We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A return to the 'new' Dormy House”
Review of Dormy House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dormy House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Broadway
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 22, 2013

On this return visit we were looking forward to see what the refurbishment had produced - we were not disappointed. A friendly and efficient welcome at reception and we were escorted to Rose Cottage by an enthusastic young lady clearly proud of the work that had been done. On the way were shown the lounges and the Garden Room and Potting Shed restaurants. Whilst we were delighted to see that the open fire was still burning in the lounge on the left (as you enter) we were impressed too by the red and blue lounges, both with distinctive and stylish decor. Rose Cottage has the advantage of a parking space right by its front door. This a very comfortable room - really a suite - with a separate sitting room. Bathroom with separate shower is very well equipped and the heated floor is really welcome. The new bed is most comfortable. The bedside reading lights are a real asset. We took up the offer to be shown some of the other new rooms and it was great to see the individual approach that has been taken in both layout and decor. Breakfast in the Garden Room was a treat with a glorious view down the new garden which will only get better as plants and trees develop. We had a lunch in the Potting Shed; food and service were excellent although the restaurant was clearly busy. Good selections of both food and wine. One of the really reassuring things about our visit was the staff - friendly, helpful and looking out for those little things that might have been missed. Without exception they are the credit to the Dormy House. We spotted some minor things, issues arising from the works, that needed attention. Staff were very receptive to our bringing these to their notice and recognised that only with people staying in the rooms will these issues be identified. My wife and I are fans of the Dormy House and are delighted to see that all looks well following the refurbishment and we are already looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Check if the room has a separate shower or one over the bath. Make sure you find out the room's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DormyHouse, Manager at Dormy House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

We are dleighted that you enjoyed your stay with us in Rose Cottage and appreciate your support for The Dormy House. Our team here are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,470)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,244 - 1,250 of 1,470 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2013

What a lovely place from the time we entered till the time we checked out a first class service, Rooms clean and very modern (This hotel has just had a make over) in January its modern spa will be opening we shall definitely be returning.
The staff could not be more helpful, Reception and Clair in the restaurant very attentive indeed.

They have a christmas package which looks very interesting indeed, sadly not for us this year

Room Tip: Room 6 perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DormyHouse, Manager at Dormy House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Thank you John for your kind comments. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we do hope to see you again soon - possibly for a dip in the infinity pool in January!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Having been to the Dormy House many times in the past we were very excited to be visiting for lunch when it reopened after refurbishment. How disappointing. The lovely atmosphere that had previously been in the old conservatory had been replaced by a contemporary cheap looking addition. There were no table cloths and the tables and chairs would not have looked out of place in a modern London café. The food was lovely but there was not enough of it and we left feeling as though we had been out for a snack not a full meal. This was our favourite restaurant and we were desperate for it to re-open but we won't be in a rush to return. If it's not broken don't fix it!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Stephen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DormyHouse, General Manager at Dormy House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Hi Stephen, Thank you very much for your review. We value the feedback of our loyal customers and I’m sorry you were disappointed by your experience. Inevitably we won’t please everyone with our new look, but I’m delighted you enjoyed the food. If you do consider returning, please give me a call so I can personally take care of your booking. David Field

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Having attended my brother and sister in laws Golden Wedding Dinner here a few years ago I was delighted they suggested this venue to celebrate my sister in law's award of the B.E.M. for her many years of service in raising funds for the R.N.I.B. The golden wedding dinner was truly outstanding with wonderful food and wines.

Today, we visited again, after considerable refurbishment and were highly delighted with our lunch in the new Potting Shed Restaurant. It is a wonderfully light and airy venue, smart but not o.t.t. There is a wide choice of dishes and excellent wine list with very attentive staff. The baked camembert was very good indeed and the belly of pork was superbly cooked and presented. On some dishes half portions are available so one can have a gourmet feast for a very reasonable budget. If you are in this area I would highly recommend you to this Hotel and I know you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DormyHouse, Manager at Dormy House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

We are very pleased that you came back to visit us following our refurbishment and that you enjoyed your meal in The Potting Shed. Many thanks for your recommendation and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Last night we had a wonderful meal at the Dormy House Hotel near Broadway. The newly refurbished hotel was exquisitely appointed (check out the washrooms!) and the staff extremely friendly and professional.

We enjoyed a delicious meal in the Garden Room which as its name suggests enjoys a fabulous view of a beautifully laid out garden.

For starters we had tender, succulent quail with a barley farce, home smoked cod with a punchy celeriac and dill remoulade and a creamy light panna cotta made with locally sourced goat's cheese and beetroot; all beautifully presented and delicious.

Mains consisted of venison which was meltingly tender and complemented by exquisite chocolate and blackberry ravioli; stone bass pan roasted to perfection and served with chorizo gnocchi,cockles, mussels and clam chowder and pan roasted fillet of halibut with saffron and crayfish orzo and sun blushed tomato oil. All absolutely delicious.

Desserts were a triumph:

My wife and I both opted for rhubarb crumble soufflé with custard and honey ice cream which was a dreamy confection gossamer light but packed with flavour.

My son and his girlfriend had two essays in chocolate; one being chocolate mousse, ganache and pistachio ice cream, the other warm chocolate tart, salted caramel and coffee ice cream.
Tasted fantastic.

The menu is extensive and I am certain we will be back soon to try other dishes because they are all extremely tempting and we know the standard of cooking is very high.

We thoroughly enjoyed our evening and recommend the hotel unreservedly.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bonviveur600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DormyHouse, Manager at Dormy House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

A big thank you for your wonderful review of our restaurant. A lot of planning and preparation has gone into the dishes by Head Chef Paul Napper and his team and we are delighted that you enjoyed the results.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

How lucky we are to have such a wonderful restaurant and facility right on our doorstep. We have dined at some exclusive restaurants in our time but the meal we had in the Garden Restaurant even matched Raymond Blanc' s Quatre Saison. The staff could not have been more helpful and obliging with nice touches such as folding your napkin when you temporarily leave the table. We were also impressed with the wine selection. And what can I say about the decor? It was magnificent and each room was furnished and decorated to offer an intimate and warming atmosphere. We are currently telling all our friends about it so make sure you maintain the standard Dormy as we don't recommend lightly!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DormyHouse, Manager at Dormy House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

A very big thank you for your kind words and we are pleased that you enjoyed your meal with us in The Garden Room restaurant. It's one of our favourite’s rooms in the hotel. We appreciate your recommendations and will work hard to maintain our high standards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Visited to see what the 'new' Dormy is like. We are really fortuante as we live close by and it is absolutely stunning. The transformation from the homely if a little tired 'old' Dormy is quite incredible....and I agree with previously writer that the loos are amazing! The staff are all friendly and well turned out in new attire and the food we enjoyed was delicious. The Potting Shed has various areas in which to dine which are slightly different, really clever concept. We asked to be shown a room and the lady that took us was really well informed and the room looked great. Back soon!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ikb1511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DormyHouse, Manager at Dormy House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Thank you for your lovely comments. We are pleased that you like what we have done with The Potting Shed and the loos! Great to hear you'll be back to see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadway
2.7 mi away
Buckland Manor
Buckland Manor
#1 of 6 in Broadway
481 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#6 of 6 in Broadway
114 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Fish Hotel
The Fish Hotel
#4 of 6 in Broadway
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,099 reviews
5 mi away
Charingworth Manor
Charingworth Manor
#1 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,072 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Broadway Hotel
The Broadway Hotel
#5 of 6 in Broadway
907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dormy House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dormy House Hotel

Address: Willersey Hill, Broadway WR12 7LF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Broadway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Broadway
Price Range: $344 - $478 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dormy House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Heart of the Cotswolds The Dormy is a much-loved country-house hotel with new luxury spa.The hotel has recently undergone a multi-million pound refurbishment. The converted 17th century farmhouse is steeped in tradition, with oak-panelled bars, roaring log fires and a two-rosette dining room. Visitors are perfectly placed for the Regency terraces of Cheltenham, the theatre of Stratford-upon-Avon and some of the prettiest gardens and villages of the Cotswolds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dormy House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dormy Hotel Broadway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing