We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Total Heaven The all new Dormy House” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dormy House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dormy House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Broadway
Certificate of Excellence
Vale do Lobo, Portugal
Level Contributor
80 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Total Heaven The all new Dormy House”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

My sister and I took our Mother and Aunt for afternoon tea, We had stayed there with the family 2 years ago for my 50th birthday which was very special then. But they have renovated the whole hotel its amazing , now with a spa. Log fires beautiful bar restaurants, amazing toilets, I have to go back to stay, its the perfect place for any occasion. We had a wonderful afternoon tea sitting in front of a log fire, a lovely gentleman kept the logs coming to keep us warm, think he was the door man.

The perfect English Hotel in the stunning Country side of Broadway.

Room Tip: All the rooms look amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarncombeandDormy, Manager at Dormy House Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your Afternoon Tea and choosing to return to Dormy House. We are so glad that you are impressed with the refurbishment results. We do hope that we can welcome you to stay very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    953
    204
    77
    25
    14
See reviews for
161
813
15
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

Today, 16/2/14, after walking around Stanway we drove to The Dormy Hotel for tea , to make a reservation for our friend's birthday celebration and to have some relaxation in comfortable surroundings. As we drove up towards the car park we passed the front door where a ' doorman ' on the steps acknowledged our arrival; how welcoming I thought. Little did I know that we were being ' vetted' ! As we parked our gleaming new Ford Ranger a young man approached us and asked if we had a reservation, I said not , but that we were just popping in for tea. He immediately informed us that they were full . I joked and said that we would only be coming in for tea, but he again informed us there was no room. I asked him if it was because we had a large vehicle? He smiled and said not, but we felt that it was a very weak excuse and that we had been judged in some way and that can only be on appearance! This is an outrageous way to treat customers and reveals to us that possibly this hotel makes disparaging judgements about their 'customers'.
We have stayed in many 5 star hotels within UK and Europe and have never ever been treated in this way. Today we left our 7 series BMW at home and travelled in our 4x4; is it this that made the difference?
We will not be returning, neither will any of my husband's business clients , my colleagues in education and Ofsted and our wide circle of friends .
One very disgruntled Headteacher and Company Director.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank FrederickP356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarncombeandDormy, General Manager at Dormy House Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Thank you for your review, which I was very disappointed to read. I'm so sorry that you felt that you were being turned away from Dormy House, this was not our intention, we were indeed fully booked as we often are.
Everyone is welcome to enjoy our hotel and sadly on this occasion, a team member trying to be helpful was misinterpreted.
So sorry that we got it wrong this time.

Sarah Stacey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

Love it, VIP experience from moment we pulled up on drive
Room spotless and well designed with a lovely stainless steel freestanding bath
Had afternoon tea and dinner - both great service, food very fresh and well presented, had a lovely surprise dessert to celebrate our 20 years together.


Spa was brand new and we indulged ourselves into pure relaxation for a few hours
Only downside was waiting nearly an hour for breakfast, but the duty manager did resolve the problem swiftly and satisfactorily

Overall fantastic stay, can't wait to return !

Room Tip: Room 37, Splendid Room with Stainless Steel bath
See more room tips
Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank LisaJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarncombeandDormy, Manager at Dormy House Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. The free-standing baths are one of our favourite features! Congratulations again on your anniversary and we do hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

Lovely hotel in great location. Comfy room - very we'll appointed, comfortable. Good service, spotless, modern. However....... this place really does lack atmosphere. Decor 60s style, minimalist, cold even. Just trying a bit too hard. Decor very strange and not at all welcoming. Obviously expensively done but something missing. Not for romance. Restaurant, bar, lounge - all lack warmth. But food was first class so I would return just for that. But don't stay here if you are looking for a relaxing, cosy, warm romantic hotel. Try the Lygon Arms in Broadway itself for that.

Room Tip: Beware a lot of the rooms are outside the main building. Not good when weather is bad!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LollyDPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarncombeandDormy, Manager at Dormy House Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are disappointed to hear that you felt the hotel lacked atmosphere. The feedback we have received since our re-opening has been very positive in terms of interior design, warmth & cosiness. All these things are of course subject to personla taste and we like to think that we have created a hotel that everyone will enjoy.

We were voted the 2nd most romantic hotel by TripAdvisor recently and do our best to create a cosy, warm and inviting atmosphere. We hope that you will return soon where we will do our best to make you feel more at home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kazuno, Japan
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

We were attending a bite festival dinner at the dormy house hotel and booked here for the night. As the dormy house hotel and farncombe estate are part of the same company, they kindly offered and provided transport to and from the hotel!

The estate is definitely geared towards top end conferences, with large meeting rooms and dining hall. The room was comfortable with bath & shower, underfloor heating, ecover soap and fairtrade tea/coffee.

The buffet breakfast was average although the coffee was undrinkable.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Y0Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

I stayed here at the weekend with some girlfriends and had a really great time. We all had Comfy rooms which were spotlessly clean, very comfortable but not amazing. The rest of the hotel was excellent, the lounge areas were very comfortable and tastefully done and the spa was fantastic. In terms of cost it was great value. What sets this hotel apart from other hotels in a similar league is the food. It was really, really good. Sometimes menus can be ambitious but not live up to expectations but this really did from the breakfast to the lunch in the spa restaurant to both dinners we had. highly recommended. The staff could not have been more helpful. Thanks!!

Room Tip: I had room 21 (just outside the main building) which was much nicer than the other comfy rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoannaGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarncombeandDormy, Manager at Dormy House Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Thank you for your review - we are so pleased that you and your girlfriends enjoyed your trip to Dormy House. Our Chef and his team will be delighted to hear your feedback on the food and we will pass your comments on to the team. We do hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
88 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 392 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

First, the good things. Our room. We stayed in the 'The Attic' which looks bright pink on the website but actually in real life is a beautiful deep pink, not too girly at all. The room was very beautiful, full of very special touches and the bathroom was absolutely stunning with a huge double shower and underfloor heating. We loved our room, and it was quiet and wonderful.
Also, the spa (not quite open when we stayed) looked absolutely beautiful and we would come back to sample it - it looked really special and beautifully designed.

The bad things? Well, the starting point is that we had not realised that this hotel was tiny, and has some but not many public spaces. this meant that despite staying on a weekend in January, the hotel was utterly mobbed at all times, in every conceivable space. We had tea in the afternoon, utterly crammed into a tiny lounge and surrounded by people. We had dinner in the Potting Shed next to a table of about 20 people on a hen night - they were really loud (I didn't mind them having a great time, it is just to give you a feel). We had lunch in the main restaurant and they were utterly overrun by outside parties, fine of course as they need to make money but I felt like my entire time there was spent crammed into a small space with lots of others. Not a relaxing country house hotel feel at all.

The Potting Shed food was OK. Quite a nice soup and average pie. The staff were really friendly and helpful.

The thing I really did not like was the management. On our last morning, my other half was not well. I rang to reception to explain that we needed a late check out if possible (no one was booked into our room for that night, they told us). They said we could have an hour and then proceeded to phone every ten minutes to remind us and then as we came down the stairs (my other half still too ill to drive and nowhere to sit in any of the public areas as all too busy) the manager gave us this really disapproving look and said "I see you've made it". Really unimpressive. I wasn't asking for much, but being made to feel like we were a nuisance was not what I would have expected.

Anyway. There you go.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Holly29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FarncombeandDormy, General Manager at Dormy House Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Thank your for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are pleased that you loved The Attic and also that you would like to return to sample the spa.

However, I am really sorry to hear your comments that you felt we did not respond to your other half not being well in the right manner. This is most certainly not our intention and we take the welfare of our guests very seriously indeed. I can only apologise that we have appeared to let you down so badly on this occasion. We pride ourselves on ensuring our guests are happy and this is our utmost priority. Please can you contact me directly, so that I can talk through your feedback in more detail and I can endeavour to restore your faith in us.

Sarah Stacey
General Manager
01386 852711
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadway
1.5 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#5 of 6 in Broadway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,134 reviews
2.7 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Fish Hotel
The Fish Hotel
#3 of 6 in Broadway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
12.1 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Broadway Hotel
The Broadway Hotel
#4 of 6 in Broadway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dormy House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dormy House Hotel

Property: Dormy House Hotel
Address: Willersey Hill, Broadway WR12 7LF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Broadway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Broadway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dormy House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Heart of the Cotswolds The Dormy is a much-loved country-house hotel with new luxury spa.The hotel has recently undergone a multi-million pound refurbishment. The converted 17th century farmhouse is steeped in tradition, with oak-panelled bars, roaring log fires and a two-rosette dining room. Visitors are perfectly placed for the Regency terraces of Cheltenham, the theatre of Stratford-upon-Avon and some of the prettiest gardens and villages of the Cotswolds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Dormy House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dormy Hotel Broadway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing