We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Windrush House
Nearby Hotels
$194
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Fish Hotel(Broadway)
$200
$166
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$447
DormyHouse
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa(Chipping Campden)
$305
$255
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Noel Arms Hotel(Chipping Campden)
$178
$165
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Evesham Hotel(Evesham)
$111
$108
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$128
$124
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Foxhill Manor(Broadway)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lygon Arms(Broadway)
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Buckland Manor(Broadway)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (401)
Filter reviews
401 results
Traveler rating
383
15
3
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
383
15
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewson arrivalperfect hostscakepot of teaplace to staybed and breakfastshort walkbeautiful gardenblack labradorcooked breakfasthomemade jamsplaces to visitbreakfast was excellentsecond to noneattention to detaila lovely stayfirst class
Filter
Updating list...
137 - 142 of 401 reviews
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We choose Windrush after reading all the wonderful reviews, and wanted something in the center of the Cotswolds.,but our experience was not so wonderful. Kate is a new owner (as of fall 2012) and while she was very helpful before we came, maybe we caught her on a bad few days when we arrived.
We were not offered tea on arrival, or the next day,and we felt the breakfasts very ordinary. It was served only between 8-9, and we were the last to come down(having jet lag from our trip from the US).There was a buffet, with youghurt, small cut fruit plate and pre-sliced bread. We did have eggs, but nothing special and no pastries.
The room (Four poster bed) did look like the pictures, but the bath was awful. It was smaller than an airline bath.It had a tiny circular stall shower and toilet, and the small sink was in the bedroom. We needed to do hand washing, and there was no bar soap, and no where to hang our clothes. We put them on the towel bar, and left our wet towels on the floor. The next day Kate rehung the wet towels on the shower, and when I asked for clean/dry
towels, there was an attitude. She also took my clothes out of the room, without my consent and hung them outside so she could shut off the towel heater where they were drying. I am all for "green" but she goes too far. She even unplugged our IPad when we were out.
The location is good, an easy walk to town.

Room Tip: Ask about the bathrooms
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daylilly50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate E, Owner at Windrush House, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

We are so sorry to hear that you were very disappointed with your stay at Windrush.
Our check in times are 4pm-7pm which we did inform you of but you still chose to arrive at 2pm whilst we were still lunching, as you claimed you were suffering with jet lag we checked you in, assisted with your luggage and said if you wished to come down at 4pm we would serve you your arrival tea (we could not do this beforehand as the freshly made cake had not yet been cooked by 2pm) you did not reappear at 4pm so we wrongly assumed that you did not wish to partake in the afternoon tea.
We are proud of our breakfasts with a choice of 4 cereals, 5 various topping for the cereals, at least 3 types of freshly prepared fruit along with local yoghurts, the hot choices include porridge, smoked salmon, Broadway bangers, locally grown tomatoes and free range local eggs all freshly cooked we also offer three varieties of bread, all cut fresh in the morning before breakfast. We do served what were call a Cotswold breakfast and pastries are normally regarded as part of a continental breakfast which we do not normally offer but if requested we try to accommodate.
I did give you directions for the nearest launderette but you felt you did not wish to wait for your laundry, unfortunately we do not have bars of soap in our house but liquid soap which is available in all the rooms and I did mention where you could go to purchase a bar of soap. I placed your towels off the floor and over the shower door as I felt that this was not a hygienic place to leave them, I did not realise you wished to have fresh towels as the guest information does inform guests should they wish for fresh towels to leave them in the shower tray. I apologise for removing your two dripping blouses from the towel rail and hanging on the clothes line in the garden in order for them to dry in the sun, this was done with the mere intention of assisting them to dry ready for you to pack, I was only trying to be helpful but obviously this offended you and for this I am sorry. We clearly state in our guest folder that we ask guest to not leave electrical appliances plugged in and charging in the room during the day, unattended due to the tendency of them overheating and with the possibility of fire hazard. We are proud of our “green” policies and we strive to minimise our environmental impact on the world, our statement of this is on our website.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We chose Windrush House based on its great reviews and proximity to the Cotswolds. We were not disappointed! The location is ideal for exploring the surrounding areas. When we arrived we were greeted by Kate, who served us tea and muffins in her garden before we headed off to dinner. The house is beautiful, and we were very pleased with our room. The seating area for breakfast was sunny and pleasant, and Robin presented us with delicious options (I highly recommend the porridge with the Cotswold honey and the pork sausages!). The only complaint about the B&B was the lack of water pressure in the shower, but this was a minor issue for us.

Based on Kate's recommendation, we made reservations at The Swan for dinner the first night, but since we didn't know where we would be the second night we did not have reservations anywhere and had a little trouble finding a place to eat (although it was a Saturday night). I would definitely suggest booking a table in advance if you are considering dining in town.

This location allowed for an easy day trip to Stratford-Upon-Avon and was convenient to many cute villages in the Cotswolds. The owners made us feel very welcome and we would be happy to visit again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Snowshill, which provided a large bed and a small bathroom with a shower and toilet. It was beautifully decorated and had large windows that let in a lot of sun.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kweiland06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate E, Owner at Windrush House, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that the next stage of your holiday was a success. We are pleased you enjoyed our breakfasts with all the options and the four poster room. Please send on our best regards to the third member of the party. We hope to welcome you to Windrush again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

It was a pleasure to stay in Windrush House :-)) Very warm welcome by owners + cup of tea with home made muffin in the garden !! :-))) Clean , stylish decorated room, good location, yummy - a massive breakfast ( smoked salmon with scrumbled eggs) and big choice of fruits.
Friendly and helpful owners - Thank You ! it was pleasure to stay at your place to celebrate our 1st engagement anniversary and my birthday -)))

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kacha007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Breakfast was great (perfect scrambled eggs), bed was comfortable, room was clean. It's the first in a row of B&Bs just outside of the main area of Broadway so a very short walk into town.

Only issue was annoying plumbing - the toilet was hard to flush and the shower had nearly non-existent water pressure. No idea if this is a common issue in the area.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank tubulus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

A great stay. A warm welcome with a cup of tea and home made muffin in the garden. Very clean room. Superb breakfast choice. Huge portion of smoked salmon with scrambled eggs. Incredibly helpful and pleasant hosts who recommended walks and provided maps. Would definitely recommend this establishment.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlingDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews