We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel”
Review of The Lygon Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Lygon Arms
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Broadway
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“lovely hotel”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

are first visit but not to be are last, go for the best for one night and you will not be disappointed.
not cheap but there is some deals to be had I called direct to hotel for mine.
service as it should be from the first step inside ,a quick tour to show us the bar area, dinning hall and pool area. bags taken to the room and spoilt the hole time we were there .breakfast again very good and service even better.

we had dinner nextdoor in lukes and again wow, three course and two drinks (crab, steak, eton mess) £75

for me the best hotel I have stayed in in the Cotswolds and we have tried a few. worth a note when checking out other hotels

jason

Room Tip: phone for a deal direct
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaymin2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,010
    628
    288
    158
    91
See reviews for
239
1,375
18
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (503)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

Booked for two night and what a great stay - yet again! This is 3rd stay. On arrival was meet by Colin. New General Manager his first day in-situ - having returned after 20 years of absence! Stayed in room 33 this is a must stay room. Loved it. Had dinner in Luke's restaurant with a colleague - unbelievable great british food with a twist! Going again on second night. Hotel staff very friendly. Wonderful value for money. Good luck to Colin in his new role.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Gr8DaneLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Hampshire UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

General Manager,
My wife and I just want to thank all concerned at the Lygon Arms for their help when things didn't go quite according to plan. Unfortunately I am disabled and have mobility problems but to make matters more complicated, on arrival I put my back out.The help and assistance I received from every member of your staff was very much appreciated and made our stay a memorable one in more ways than one! Such a superb building, helpful smiling staff, a very comfortable room, terrific restaurant with beautifully prepared food and a very attentive Head Waiter and cheerful service from well-trained staff made our stay a real pleasure. Thanks so much. Stuart and Sandra Marshall

Room Tip: There are superb disabled-adapted rooms and in the courtyard really nice rooms with easy access. Hel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mobile01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

The moment the Lygon Arms comes into view you know you're not going to be disappointed. It's the place to stay in Broadway.
It's history goes back a long way and boasts of a number of royalty having slept there. We booked this hotel because of its rich history but when we arrived they had 'upgraded' us to a modern room. I asked to be 'downgraded' back to one of the old rooms and the receptionist laughed and suggested we will be sleeping with the ghosts! The old room was delightful with a leaded window overlooking the Main Street. No ghosts. The restaurant is opulent and the food excellent. There are a number of very old lounges with enormous fireplaces with roaring fires. The spa is a lovely experience. The hotel is perfectly situated for exploring some of the most beautiful villages in the Cotswolds. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The original hotel is fascinating. Ask for a room in the old part.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lelb2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lygon12, General Manager at The Lygon Arms, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for your comments on your stay with us, I am pleased to hear you had an enjoyable experience here at the Lygon Arms.
We are truly privileged to work in such beautiful surroundings and welcome guests to this magnificent hotel and institution of the hospitality industry with over 400 years of service history.

Nigel Hadfield
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 13, 2013

I was treated to a weekend in this hotel by a friend and he described it as a beautiful hotel he has wanted to stay in for some time. He built it up to me on its reputation and was suitably looking forward. We arrived and first impression was beautiful,we were offered help with bags to our room after checking and to park the car for us. So impressed. However as we walked through the beautiful hotel my friends face fell as we seemed to walk into an extension that took us to a very different part of the hotel and eventually a room which was akin to a travel lodge room. It was comfortable and adequate but not what we thought we were staying in, My friend was talking about character but there was none. The bathroom was basic and the workmanship poor in there and i would say functional but scruffy finishing. There was an overhead shower that could not be avoided to use the hand held shower and no provided shower caps, and there were no dressing gowns. I noticed in an earlier review these were mentioned as included. I rang reception twice but there was no answer.

Breakfast on the first morning was nice but the service was poor but we dined in the evening and took breakfast the day after and the service was good, and the food is excellent.

The communal areas are charming and staff were nice too

Biggest disappointment was the lack of finishing touches and my friends disappointment in his quest to provide some stylish accommodation which he thought he had done but hadn't.

I actually think a business class wing has been added with conference rooms and business man acceptable rooms, which just aren't right for people booking a weekend break in a period and historic hotel. No more than travel lodge standard really and disappointingly no usually provided dressing gowns and shower caps, and reception never answering to rectify the situation

Very good food and mostly good service in a character filled restaurant and lovely communal seating areas were as expected thankfully.

I would advise that the room type is distinctly specified at the time of booking as we didn't feel delighted by ours.

Room Tip: ask if you will be in the annex section or in a period room .If they say the annex, revise your exp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lygon12, General Manager at The Lygon Arms, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for your comments on your stay with us, I am pleased to hear you had an enjoyable experience here at the Lygon Arms. We are truly privileged to work in such beautiful surroundings and welcome guests to this magnificent hotel and institution of the hospitality industry with over 400 years of service history.
Your comments on room allocation have been acknowledged and whilst we have a variety of different room types from standard guest rooms through to stunning suites we also allocate room preference based on requests recieved at the time of booking, with either traditional or contemporary style rooms available. The hotel also provides robes in all suites and premium rooms as well as offering on request to all our guests.

Nigel Hadfield
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinver, West Midlands, UK
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

As a party of nine booked into five rooms with evening meals and breakfast we had something of a mixed experience. For a start the somewhat over attentive porter was so keen to get us to our rooms that at least one bag ended up in the wrong room. Some of the rooms were gorgeous - but two of us ended up in a cramped room in the new wing, with a double bed wedged up against the wall on one side, and a tv without a remote control.
In the evening the restaurant was obviously busy, there was nowhere for the nine of us to sit together while we looked at menus and the waiter was keen to take the entire three course meal order in one go before we even sat at our table.
The complimentary smoked salmon mouse was an acquired taste, the rest of the food was excellent.
Again after the meal there was nowhere in the hotel where nine people could sit comfortably together and have a drink and a chat.
In the morning the pool and sauna were lovely to relax in before an excellent breakfast - albeit the hotel had put the nine of us on a nice round table but wedged it uncomfortably for me in the corner.
So in summary, a beautiful old charming hotel in the heart of Broadway, some of the rooms are lovely, and the pool, sauna and quality of the food cannot be faulted. What let it down for us was a bit of a sense that a group of nine was a little inconvenient. Certainly the double room in the new wing (room 86 I think) is not great.

Room Tip: Make sure you know which rooms you are being booked into
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andersons103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lygon12, General Manager at The Lygon Arms, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for your comments on your stay with us, I am pleased to hear you had an enjoyable experience here at the Lygon Arms, despite finding a suitable sitting area difficult within our numerous lounges, we would of course have been happy to reserve a seating area for pre-post dinner for your group. Your comments have been acknowledged and will be reviewed to improve our business.

Nigel Hadfield
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here many times over 30years and it remains special. It has a great breakfast to start the day. This last stay the place was buzzing with a huge group of doctors get together. The staff during this years stays seem particularly special and confident, while efficient and discrete as they always are and I think the current management are doing a good job. Look forward to returning.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Phil_From_Notts_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lygon12, General Manager at The Lygon Arms, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay with us, I am pleased to hear you had an enjoyable experience here at the Lygon Arms. The team were delighted to receive your recognition of their service, and pleased to be able to make your stay a memorable one.

Nigel Hadfield
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadway
1.3 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
1.5 mi away
Dormy House Hotel
Dormy House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Broadway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,313 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Broadway Hotel
The Broadway Hotel
#4 of 6 in Broadway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
10.8 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Fish Hotel
The Fish Hotel
#3 of 6 in Broadway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lygon Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lygon Arms

Property: The Lygon Arms
Address: High Street, Broadway WR12 7DU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Broadway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Broadway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lygon Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine a hotel where roaring log-burning open fireplaces hint at its roots dating from the 1300's. Picture a Great Hall Restaurant with a vaulted ceiling and original wood panelling built in the seventeenth century. Visit a hotel that has been coloured by the characters of history. At The Lygon Arms, with its 78 rooms you can stay in the suite that King Charles I once stayed in the night before the Battles of Worcester in 1651. See the carvings of John Travis' name on the arch of the front door, etched into the hotel's history in 1620. An historic hotel in the heart of Broadway with a typically Cotswolds history. Dine in The Great Hall, Barringtons our typical all day dining brasserie or have lunch, a coffee or a Cotswold Gin and Tonic in one of our many lounges. A spa , swimming pool and The Lygon Gardens await you but most importantly the team look forward to welcoming you. . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotel.de, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Lygon Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo The Lygon Arms Hotel Broadway
Barcelo Lygon Arms
Barcelo Hotel Lygon Arms
Lygon Arms Broadway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing