We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Green tea”
Review of Dormy House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dormy House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Broadway
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Green tea”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We have just treated my mom for tea at the Dormy house hotel as a Mother's Day present

The tea arrived in bags. Not leaves !!! In a white transport cafe style tea pot with cups to match. Where was the china !!! ! They forgot the hot water and we had to ask at reception for it twice ...!The sandwiches tasted cold obviously been in the fridge ... 3 fingers each , tasteles,with no sign of a leaf anywhere not even as a garnish . The cakes were nice but uneventful .. For £45. It was very disappointing and we would not recommend to anybody ..

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jayni B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    999
    213
    77
    26
    15
See reviews for
170
850
15
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed here for a night last weekend for my husband's birthday. I got the Winter Wonderland deal which was £240 for a night in a suite and a 3 course meal in the dining room.

The room was recently refurbished and extremely clean. The bathroom was particularly nice, and the bed was really comfy - cant complain.

Dinner in the restaurant was also lovely, the staff were excellent and very helpful.

Breakfast was also great, really good buffet and the cooked breakfast was fab, so nice to have more choice than just an english breakfast so I had a hot option for once!

I knocked off one point for what is possibly a silly reason, but something that really surprised me. We asked at reception if they had any maps or suggestions for country walks, and were told it was £1.50 for a map with a walking route on it. We felt that at £240 a night, it was a bit petty to charge extra for something like this. We didn't buy the map and figured out our own route. While this is more of a hotel than a small b&b, a personal touch does go a long way!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kitkatkitkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

This was a return visit and we had been looking forward to enjoying the Dormy House again. We were not disappointed. The staff are friendly and helpful. Our room,10, apparently refurbished last year was well appointed and very clean - lovely bed! Excellent food, wine and service in the dining room for dinner. We spent the Sunday morning in front of the ever burning fire in the lounge before taking lunch in the Brasserie. Again excellent food and service. Having visited the Dormy over a number of years it's really encouraging to note how they have maintained their standards of service over time. We've already booked our next stay for after the completion of the major refurbishments.

Room Tip: When booking check whether your room has a walk in shower or just a shower over the bath - it' n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We have stayed at Dormy House many times and have never been disappointed. We always say that it feels like coming home. Our room this time was the Fairway Suite, it has beautiful views overlooking the golf course and I'm sure it would be even better in the summer when you could sit outside on the small terrace!

The atmosphere is cosy and romantic with lovely log fires and friendly staff who make us feel very welcome.

Our dinner in the conservatory restaurant was very good, as always. Breakfast is always fresh with plenty of choice.
This is our favourite hotel and we will definitely return.
Excellent.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loulounme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Just returned from a overnight stay, saturday 2nd feb. We stayed in room 20 the penthouse suite. Lovely spacious room, couldnt fault! Dormy has a lovely atmosphere, rouring fires cosy decor, a very romantic place to stay. All staff very pleasant and excellent service. We ate in the main dining room and enjoyed our three course meal, again excellent service evn though very busy. Lovely breakfast could find no faults and would love to return again. Notice dormy is closing for major refurbishment next month, the place is already lovely so when it re-opens cant wait to see!!! thank you and all your staff for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeckyWarwickshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We have just returned from our second stay Dormy House and again we were not disappointed. Our room (suite) was clean, warm with beautiful high beams and lovely upholstery. All staff were warm, welcoming and attentive. Our meal in the restaurant was absolutely first class - nice portions and beautiful presentation and an excellent choice at breakfast too.
We absolutely love this hotel and will definitely return again,hopefully for longer to avail of the Dormy walks in drier weather!
Thank you Dormy - Excellent.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WinnieBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed here for a wonderful romantic weekend! Stayed in four poster bedroom, beautiful room with amazing views, food excellent and staff so so lovely. Lovely walks in the evenings and the tea cakes were simply wonderful. If I was to be really picky the bathroom let out room down as could be updated. We will defiantly stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Minelab81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadway
1.5 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#5 of 6 in Broadway
2,184 reviews
2.7 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Fish Hotel
The Fish Hotel
#3 of 6 in Broadway
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,026 reviews
12.1 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
1,279 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Broadway Hotel
The Broadway Hotel
#4 of 6 in Broadway
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dormy House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dormy House Hotel

Property: Dormy House Hotel
Address: Willersey Hill, Broadway WR12 7LF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Broadway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Broadway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dormy House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Heart of the Cotswolds The Dormy is a much-loved country-house hotel with new luxury spa.The hotel has recently undergone a multi-million pound refurbishment. The converted 17th century farmhouse is steeped in tradition, with oak-panelled bars, roaring log fires and a two-rosette dining room. Visitors are perfectly placed for the Regency terraces of Cheltenham, the theatre of Stratford-upon-Avon and some of the prettiest gardens and villages of the Cotswolds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Dormy House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dormy Hotel Broadway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing