We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could do better”
Review of The Lygon Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Lygon Arms
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Broadway
Certificate of Excellence
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Could do better”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Have stayed here twice before under previous management and enjoyed it. Not so this time. We only stayed one night but had booked for spa treatment on day of arrival and following day. We phoned in advance and asked if we could possibly have our room a little earlier than 2pm check in time as I had a treatment and would like to settle in before that. When we arrived at about 1.30 and asked about the room we were told by a rather rude receptionist that it wasn't ready as they had been full the night before and everyone had checked out late, not giving them enough time to clean the room. When 2 pm. came, my husband went to ask if the room was ready and I could hear the receptionist shouting at him The room was still not ready, but we were supposedly 'upgraded' to a room that was ready. It was then a rush to get unpacked and ready for my treatment.
After my treatment I went back to the room and we decided to have a drink from the bar. My husband went to get the drinks - martini for me- no ice available, they had used it all up at lunchtime for the champagne!!!
The meal in the great hall was very nice, although paying extra for coffee?? Looking at the number of people eating in the hotel I wouldn't have thought that more than about 20 rooms were in use, so why the bug fuss about us having a room a little earlier I don't know.
The following morning, breakfast was very good and I set off for my other treatment. I happened to mention that I had a Telegraph club card which the website showed a discount in the spa. They didn't know anything about it and said their manager would be in later in the afternoon! Not much good to me as checking out soon. He did make a phone call and said that it was an old offer but they would honour it as it was on the web. I asked about the treatment I had received the previous day 'oh no, you can't have anything off that as you have already signed for it' even though it was going on the general hotel bill and presumably the discount could have been given then.
I just felt that the general feel of the place felt as if they were trying to 'cut corners' and considering this is one of the mjost expwensive properties on their portfolio it did not come up to my expectations this time. If you are charging high prices I would expect better treatment than this.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 206JAM123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,010
    628
    288
    158
    91
See reviews for
239
1,375
18
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (503)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

The Lygon Arms is a very comfortable hotel in beautiful surroundings. We could not fault the room which was large and comfortable and the general level of service was excellent.

We dined in the Great Hall on our first night and became a little irritated at the over-enthusiastic service at times. No sooner had we taken a sip from our wine or water glass than someone rushed up and refilled it. The food was OK but didn't live up to a "fine dining" claim. The cooked breakfast was disappointing too and altough our plate was hot the food was only lukewarm. However the Bistro served up a delicious meal at half the price of The Great Hall.

We didn't use the Spa or Beauty Salon.

We liked the fact that it accepted dogs.

Overall the service was very good indeed, friendly, timely and effcient.

Room Tip: Dine in the Bistro first
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaurieCoppersmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We just had a weekend break near Christmas and found the hotel comfortable and service excellent. Lovely old character to the hotel and wonderful log fires burning in the sitting areas downstairs. Excellent location and ample parking in car park round the back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Beautiful building with a great reputation, sadly the reality does not match. The up market prices are not justified. Tired bathrooms that are in desperate need of a makeover (we had to use the wastepaper bin to flush), way too many non-English speaking staff, cold breakfast (and hard boiled poached egg) with witheringly small portions. One the plus side we had a beautiful meal in the restaurant which everyone enjoyed (although the fillet steak had 'run out' by the time we sat down...at 8pm?!) Our wine waiter dealt with a bad wine immediately without fuss and the wine we did drink was beautiful, so full marks for the cellar. We had a fun stay but really due to the company and occasion and not necessarily the location. The Lygon Arms has the potential to be great, but not without some serious upgrades to the building, infrastructure and service.

Room Tip: We had a 'Traditional' room - think 80's Laura Ashley, noisy Xpelair and peeling and re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nichola L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Food reminiscent of the worst of school dinners, although the breakfast was ok. The hotel was cold. The whole place looks tired. Trading on the hard won reputation of former glories. Seriously gone downhill in the last five years.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere or be sure to get a room in the old part if you want the atmosphere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

We are well travelled but this is the place we now choose to return to.It is so pleasant to be remembered by first rate management and staff,to be treated in such a friendly way.The best room is....mind your own business and find out for yourself.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank driftdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

The Lygon Arms is always a treat. We have returned many times and enjoy the comfort and the civilised atmosphere. The staff are friendly and solicitous. The room was very comfortable, the beds also. There was plenty of room for our youngster sharing a camp bed. Breakfast good. Lovely walks in surrounding countryside. It was fun to be there for the Friday Evening, Christmas fair. So long as there are sensible discounts for leisure breaks, we will continue to be regulars

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ian j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadway
1.3 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
1.5 mi away
Dormy House Hotel
Dormy House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Broadway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,313 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Broadway Hotel
The Broadway Hotel
#4 of 6 in Broadway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
10.8 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Fish Hotel
The Fish Hotel
#3 of 6 in Broadway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lygon Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lygon Arms

Property: The Lygon Arms
Address: High Street, Broadway WR12 7DU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Broadway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Broadway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lygon Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine a hotel where roaring log-burning open fireplaces hint at its roots dating from the 1300's. Picture a Great Hall Restaurant with a vaulted ceiling and original wood panelling built in the seventeenth century. Visit a hotel that has been coloured by the characters of history. At The Lygon Arms, with its 78 rooms you can stay in the suite that King Charles I once stayed in the night before the Battles of Worcester in 1651. See the carvings of John Travis' name on the arch of the front door, etched into the hotel's history in 1620. An historic hotel in the heart of Broadway with a typically Cotswolds history. Dine in The Great Hall, Barringtons our typical all day dining brasserie or have lunch, a coffee or a Cotswold Gin and Tonic in one of our many lounges. A spa , swimming pool and The Lygon Gardens await you but most importantly the team look forward to welcoming you. . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotel.de, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Lygon Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo The Lygon Arms Hotel Broadway
Barcelo Lygon Arms
Barcelo Hotel Lygon Arms
Lygon Arms Broadway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing