We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dormy House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$195
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Fish Hotel(Broadway)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
East House(Broadway)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Buckland Manor(Broadway)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Russell's(Broadway)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lygon Arms(Broadway)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,532)
Filter reviews
1,532 results
Traveler rating
1,155
241
89
27
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,155
241
89
27
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspotting shedgarden roomsplendid roomspa treatmentsrose cottageoutdoor jacuzzigarden restaurantgreat spasteam roomspa areajourney homecomfy roomflip flopsturn down servicethe main houseattention to detailsorbet
Filter
Updating list...
1,162 - 1,167 of 1,532 reviews
Reviewed April 6, 2014

This hotel is DEFINITLEY one of the best hotels I've stayed in, the staff were very helpful at check in and check out, the room ( no.17) was immaculate and the interior design gorgeous.

We both were very impressed with the spa facilities and the massages are amazing, highly knowledgable masseurs. Loved the little touches with a smoothie pre massage and a sorbet post massage.

However the food in the potting shed and garden room were a big let down compared with the rest of the hotel. I ordered beef burger which I couldn't finish due to the burger being so salty, my partners mam was brought the wrong meal altogether. Then for breakfast I ordered dippy eggs with soldiers and ended up with hard boiled eggs. We we're both disappointed and very surprised as the rest if the hotel has such high standards. This has put us both off returning to this hotel, which is a shame as it us a hidden gem .

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HRowells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarncombeandDormy, Manager at Dormy House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014

Thank you for your review. We are so pleased that we are one of the best hotels you have stayed in. But sorry to hear that during your stay the food was not to the standard as you expected. We do hope that this won't put you off from returning in the future and giving us the opportunity to restore your faith in the standard of our food.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Dormy house is a gem.

Modelling itself on London hotels, Dormy House manages to achieve this aim, whilst giving those of us from London a setting to die for, as well as a top class spa.

The hotel has been restored to a very high standard without turning it into a parody of a country house retreat.

The food is excellent, as is the wine selection - which not being based in London was great wine at bargain prices.

Although the service was excellent once it kicked in, there was somewhat of a delay from the staff in attending to us when we were waiting for service - attitude 10, speed 5.

You may feel the rooms are costly for the size, but we felt the quality was excellent. There were some gadgets that made life harder, rather than easier, such as the digital lighting in the rooms giving the user a choice of presets rather than the ability to set lighting as one wished.

Although the hotel claims to be dog friendly, it is more accurate to say that the hotel is dog tolerant - dogs are welcome in limited areas but if one wishes to take the dog to dinner in the pub or any of their lounges then be prepared for disappointment. If you don't own a dog, ignore this.

All in, a beautiful retreat in the country for those used to top class hotels.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank russhughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarncombeandDormy, Manager at Dormy House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us recently and do hope that you will escape the city and visit us again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

My family stayed at the fabulous Dormy House Hotel for a friend's wedding and it was the most wondrous experience. It is like home from home - only better. Luxurious yet intimate and inviting, it is the perfect bolt hole for a weekend break or some needed respite during the week. The rooms are beautifully appointed and immaculate with fabulous marble bathrooms, all mod-cons, super-comfortable beds, plush yet charming furnishings and every detail that could enhance your stay anticipated. I recently returned to spend a day at the House Spa with some friends. While I have visited many spas in my time, this is one magnificent space for blissful indulgence. An inviting Infiniti pool beckons, with sumptuous areas to lounge around in; a delicious Suite of Treats, state of the art EVERYTHING and to top it all: friendly, professional and attentive staff. If you go onto the House Spa website you will see phrases like "Brush with heaven" and "Walk-in - Float out" and should you have the opportunity to experience it, you will see that they are absolutely spot on. For anyone in need of an away-from-it-all retreat, or as a pamper treat for someone special, any part of the Dormy House hotel experience will live up to it's promise, and I haven't even got to the food part yet! That's another 5* experience. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarncombeandDormy, Manager at Dormy House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Thank you for your fantastic review of you stay and spa experience with us. We're so glad that you found all elements of your experience enjoyable and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

a fantastic hotel with every convenience at hand. The staff attended to our every need and were always polite.

Really impressed with the in room technology which included a Samsung tablet where you could not only find information about the hotel and surrounding areas, but also allows you to book food and spa treatments from the comfort of our beautiful room.

All in all a fantastic place to celebrate our 43rd wedding anniversary....roll on our 44th for a return visit!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Smyth778
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarncombeandDormy, Manager at Dormy House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Thank you for your lovely review and congratulations on your 43rd wedding anniversary. We are delighted that you chose to celebrate at Dormy House and we look forward to welcoming you back for your 44th!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

I call Dormy House a 'surprise' because we made an impromptu visit on the recommendation of Mr. and Mrs. Smith having made a fast and early exit from our Fawlty Towers hotel in Oxford. We spent 2 nights at Dormy in a 'Danish Court' room and really enjoyed ourselves. In fact we would have stayed longer had we not already made onward bookings.

Pros:

The room was really a small suite with a very comfortable king bed and a large bath + tub. The sitting room had a comfortable small sofa etc. and there is a small outdoor patio. The room enjoyed a very quiet situation opposite the hotel forecourt.

Breakfast was excellent --- prompt, with fresh juices and fruit etc.

Dinner in the "pub" was very good. Well crafted classics using quality ingredients.

Afternoon tea / cocktails by the fire in the sitting room was sublime.

The staff are universally attentive, professional and polite.

There are a couple of recommended hikes --- we did the Broadway Tower circuit of approx. 10 miles and really enjoyed it --- I think we experienced at least 3 significant weather changes in 4 hours. Bring Wellingtons!

Alas the spa + fitness room were not yet open during our stay but they looked very appealing, as did the rooms we toured in the 'new' wing.

Cons:

None really. The flat screen TV in our room needs updating ---- moreover it wasn't connected to the in-house movie library.

Wellingtons for the guests to borrow!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajyoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarncombeandDormy, Manager at Dormy House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Thank you for your review and choosing to stay with us. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit. The spa has since opened and is well worth a visit and we have also now got 14 pairs of Hunter wellies available free of charge for guests to borrow! We do hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews