We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly and relaxed.”
Review of Cowley House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cowley House
Ranked #10 of 30 Broadway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Joan and peter the owners were very casual, friendly and relaxed. Room with ensuite very good. Clean with all necessary toiletries etc. Bed very comfortable. Top location near 2 hotels for dinner and 2 minute walk to main street of one of the best towns in the Cotswalds. Parking at rear good. Breakfast top. With the lady serving having a great sense of humour. Rates reasonable. Full for 2 nights we were there. Obviously very popular. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: All rooms good, Garden room at rear very quiet.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Utsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (278)
There are newer reviews for Cowley House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 278 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2013

My family stayed for 3 nights in two connecting rooms. It was perfect for us! The bed was comfortable, room plenty big enough, quiet, modern bathroom, and fresh tasty breakfast! We enjoyed visiting with the owners and their employees. After we left and came home, we voted this place our favorite B&B on our whole trip!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Our group of 6 women stayed here on a walking trip in the Cotswolds, and Joan and her husband were just terrific. She had homemade biscuits and sherry for us when we arrived after a 12 mile walk and gave us a wonderful recommendation for dinner. She quickly rearranged some of the rooms about which there had been a miscommunication, and the place was quiet, clean, and comfortable - highly recommended!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the back of the house are pretty and quiet, with a great view of the garden.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shannon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan R, Owner at Cowley House, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. We are pleased that you enjoyed your walking holiday. We do try to make guests as comfortable as possible and its always good to get feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Such a beautiful old house and comfortable, clean room. We stayed in Grappenhall with a lovely view towards the front of the house. Although the bathroom was a bit small, everything was clean and we needed nothing more. Diane treated us to a delicious breakfast and some entertaining conversation.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan R, Owner at Cowley House, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed for 3 nights in early May, Joan the owner showed us the lounge and told us to help ourselves to sherry if required and gave us tea and cake on arrival. We had booked the Stretton bedroom, with views over countryside and lovely new bathroom. The only problem being the noise from the plumbing, everytime anyone in a bedroom ran the taps, a newly fitted pump vibrated and made a noise in our room. We transferred to the Selbourne bedroom after being offered this for 2 nights, which was very nice and comfy and then had to move back to Stretton for our 3rd night. Peter was very accomodating and apologetic about the noise, but if the pump had been installed 6 weeks earlier, surely other guests must have complained about the noise and remedial action taken sooner.
We enjoyed our breakfasts and the lady who served them had a good sense of humour and was helpful to us in suggesting places to visit.
It would be helpful to update the folders in the bedrooms which were out of date. We would have loved to have sat outside in the front garden on returning after a day touring the area, a bench or chairs would be a good idea for visitors to use.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear have views to the countryside, beware of the low beams!
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cathryn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorcestershirePenny, Owner at Cowley House, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

In the past winter months we undertook improvements with a new central heating boiler, tanks and pumps in our 400 year old granary section of Cowley House. All has been well until recently when the pump noise began to resonate though a beam impacting on this bedroom. We were able to offer an alternative bedroom and gave a 33% discount on this guests stay. The pump installer is relocating the equipment in a more suitable location. All of the information booklets were updated last winter and some have already been worn as guests take the roads maps out for touring. A new booklet is now available.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We were in Broadway the second week of April and our 4 night stay at Cowley House was delightful. Our party was 2 couples and 1 single, 3 of us there for business and the other 2 for the fun of it. Our rooms were very comfortable and clean. We stayed in Daresbury, Selborne and Grappenhall. The view from Daresbury was beautiful. Breakfast was absolutely wonderful, they even provided gluten-free bread for me. The gal serving breakfast, Di, was a lot of fun. We all enjoyed the back and forth with her. When my husband and I return to the area, we will definitely stay at Cowley House again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WiscSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WorcestershirePenny, Owner at Cowley House, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments, glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return.

Joan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The welcome was hurried and we felt as if we were interupting something. Others report that they were shown to the lounge and made to feel most welcome, but looking through the reviews I note that this was normaly by Peter.

Shown to our room which was large and clean, although the decor was dated, despite appearing new, and not to our taste - I agree that this is a personal thing.

There was one small bottle of water and two glasses - surley there should be a bottle per person as is in every other B&B or hotel that I have stayed in. The hospitality tray was adaquate. The quality of the bed linen was excellent - so nice to get into a comfortable bed with great linen.

The Information folder was a plastic ring binder with many pages which had come adrift and were tatty and soiled. The prices shown in the folder were those of 2011 and the fire information had obviously fallen of the wall (Stickey tape on the back) and was stuffed in the folder amongst the papers.

In the folder it mentions free wifi but we had to return to reception to get the access code - Could this not have been included in the folder - I fail to see why not.

Breakfast was served fro 08.00 - 09.00 every day, so no chance af an extra 30 minutes in bed on a Sunday morning.

The breakfast room was tightly packed and some were forced to share a table with other guests as although there was a table it was not cleared.

For a table of 2 we ordered mixed toast on both days and when it arrived there was one slice of each cut into 2 - so we ordered more. Ok you could argue that at least it was fresh and hot.

We both had coffee and were provided with a jug that contatined approx 4 cups., we asked for a little more and the flask was taken back to the kitchen and was toped up with water only - no fresh coffee - I know as it tasted watery and the "plunger" was down indication that fresh coffee had not been used and only water added.

There was a good selection of jams and marmalade and honey on the buffet but if you wanted this then you had to take the jar to the table or your plate to the buffet and take some. Other B&B`s provide small saucers for this.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joan R, Owner at Cowley House, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

We would thank this guest for so many comments! Unfortunately we are limited in our reply so do please accept the brevity of our text.
We only offer tea to our guests who arrive around tea time. There is sherry in the guest’s lounge to which they are welcome to help themselves to a glass.
All of our bedrooms have been completely refurbished in the last 4 years; we do not like the 1960's retro look that modern hotels have moved into. We consider out style to be contemporary and tasteful, most of our fixtures and fittings have been purchased recently from John Lewis.
The information folder was new as of March 2013; we have now replaced the missing pages, many guests take the folders with them on their journey around the Cotswolds.
The wifi is free if guests use the access code which is printed in the guest folder.
We have trialled different breakfast meal times, and found the 08:00 -09:00pm the most workable solution. We do not serve breakfast in the room except for mobility impaired guests.
We use to serve two rounds of toast per person, then found that as much as 50% was being wasted, so we adopted the practice of one round to start with then enquiring if guests would any like additional rounds of toast. In this way guests always have warm toast..
Guests are always asked if they would like another pot of coffee or tea at breakfast. The second pot is always made with fresh ingredients. We disagree that ‘the pot was topped up’
Our breakfast jams are made from locally grown fruit and they do not supply the miniature jam pots, which we think is wasteful and not consistent with our wish to be eco-friendly. We offer a wide selection of locally made organic jams and marmalades

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadway
0.1 mi away
The Broadway Hotel
The Broadway Hotel
#5 of 6 in Broadway
863 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Lygon Arms
1.3 mi away
The Fish Hotel
The Fish Hotel
#4 of 6 in Broadway
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Noel Arms Hotel
Noel Arms Hotel
#3 of 3 in Chipping Campden
1,043 reviews
0.1 mi away
Abbots Grange
Abbots Grange
#3 of 30 in Broadway
320 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Lodge at Broadway
The Lodge at Broadway
#1 of 8 in Broadway
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cowley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cowley House

Address: Cowley House Church Street, Broadway WR12 7AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Broadway
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Broadway
Price Range: $130 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cowley House is a beautiful mid 18th century Cotswold stone house with original features which has been refurbished to provide guests with every comfort. Its quiet location in the heart of a pretty cotswold village makes Cowley House an ideal location for your stya in broadway and the perfect base from which to tour the Cotswolds. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cowley House Hotel Broadway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing