We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Even Better Than Expected”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Abbots Grange

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Abbots Grange
Ranked #7 of 31 Broadway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New Canaan, CT
Level Contributor
79 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Even Better Than Expected”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

When you see so many great reviews, you have to wonder if a place can live up to your expectations. Abbots Grange most definitely exceeded our expectations. We arrived by car from London. We had been to Broadway years ago, but only briefly, so we knew that was the best location and one of the better Cotswolds towns. The Grange is down a lane just off Church Lane which is just steps off the green. The Inn itself could not be more beautiful and ancient and historic. All things we enjoy. Our room was the Millett room which has windows on three sides over looking the lawns. The linens and amenities were all 5 star. There was a coffee and tea tray in the room which we loved having. There are plenty of pubs and restaurants within walking distance. We went to The Swan every evening. The Cotswold way goes right through Broadway and we walked quite a bit. The great hall is wonderful to sit and have a drink with the other guests. The staff was great: coffee and tea trays in front of the fire on arrival and one afternoon after eating our take out sandwiches in the garden. There is no question that we will be back.

Room Tip: There are 4 rooms. 3 are en suite. The 4th has it's bathroom across the hall but when you see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jtperreca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    14
    4
    1
    4
See reviews for
20
213
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Thaxted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

On arrival we were indeed "wowed" by the first view we had of Abbots Grange. On holiday with our American friends we felt thrilled that we had chosen just the right place for us all to stay and we weren't disappointed! A stones throw from the lovely village of Broadway but tucked away in a quiet corner it is just in the most perfect setting. The welcome we had from Stacey was very warm and we were shown around the ground floor before being taken up to our wonderful bedrooms. The bedrooms were clean, comfortable and very well equipped. The en-suite bathroom was clean and had all the necessary shampoos, conditioners, body lotions and soaps needed. The towels were very good quality. This really is a five star experience and as it was quite a chilly evening we were treated to a log fire in the Great Hall with lit candles along with the complimentary whisky, sherry or port. The atmosphere was amazing in such an old house. Breakfast saw us in a lovely panelled dining room sitting around a table with some Australian guests. It was nice to have a melange of nationalities around the one table! Breakfast was fantastic, one of the best we had on our travels around the Cotswolds. It really was very hard to leave Abbots Grange for our next destination but it wont be our last visit. We are very much looking forward to returning in the near future. We would like to thank the owners of Abbots Grange for allowing us to experience a unique bed and breakfast stay in their wonderful home.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJSharp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

I stayed here at the weekend with some girlfriends as we were off to a wedding. We were greeted with delicious cake and tea served in their magnificent sitting room. The owners are absolutely lovely and made us feel very welcome. The house itself is amazing and in immaculate condition. It’s very romantic, the grounds are beautifully kept and its perfectly located in Broadway. The rooms are stunning and I had the most amazing nights sleep as the bed was sooooooo comfy. We had the smallest room but it was perfect. I will definitely be coming again and have already recommended this to lots of my friends for a romantic get-away. Thank you very much for a really lovely stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

I visited here with my girlfried who is from the US. I wanted to give the old england feel and this place did just the job. Nice setting, lovely building and a great hotel. You get the feeling you are a guest in someones house, so its definately more of a B&B although you don't feel you are imposing at all. The service was excellent, breakfast lovely and we had a great nights sleep in a very comfortable four poster bed. You eat breakfast at a big table with all the other guests, which some might not like but we enjoyed the conversation.

My only criticism as a regular hotel guest of this 5 star bed and breakfast would be the lack of soap in the bathroom and lack of conditioner suppied. The little things make the difference and this is the first hotel I have stayed in for years that did not supply these. Perhaps they were forgotten when the room was made up and I admit we didn't bother to ask for some, but its all about the attention to detail.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 8338y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milton keynes
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

best b+b frendly homely every thing needed for a relaxing weekend room very comfortable wide choice of breakfasts great hall has to be seen photos as pleasant as they are do not give you the feel and atmosphere must go back

Room Tip: only 4rooms thats what makes it so pleasant you are treated on one to one basis
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robert c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed here for a couple of nights. The house, the surroundings, the service, the food and the experience was amazing. It was peaceful, with wonderful gardens and the village of Broadway is absolutely charming. Staying here again will be a dream come true!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greatdane108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitchurch, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed at Abbotts Grange approx five months ago. Delightful house especially the sitting room, very disappointing when there was no fire lit all evening. Went out for dinner , returned at eight thinking we would have tea in our room. No tea so went downstairs looking for somebody with no success. Left it an hour tried again so used my iniative and rang the doorbell for a good while with no result. I then decided to telephone, an answer phone so basically nobody was available all evening which for the price we thought was unacceptable. Even if it had cost sixty pounds a night the service should still be there. I spoke to a young lady in the morning and told her about the situation last evening, she just asked if i wanted some tea now! on my way to breakfast. Breakfast great however felt like i was at my parents, sitting next to and opposite people at breakfast i don t even know is not a good start to the day really. Apart from the lack of service and breakfast arrangement beautiful house, comfortable room and good breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank samantha c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadway
1.2 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Lygon Arms
The Lygon Arms
#5 of 6 in Broadway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,169 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Broadway Hotel
The Broadway Hotel
#4 of 6 in Broadway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Fish Hotel
The Fish Hotel
#3 of 6 in Broadway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
1.6 mi away
Dormy House Hotel
Dormy House Hotel
#2 of 6 in Broadway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,295 reviews
3.7 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbots Grange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbots Grange

Property: Abbots Grange
Address: Church Street, Broadway WR12 7AE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Broadway
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Broadway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Abbots Grange 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the lea of Broadway hill and standing in a little over eight acres of parkland grounds and gardens you will find the romantic Cotswold hideaway, Abbots Grange. Secluded, yet only 2 minutes walk from Broadway's 'picture perfect' village high street with its delightful array of independent boutique shops, restaurants and inns. This magical, award winning monastic manor has all the comforts you would expect from an AA five gold star 'highly commended' guest house. Bedrooms are equipped to a high standard with four poster beds, flat screen TVs and seating areas. Our premium accomodation, the magnificent Elizabethan Suite and Abbots Chambers can be booked directly through the Abbots Grange web site. Beds in all rooms and suites are dressed with the finest Egyptian cotton sheets to ensure a blissful nights sleep. Thick, fluffy white towels, bath robes and complimentary toiletries complete the en-suite bathrooms. The oldest dwelling in Broadway, Abbots Grange was built in about 1320 as the summer manor for the Abbot of Pershore. There are over 700 years of history to absorb here, perhaps while you unwind in front of the roaring log fire over afternoon tea... or by candlelight after dinner? Breakfast at Abbots Grange is a celebration of all things local. Served in the panelled dining room at the round table, you will find a mouth watering selection of fresh berries and seasonal fruits. Local sausages and smoked bacon together with Cotswold free range eggs. We offer a delicious vegetarian full English breakfast alternative, artisan baked breads and pastries from our own bakery - Huffkins - together with freshly brewed 100% Arabica coffees and loose leaf teas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Abbots Grange reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbots Grange Hotel Broadway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing