We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing refurbishment of this lovely hotel”
Review of Dormy House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dormy House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Broadway
Certificate of Excellence
U.K.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing refurbishment of this lovely hotel”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Have been visiting Dormy House for many years and waited in anticipation to view the new refurbishment. What a fantastic transformation in this lovely hotel. Stayed for one night in a beautiful room and the decor was amazing. Details in the bedroom were excellent, coffee making facilities, ipad, lovely flowers and the bathrooms are amazing. Huge showers.
The food in the restaurant was very good. Only fault, I would have liked to have seen crisp white table cloths in the dining room.,
All staff were attentive and friendly and very professional.
What a fantastic job David Field, the General Manager has done in this newly refurbished hotel.
He is a credit to the hotel and all of the hard working team.
We will certainly return time and time again

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank queenbee5684
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DormyHouse, Manager at Dormy House Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for your very kind comments. It's been a brilliant transformation and all the team is working hard to deliver the best of customer service and attention to detail.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,036
    217
    78
    26
    15
See reviews for
179
875
15
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in room 27, we were looked after from the moment out car entered the grounds. Very slick, professional, warm welcome. Our room was excellent and had very nice decor, was spacious and very well equipped from the fluffy bathrobes, huge fluffy towels, slippers and coffee machine to the different lighting options and the Samsung tablet. The huge bath took less than 3 mins to fill and the fruit and biscuits were lovely. Went for dinner and breakfast at the Garden Restaurant and food was absolutely excellent. Service was discreet, informative and polite. We are extremely fussy and we couldn't fault this hotel and restaurant at all. The turn down service whilst we were at dinner was a nice touch. When the spa opens in January; we'll be back like a shot!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SassyMarie83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DormyHouse, Manager at Dormy House Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
We are glad you felt pampered and had such a comfortable stay. We are sure you will love the new Spa and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

We had dinner last night in the revamped restaurant. Service was super, food yummy, decor brilliant. Lots of staff but discreet. Menu concise but great quality.

Great addition to our hot list of venues.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheltchappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DormyHouse, Manager at Dormy House Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for your generous review! We look forward to wowing you on your next visit...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We spent 2 nights at the Dormy House Hotel with our 10yr old daughter. Everything is beautifully done and the staff are extremely nice and helpful. Special thanks to the extra effort made by the Food and Beverages Manager, Gareth, who went out of his way to assist us with a few matters.
Our daughter really appreciated a welcome bag of special toys and gifts on arrival, something which made her stay extra special. Sometimes the children are overlooked when staying in high end accommodation but that certainly was not the case at the Dormy.
The staff at breakfast were lovely and the food was delicious.
Thanks for a lovely time in the Cotswolds!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rtvg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DormyHouse, Manager at Dormy House Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
We're glad that you and your daughter enjoyed your Cotswold stay. Our dormyclub goody bags are personalised to the age and gender of the child and we aim to make every young visitor personally welcome. Gareth says "tidy" and he hopes you'll be back to see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here with a 'romantic package' for our wedding anniversary. The room was absolutely wonderful. Decorated really tastefully with a lovely comfortable four poster bed. We had our own balcony where we were able to sit and enjoy our champagne. Wonderful bathroom with lovely toiliteries. The coffee in the room was first class and we had a tablet for internet access. There is everything you could possibly need in your room.
We had pre dinner drinks in the potting shed which is very pleasant and the prices were good. We spent time in the 'yellow lounge' by the fireside which was extremely relaxing.
The food in the garden restaurant was first class and the service was second to none. The staff are incredibly attentative and can not do enough. The maître d was extremely helpful and very welcoming.
All of the staff were first class, their service is absolutely impeccable from being greeted at our car for our bags to the slick reception check out the following day. My husband had actually forgotten his razor but room service provided one and extremely quickly. All of the staff are extremely helpful, pleasant and professional.
We had the most amazing stay. The hotel has all the luxury of a hotel in Mayfair but is far superior in its charm and relaxed ambience. The Dormy was a very special place to spend our wedding anniversary, we highly recommend this hotel and we will without doubt return.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrissieColes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DormyHouse, Manager at Dormy House Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for your review, it sounds as though you enjoyed every inch of the hotel... We love the idea of being as luxurious as Mayfair, but without any stuffiness! Our aim is for guests to leave all their cares behind - we hope you managed this and will come back to stay very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Fortunately this place is only a few miles from where we live so we are very lucky - my Husband and I had dinner in the Garden Room restaurant a couple of weeks ago and I have to say it was the most beautiful meal we have had in a very long time! Beautiful flavours, perfect portion sizes and fabulous service! The whole place has got such an amazing, homely but luxurious atmosphere - it really was a pleasure to be there. One thing I would say though is that we have considered eating in The Potting Shed but for us the lighting in there is much too bright (sorry maybe we're a bit fussy!!), so has unfortunately put us off. But, we will definitely return to the Garden Room soon!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4425Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DormyHouse, Manager at Dormy House Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
What a lovely review, thank you! We hope to welcome you back to The Garden Room again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chipping campden
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

My husband and I live a few miles from Dormy House and were very interested to have lunch there following their huge refurbishment and we were not disappointed.

We ate in the Potting Shed where even on a Monday it was very busy so we were glad we had booked!

The menu was innovative and beautifully presented and the decor was stunning - keeping a good balance between the traditional features of the old hotel with open fire and stone walls and putting a new slant too which worked well.

My only negative comment would be that I do dislike being asked by a waiter if "we" are ready to order!!! It sounds as if he was going to join us!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cotswold017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DormyHouse, Manager at Dormy House Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for your kind review of The Potting Shed and your lunch experience! We hope YOU will return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadway
2.7 mi away
Buckland Manor
Buckland Manor
#1 of 6 in Broadway
424 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#6 of 6 in Broadway
2,208 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Fish Hotel
The Fish Hotel
#4 of 6 in Broadway
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,043 reviews
12.1 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#4 of 23 in Cheltenham
1,308 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Broadway Hotel
The Broadway Hotel
#5 of 6 in Broadway
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dormy House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dormy House Hotel

Property: Dormy House Hotel
Address: Willersey Hill, Broadway WR12 7LF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Broadway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Broadway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dormy House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Heart of the Cotswolds The Dormy is a much-loved country-house hotel with new luxury spa.The hotel has recently undergone a multi-million pound refurbishment. The converted 17th century farmhouse is steeped in tradition, with oak-panelled bars, roaring log fires and a two-rosette dining room. Visitors are perfectly placed for the Regency terraces of Cheltenham, the theatre of Stratford-upon-Avon and some of the prettiest gardens and villages of the Cotswolds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dormy House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dormy Hotel Broadway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing