We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great way to see in the New Year” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lygon Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Lygon Arms
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Broadway
Certificate of Excellence
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great way to see in the New Year”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Went there on New Years eve. We stayed in a superior double which was fantastic. Great en suite and a four poster bed. Room 117 if you want to experience a bit of luxury!. We ate at Goblets which is the brasserie attached to the hotel. The food was delicious and really good value. There is a spa there too with swimming pool which is free to use if you're a resident. Very happy to this hotel right in the heart of the Cotswolds.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AdgeS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    986
    619
    286
    158
    91
See reviews for
231
1,353
18
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (497)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Country
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

The last time we stayed the service was very poor - this time the staff were helpful,friendly and attentive. Food was first class and restaurant has a lovely atmosphere. The location in Broadway is very handy for the whole of the cotswolds.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank myviewWestCountry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayleigh
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

From check in to check out we were treated with friendly, helpful courtesy by each member of staff we encountered.
Comfortable, clean and cosy throughout the hotel.
We chose this hotel for our New Year celebration break and were not disappointed by anything or anyone.
The dinner menus were superb and the restaurant run in a most organised and efficient manner; a good team of waiters headed by an outstanding maitre d'.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room and got one; number 59.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheGoodmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

The hotel is very old and beautiful. Our room had a four-poster bed and very old furniture. It was nice. The cleaning was a little dodgy. The restaurant was lovely the first night. The food was delicious and service was quick. The next day, breakfast was appalling. When we finally got into the restaurant after waiting for 20 minutes and being ignored by the waiter who was seating people, we had to ask to order because other people who ad been seated after us had ordered and we were ravenous. The food was cold. When my hubby asked for it to be changed, they microwaved it, so his egg was like a bullet! We had a list of 7 complaints so we went to the hotel manager - turns out he was the waiter who was seating us in the restaurant and who had ignored us. Great! He did give us a bottle of champagne by way of an apology but it cost over £420 for two nights and we don't really expect such bad service for that kind of money.

Room Tip: The four-poster bed rooms are dark and dingy and they can be us a lot of stairs. It's worth din...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boydio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

We booked this Twixmas one night stay as a birthday treat and from the moment that we checked-in until we checked-out we were treated to exceptional service. The receptionist was extremely efficient and friendly, upsold us to a room in the old part of the hotel which was magical. She also ascertained that it was my wife's birthday and when we arrived for dinner she was wished a happy birthday and when the desert was served, the words Happy Birthday were piped in chocolate around the edge of the plate. Little things which do not cost but mean a lot.

The food both for dinner and breakfast was of a very high quality and delicious.

The leisure pool was busy (it being a Saturday) but pleasant enough for a half hour swim and a relaxing ten minutes in the jaccuzi. As we are fairly local my wife had previously visited the spa as a day guest and was familiar with the surroundings.

A special 24 hours and a birthday treat which was appreciated.

Room Tip: Rooms in the old part of the hotel add to the atmosphere
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thebeanc0unter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
77 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

This hotel is a real gem in a magical setting. Having stayed there in the summer, we went back for a Christmas get together with friends and found the rooms and restaurant to be fantastic. Would advise anyone thinking of going to make sure you ask for a room in the old part of the hotel, otherwise you're likely to be booked into the new section at the back which will not be what you expect.

The staff were extremely helpful and often went out if their way to make sure we had a wonderful stay. We will definitely be back for a third visit!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NYC_hasmyheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newquay, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

We attended a weddding at the hotel in the summer and so decided to stay as it was convenient, but even at the discount rate of £150 a night, very expensive. The hotel is in a lovely cotswolds village and is a real step back in history. When arriving at the hotel, our tip is to get directions to the car park before arrival, as we made the mistake of pulling into the layby in front of the hotel and ended up stuck behind checking out guests for over 20 minutes. The car park is actually at the back of the hotel and we arrived early so we were lucky to get a car park space. We did tell the hotel that we had a baby, but our room was totally inadequate and we had a double bed that virtually took over the entire room and we ended up having baby in bed with us as there was no room for a cot. The room was far too hot and we had a really bad nights sleep. The breakfast was nice enough the next day, but we missed using the leisure facilities as we could not take the baby into the pool until after 9.30am.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traceywit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadway
1.5 mi away
Dormy House Hotel
Dormy House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Broadway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,274 reviews
1.3 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Broadway Hotel
The Broadway Hotel
#4 of 6 in Broadway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
10.8 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,209 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Fish Hotel
The Fish Hotel
#3 of 6 in Broadway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lygon Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lygon Arms

Property: The Lygon Arms
Address: High Street, Broadway WR12 7DU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Broadway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Broadway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lygon Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine a hotel where roaring log-burning open fireplaces hint at its roots dating from the 1300's. Picture a Great Hall Restaurant with a vaulted ceiling and original wood panelling built in the seventeenth century. Visit a hotel that has been coloured by the characters of history. At The Lygon Arms, with its 78 rooms you can stay in the suite that King Charles I once stayed in the night before the Battles of Worcester in 1651. See the carvings of John Travis' name on the arch of the front door, etched into the hotel's history in 1620. An historic hotel in the heart of Broadway with a typically Cotswolds history. Dine in The Great Hall, Barringtons our typical all day dining brasserie or have lunch, a coffee or a Cotswold Gin and Tonic in one of our many lounges. A spa , swimming pool and The Lygon Gardens await you but most importantly the team look forward to welcoming you. . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Agoda, HRS, LateRooms, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your The Lygon Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo The Lygon Arms Hotel Broadway
Barcelo Lygon Arms
Barcelo Hotel Lygon Arms
Lygon Arms Broadway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing