We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, a bit noisy”
Review of The Broadway Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Broadway Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Broadway
Certificate of Excellence
Lakewood, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, a bit noisy”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The staff at the hotel were brilliant, and we thoroughly enjoyed the reception we received. The food at the restaurant was ok, although we have had better in the Cotswolds (competition in this region is stiff with so many nice restaurants and pubs - Tattersall's would not be my first choice). I would however recommend asking for a room that is a decent distance from the bar - ours was noisy quite late into the night which was frustrating as we were exhausted and just wanted to get to sleep. We could also hear everyone walking past in the corridor, so if you're a light sleeper that might be an issue. Beds were comfy, breakfast great, all around a nice stay but definitely not the best I've experienced in the same price range in the Cotswolds.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shadowtrys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

830 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    439
    257
    78
    32
    24
See reviews for
111
491
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Epping, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in the middle of September and enjoyed sunny dry weather, which was an added bonus. The hotel is in an excellent position in Broadway and for the northern Cotswolds. Easy parking and well maintained grounds. Reception and waiting staff were all polite and friendly.

Our first floor room was no; 24 overlooking garden and church. Also convenient for access to car park without walking through entire ground floor area of hotel. Well furnished with plenty of drawer and hanging space. Great to have a safe too. Tea and coffee and bottled water were complimentary and replaced daily. We found the bathroom rather small as no free space for our personal items. Toiletries supplied were topped up daily. Bedroom lighting was inadequate as no space for a lamp at one side of bed.

Breakfast was very good. Cereals, juices, toast, fruit and choice of various cooked food - bacon, egg etc and smoked salmon. Evening meal was OK for 2 nights, but soup was same each night. Steaks were good. I ordered the fish of the day which was a whole lemon sole, which sadly the chef chose to liberally scatter balsamic dressing over it!! Why oh why as no mention of that on menu? Also the rocket salad was placed on top of the saute potatoes which meant they became soggy and the rocket was limp!! I found the desserts to be very fatty and would have liked to have been able to choose a fresh fruit salad or maybe a sorbet. On our 3rd evening we ate in the bar, which was also OK except the soup seemed to be the same as in the restaurant!

Despite a couple of grumbles, we enjoyed our stay at this hotel and would go back. We have also stayed at The Swan in Bibury and The Hare and Hounds in Tetbury, which are also under the same banner - Cotswold Inns.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

As three star country hotels go, The Broadway Hotel, is well ahead of the pack.
It has been recently refurbished & the rooms, which have a touch of luxury about them & are spotlessly clean.
The public areas have been tastefully renovated & the whole feel of the hotel is one of calm, friendly efficiency.
The Tattersalls restaurant, provides a lovely setting for dinner, which does not disappoint & would not be out of place in higher rated establishment. The food itself is well presented & very tasty, the staff, whilst young, were friendly & efficient and all of this added up to a very pleasant evening.
The bar areas were buzzing, but service was still quick & in common with the whole hotel, friendly.

The hotel's Management were visible, assisting the staff when they hit busy points - talking to customers & checking standards at other times. There was a real, almost old fashioned, feel of pride & ownership running thorough the hotel.

We had not stayed here before, but certainly will again - as we had a thoroughly enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: A superior room is just that!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephenrgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We arrived at the hotel on a busy summer weekend. Excellent and secure parking provision awaited with friendly reception staff .
This hotel is perfect to base yourself with a central Broadway location. If you want to have a drink inside or outside the bar the atmosphere is excellent and for something more formal the restaurant is very good indeed with a contemporary twist.
The rooms were clean and well furnished . Not the biggest of rooms but it is a character building so what it lacks in dimensions it makes up for in traditional appeal.
As ever I would only write a review if I felt it would assist . I find some reviewers would pick the bones out of The Dorchester. Get real , it's a good value , village hotel. Enjoy your stay trip advisors!!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BennyBonnassi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We were going to eat in The Swan but having been told it was an hour to wait for food on a busy summer Sunday evening we crossed the road to the Broadway Hotel and decided to eat in the restaurant. Was a warm evening and the restaurant was beautifully cool and air conditioned. Lovely staff, very helpful and accommodating - we hadn't pre-booked and they happily found us a table and we were advised to order asap as they were expecting a large party and it would save us waiting for our meals. Food arrived promptly, was tasty and well presented. Would definitely return on the strength of our meal that summer evening and would recommend. Pricey, however the whole experience made it well worth it. Well done..!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loveeatingout100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

This was the second time we've eaten here & this time was, well not quite up to the mark. The bar area has been very well done out & will no doubt pull in the punters. We had no problem putting drinks on a tab & didn't have to pay up front for the food as someone else has mentioned.
But maybe it was because it was a sunny Saturday evening & the place was busy, we both felt our food was a bit on the average side.
My wife's fish & chips...chips totally overcooked, but not crispy. My chicken pie, was tasty enough, but the chicken hadn't been properly cut & also had bones in it (not come across that before in a pie)
Desserts were very good though. Really good creme brulee & Chocolate tart, was spot on!
We are local, so will certainly give it another go, due to the lovely surroundings...but it won't be a Saturday night.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ningaloo25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 450 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Our room here was rather cramped, yet it was filled with useless clutter. Why four huge cushions on the bed? Where can we put them? And what is that massive teddy bear doing there? It’s as if the hotel’s PR consultants have said, “Why not infantilise your guests! Put a teddy bear on the bed and a plastic duck in the bath! They will love it!” Well I’ve got news for them. We don’t. We would rather have a little more space. We half expected the staff to treat us like children. Fortunately they didn’t.

This place is generally warm and relaxing, though the restaurant has its shortcomings. Mozzarella soufflé was leaden and the pan-fried duck breast was cooked by an amateur– the skin glutinous rather than crisp. Breakfast, however, was fine. So come here by all means, but eat elsewhere, and bring your kids - or prepare to be treated like one yourself.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrishandley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadway
0.1 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#6 of 6 in Broadway
2,191 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Fish Hotel
The Fish Hotel
#3 of 6 in Broadway
646 reviews
1.3 mi away
Buckland Manor
Buckland Manor
#1 of 6 in Broadway
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Dormy House Hotel
Dormy House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Broadway
1,349 reviews
3.6 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,035 reviews
10.3 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Broadway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Broadway Hotel

Property: The Broadway Hotel
Address: The Green, Broadway WR12 7AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Broadway
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Broadway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Broadway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Broadway, overlooking the quaint village green; The Broadway Hotel has 19 individually styled bedrooms, a lively bar, cosy lounge and award-winning Brasserie. The hotel is dog-friendly and ideally located for exploring not only Broadway, but surrounding Cotswold villages and attractions including Broadway Tower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your The Broadway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing