We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Twee!”
Review of The Broadway Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Broadway Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Broadway
Certificate of Excellence
CAMBRIDGE
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Twee!”
Reviewed December 18, 2008

Stayed for a weekend break. Very small room in the roof but all mod cons and nice touches, Breakfast was good. Staff were great. Would go again.

  • Liked — Comfy room
  • Disliked — Small room!
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ABRACADABRA11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

843 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    450
    259
    78
    32
    24
See reviews for
112
498
8
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, UK
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2008

My husband and I took my dad away for the evening - on a winter warmer offer - £65 per head, dinner bed and breakfast including a glass of mulled wine. My dad stayed in a twin room on the ground floor - a newly refurbished room which was excellently appointed. We stayed on the 2nd floor in an older room which was really spacious and also had a flat screen tv. The bathroom was great with good size products for a great bath - sorry I didn't test the shower! Bed was comfy and huge and hotel was quiet - bar the creaking floorboards in the early morning.
The stay was made particularly pleasant by the excellent service that we received from all the staff at the hotel - the manager on duty and the receptionist in particular were friendly and attentive and we felt personally cared for - which made such a welcome change from some of the stiff impersonal hotels I had recently stayed at. We had a drink in the bar - tiny and cosy with candles. It was quite quiet as it was a sunday night. We then ate in the restuarant in the evening which was fine. Nothing amazing but they made an effort with getting the chef to provide some vegetarian choices (non on the menu!) for me and again the service was excellent. We enjoyed games and coffee in the lounge area in front of the fire adjacent to the dining room.
Breakfast was great - loads of choices from porridge to kippers and a good buffet. Would receommend - especially on a 'package' as advertised online as we felt we had a good value for money break. Would recommend!

  • Liked — service and location
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank campbell88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 4, 2008

My wife and I have just come back from a two night break at the Broadway Hotel. We've stayed before and always thought it was satisfactory, however the last time we stayed, we thought the room was slightly tired.....and by looking at the reviews on here others thought the same. However we decided to go back as it is like a second home for us there and were quite suprised to say the least.

Our room had obviously just been refurbished and to a high standard as one would expect. It was lovely to see fluffly new pillows and a duvet instead of sheets. The room had a simple but fresh design and was definitely within keeping of the hotels traditional cotswold charm which we have always admired about the hotel.

We dined at the Hotel's Courtyard Restaurant on our first evening and thoroughly enjoyed our meal, it was delicious and the we had great fun with the staff who were very friendly and attentive.

The second day we were extremely lucky with the weather and decided to stay in Broadway. The hotel has its own car park at the back so only guests can use it, so we didn't have to worry about parking. The hotel is right in the centre of the village with shops and pubs all around. We actually decided to dine at the hotel for lunch on the second day and enjoyed three courses for ten pounds. It was excellent value for money and again no disappointments with the food.

The staff treat you so well, I wouldn't of minded if my room hadn't been refurbished! We will certainly return next year to enjoy another two night break at the Broadway Hotel.

  • Liked — The friendly, attentive staff
  • Disliked — The drinks in the bar were a little pricey - but thats to be expected
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank time_traveller08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 22, 2008

My wife had a short Cotswold break, with a night in Woodstock and a night in Broadway. The hotel is quite pretty looking in a great setting. The room number 26 which we were given was not quite up to scratch. It was very cramped with twin beds when really there was only enough room for one, it was also very tatty and tired, even a torn curtain. The plumbing was was more than suspect with a blocked sink and faulty toilet and even worse scalding hot water one other thing we stayed when the weather was quite warm, but still the radiators were on full bore during the night which of coarse was quite uncomfortable.
The restaurat was generally ok and the staff were very attentive trouble was i had what was probably the smallest rib eye in the world and it had to be sent back as it was totally over cooked.
The night before we stayed at the Bear Woodstock which was fabulous and only put the Broadway in a much lower league.
One last point the advertised photographs were slighty misleading.
Mr and Mrs Allen.

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Melbourne1LondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
1 review
Reviewed September 3, 2008

The hotel is a beautiful old building with many of its original features - low ceilings, squeeky floorboards etc. The village was also very beautiful - and has enough there for you to mosey around for a day or two.

The only complaint we had was the bathroom - unfortunately it was not very clean and was very tired. Lovely to see accessories such as Molton Brown - however money would be better spent on a re-fit. Other than that - was lovely

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
Thank Young_Weekender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2008

We spent a lovely one night break at this hotel via their £150 deal for DBB for two for one night.
Because it was sunny they gave us half a bottle of Moet and Chandon which we enjoyed outside at about 5pm on the front terrace. As the lovely waiter joked this was better than the "if it was raining" deal of an umbrella!
The meal at night was really good with scallops and sea bass being my favourite.The cheese and biscuits option was the best presented I have ever come across.
The breakfast was so good with the berry compote really scoring top points and mitigated against our indulgence in the cooked breakfast.
The room was perfectly formed and a real quiet sleep.
WHAT MORE CAN YOU ASK FOR!

  • Liked — THE FOOD
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattjak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2008

My wife and I recently spent 2 nights at the Broadway Hotel for a relaxing weekend break, just the 2 of us.

We visit the Cotswolds annually and this was our first time at the hotel and the town, both matched our hopes and expectations.

Our reception when we arrived was pleasant and courteous and we were quickly shown to our room ; Room 6, which was a double, in the original building, overlooking the courtyard. Very comfortable, not huge but big enough and with a lot of character. One quirky feature was the sink was in the bedroom while the bathroom housed the bath/shower and toilet.

A couple of hours were enough to amble around the town, there are many small shops to browse around, a pub at the top end of town and one at the bottom end, although some of the restaurants and hotels (including the Broadway itself) served food and alcohol some with seating outside.

Early evening was spent sat outside our own hotel, watching the town pass by. Service at the bar was relaxed, but that’s what we wanted, we were escaping from the rat race for a chilled weekend so we were in no hurry.

An evening meal at the local Indian didn’t rate highly but a couple of nightcaps in the cozy hotel bar rounded off a pleasant start to a quiet weekend.

Breakfast was plentiful and again the service was courteous, without being overbearing.

We enjoy a walk and the hotel loaned us a copy of their guide book which took us from the town up to the Broadway Tower. As expected the countryside was beautiful and the Tower itself was worth the climb. This walk was relatively short at 5 miles and we were back in the town by lunchtime. Another wander around the shops before lunch at the Crown and Trumpet, a typically old world charm Cotswold Inn.

We ate dinner at the hotel, the food was great, the service was very good and we enjoyed a very pleasant evening. A return trip to the Crown and Trumpet which had live music was an unexpected surprise with the whole pub enjoying a sing-along, maybe not everyone’s cup of tea but we certainly joined in. Great evening which certainly capped a thoroughly enjoyable, short break.

We would definitely return to the hotel and Broadway. The hotel is picture postcard, comfortable and value for money. The staff were young, local and very courteous, during our stay and they were a credit to the hotel. The town might be on the smaller side for us but we enjoyed it none the less.

  • Liked — Staff, Comfort, Value
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Welshman_Abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadway
0.1 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#6 of 6 in Broadway
2,207 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Fish Hotel
The Fish Hotel
#4 of 6 in Broadway
687 reviews
1.6 mi away
Dormy House Hotel
Dormy House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Broadway
1,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Buckland Manor
Buckland Manor
#1 of 6 in Broadway
424 reviews
3.6 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,042 reviews
10.3 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Broadway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Broadway Hotel

Property: The Broadway Hotel
Address: The Green, Broadway WR12 7AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Broadway
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Broadway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Broadway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Broadway, overlooking the quaint village green; The Broadway Hotel has 19 individually styled bedrooms, a lively bar, cosy lounge and award-winning Brasserie. The hotel is dog-friendly and ideally located for exploring not only Broadway, but surrounding Cotswold villages and attractions including Broadway Tower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your The Broadway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing