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marinerCoventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

We had an overnight stay which included a meal at Luke's (separate review) and was excellent value all in all. The service levels were very high throughout our stay from check in to the bar staff to breakfast and check out. It is always a worry with a chain that it will be lacking in individuality and charm however the Lygon Arms retains a certain level of its heritage with cosy little lounges, old school service and respect. Didn't have a meal there (except breakfast which was excellent) but saw dishes going passed in the lounge which looked very nice. We had an older room not part of the original building which was spacious, warm and inviting with a modern bathroom with good shower and heated towel rail - slept well, would definitely stay again

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank zoelucky1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxted, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Excellent facilities for both accommodation and restaurant - difficult to find any fault with the service provided. Would certainly stay at The Lygon Arms again and recommend it to family and friends.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We have just had an overnight stay here with a very good deal from Amazon ( bed, breakfast, 3course evening meal with a bottle of wine for £169). Broadway is a lovely village at the edge of the Cotswolds with a few lovely shops and galleries.
Our room was across a courtyard and of a good size with comfortable bed. There as a small patio area.
Dinner was good. The service was on the slow side which is ok if you eat earlier. We booked for 8.30 so it was gone 10.30 before we had coffee. All the food was of a high standard a d well presented.
The room overnight was very hot and being on the ground floor we did not want to leave the large window open.
Breakfast was a disappointment and very slow. I was offered sauce with my cooked breakfast which did not appear, neither did the second coffee pot. My husband's poached egg was hard and black pudding very ordinary.
The gym and swimming pool were very good for a hotel of this size.
All staff were very friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baker07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel with a friend and his parents - they don't live too far away from Broadway, and were very excited to stay at this place, which they had heard so much about.
I can honestly say, I don't think I have ever stayed in a hotel with more quirky charm. I don't think there is an even step or a straight wall in the whole place- we loved it! From the moment we arrived, staff were so warm and welcoming- as were other guests- the Lygon has such a lovely feel to it.
We ate out in the evening- there are lots of places to choose from locally and within very easy walking distance. Breakfast was excellent - a good choice of cold / continental options, then a hot menu selection cooked to order. The quality of food was fantastic, and staff managed the late breakfast rush with calm efficiency - not always the case in other places.
I can't wait to return to the Lygon, hopefully in the summer next time when the gardens will be in full bloom.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank princessbecs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

I booked (via a third party) a morning spa package. The immediate impression were that problems were afoot as on asking, it was confirmed the jacuzzi was out of action for a while awaiting an expensive part. We weren't advised of this on booking (I felt inclined to let that slide on the basis of third party booking). However we also weren't advised that the first two hours of serenity would be drowned out by children's swimming lessons. Noise levels of a public baths/crowd at early Beatles concert requiring us to shout to each other. Along with the broken jacuzzi and noise there were many other tell tale signs the owners are not keen to spend money on maintenance - plunge pool in gents out of order, missing operating controls on showers, flaking/scratched paint and rust on various items in the area. It looks unloved and I suggest the owners take a step back and look at at their offering from a customer environment viewpoint. The rather bizarre addition of a snooker table in the coffee lounge (coffee machine broke whilst using) so you sit around like Willie Thorn and Steve Davis could perhaps be reviewed. I'm no spa business expert but maybe look at how many spa users wish to combine a game of a snooker with their visit (feels a fairly niche market to me). I will say the treatments were good. But the lunch was a comedy of errors (one order lost), soup we had cold (we were late to be fair but a quick blast in the microwave and a stir maybe and we wouldn't have minded - it had clearly been on the side for a while without that thought). I had trouble understanding some of the staff although they were polite. Don't get me wrong, our deal was a cheapy and I didn't expect top end, and the treatment/lunch probably gave value ultimately; but I wouldn't have booked probably knowing all the problems to be honest. My tip to the owners - with a facility of great potential why not invest in making it great - you could then charge more, and given the location and hotel offering I'm sure this would work for you.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Diglis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadway
3.5 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,035 reviews
1.5 mi away
Dormy House Hotel
Dormy House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Broadway
1,350 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Broadway Hotel
The Broadway Hotel
#4 of 6 in Broadway
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Buckland Manor
Buckland Manor
#1 of 6 in Broadway
402 reviews
10.8 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
1,292 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Fish Hotel
The Fish Hotel
#3 of 6 in Broadway
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lygon Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lygon Arms

Property: The Lygon Arms
Address: High Street, Broadway WR12 7DU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Broadway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Broadway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lygon Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine a hotel where roaring log-burning open fireplaces hint at its roots dating from the 1300's. Picture a Great Hall Restaurant with a vaulted ceiling and original wood panelling built in the seventeenth century. Visit a hotel that has been coloured by the characters of history. At The Lygon Arms, with its 78 rooms you can stay in the suite that King Charles I once stayed in the night before the Battles of Worcester in 1651. See the carvings of John Travis' name on the arch of the front door, etched into the hotel's history in 1620. An historic hotel in the heart of Broadway with a typically Cotswolds history. Dine in The Great Hall, Barringtons our typical all day dining brasserie or have lunch, a coffee or a Cotswold Gin and Tonic in one of our many lounges. A spa , swimming pool and The Lygon Gardens await you but most importantly the team look forward to welcoming you. . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Lygon Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo The Lygon Arms Hotel Broadway
Barcelo Lygon Arms
Barcelo Hotel Lygon Arms
Lygon Arms Broadway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing