We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware online booking and room 5.”
Review of The Broadway Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Broadway Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Broadway
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Booked a special Autumn deal, and then another Bond special for the same weekend, so different rooms. We were delighted to receive email confirmation of the Abbots room (possibly best in the hotel) for the Sunday, only to be rung the next day by the hotel to say they had double booked the room (well after we had received our email confirmation). Saturday night in room 5, right over the newly positioned bar was terrible - why on earth did we get that room when the hotel was not full and they know that they have noise problems after the refurbishment. The group now charge a hefty Saturday night supplement for their special offers which only added to our misery on the noisiest night of the week. We were also told our dinner booking was 7pm on arrival, when we had email confirmation that it was 7.30pm. A minor niggle, but having planned our evening around the champagne with the deal we had to re-group. The restaurant was not full and they could easily have accommodated us at our booked time. We were made to feel in the wrong - not good customer service.
The staff should be given a simple piece of training advice - honesty is the best policy. A genuine apology goes a long way, but the general air of indifference and shoddy customer service really is beginning to let this group down.
In the restaurant, the service was patchy - again, lack of attention to detail and making sure that all tables are being well looked after. The restaurant wasn't full.
There is clearly an ongoing problem with some of the showers - some of which are not fit for purpose. These things can be fixed.
We have recommended many people to this hotel group over the years, and it is sad to see that these things are now making us think twice about booking or making a recommendation. You do get repeat business, so it's not good enough to work on the assumption that you don't need to service that part of your market.
We would visit far more frequently if you didn't slap on those Saturday supplements.

Room Tip: Avoid room 5 near bar, and those near the extractor fan for the kitchen - book by phone, not on line...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PoppyReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (872)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

710 - 716 of 872 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

This was our second visit to the Broadway hotel - and the standard of service and hospitality are as good as ever. They have had a major refurbishment since our visit in 2011 which always strikes fear as you think it will have spoilt it - however, this hotel is better than ever! The rooms are lovely, named after racehorses. The Tattersalls restaurant which is new is on the site of the old courtyard, the food and wine were excellent and the service was really good. If you fancy bar meals, the pub diner is good also. A great place to spend a lovely Autumn break in front of their roaring fire - and a great bonus if you go for the Autumn package is half a bottle of champers when you arrive! Would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and restaurant to anyone. PS The teddy in your room is lovely too and you can buy a mini replica in reception which I did!!

Room Tip: If you dont want one of the rooms in the original part of the building, ask as they are quite low ce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StephR3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed in the broadway hotel for one night on an autumn break basis. The room, evening meal and breakfast were all up to a high standard. The hotel is full of character as is the village itself. The one blemish for us in room 10 at the rear of the hotel, was the noise from may be the hotels boiler that sounded like a distant aproaching train that never arrived, however we slept well and had a very enjoyable stay. We would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LincolnshireGarda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We live 5 miles from here but had never tried a Sunday lunch there and we are so so glad we did today! Tattersalls Restaurant was really buzzing with every table taken (glad we had booked) and an excellent 2 or 3 course meal on offer.

All the staff were very attentive and pleasant and the presentation of our meal was beautiful.

The only negative - sorry - was that it would be better if the staff didn't squirt the tables as soon as diners left, hygienic though this was!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cotswold017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We three just called in for lunch. We were shown into a stylish modern Tattersalls restaurant, light and spacious but blending so well into the old building. Excellent menu, plus a 2 or 3 course lunchtime special which suited us. Very pleasant attentive and helpful staff, recommending a bitter from Wickwar (?) Brewery. I chose the braised shoulder of lamb, which melted in the mouth. My friends had the cod crusted with parmesan, and a request for fries instead of mash was no problem resulting in golden chunky hand-cut chips. My sticky toffee pudding was the best I have ever tasted and my friends request for "just icecream" turned up as a work of art, with redcurrants, a strawberry, a huge blackberry and the dish scrolled with caramel sauce. We all agreed this was the best lunchtime dining experience for us in a long time. Give it a try !!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bojangles381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed our one night stay, wish we had been staying 2 nights. Staff are welcoming,helpful and friendly especially in the restaurant . The room was small but had every amenity and was very clean. The champagne on arrival was a welcome treat. The public rooms are stylish and modern but blend in beautifully with the old building. The bar is cosy and has a log fire, drinks not too pricey , compared favourably to local pub. The restaurant was very good, presentaton and food of a high standard. Breakfast was particularly good. Broadway is a pretty place and worth a visit. Hope to go back soon and will be booking a room at The Broadway.
(only minor criticism is that the bed seemed to be past it's sell by date, comfy enough but wobbly and creaky )

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorelei3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We booked a one night autum deal that included a junior suit, dinner, bed and breakfast. We decided to book an extra night and stayed Friday as well. We were allocated room 20 on the ground floor. We have stayed in suites many times and expected more of the room. Both the sitting room and bedroom were very small but I have to say it was comfortable. As it was on the ground floor we had other guests looking into our room as they walked past to go to the car park. This was annoying and if we hadn't got the room on a deal we would have complained and asked to be moved. We would not have payed full price for this room.The room was dark and would benefit from a couple of lamps on the tables. For us ladies a larger mirrior above the dressing table would be useful. Dnner was adequate, however if this had not been included in the deal we would have eaten elsewhere on the Saturday night. Breakfast was excellent! Most of the staff were friendly and helpful. Overall for a 3 star hotel this was okay.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadway
0.1 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#6 of 6 in Broadway
37 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Fish Hotel
The Fish Hotel
#4 of 6 in Broadway
742 reviews
1.3 mi away
Buckland Manor
Buckland Manor
#1 of 6 in Broadway
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Dormy House Hotel
Dormy House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Broadway
1,412 reviews
3.6 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,065 reviews
10.3 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Broadway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Broadway Hotel

Address: The Green, Broadway WR12 7AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Broadway
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Broadway
Price Range: $179 - $303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Broadway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Broadway, overlooking the quaint village green; The Broadway Hotel has 19 individually styled bedrooms, a lively bar, cosy lounge and award-winning Brasserie. The hotel is dog-friendly and ideally located for exploring not only Broadway, but surrounding Cotswold villages and attractions including Broadway Tower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your The Broadway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing